Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars15
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2013
I am a big fan of all the military fiction books--Tom Clancy, W.E.B. Griffin--and Don Menya's Down Deep and Out of Time certainly ranks up there with them. Especially as the author begins the story with a gripping situation, I was hooked from the start. I simply couldn't put it down, and even sacrificed sleep to read! I'm an avid reader, and every once in a while, one of those "unforgettable" books will come along. This is that book. Truly a must-read!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Why do good books have too end? Top marks go for this one and please please pick it up if your wanting a strong gripping all action full of suspense good read. It's all US Navy action beneath the waves with a good political intrigue storyline.

I really enjoyed this book and hope the author can bring more online as well. You won't be disappointed with this novel and what a great size of book for the price. 5 stars is not enough and for me I couldn't wait to get home to read it at night with a late night finish to reach the end - cracking stuff!

The story was fluid with a continual pumping up of the tension as the pages turned. The climatic scenes were well crafted and the author's technical knowledge was quite evident in his layout. Definitely a 'Crimson Tide' type blockbuster. Hope the author releases soon again and tops this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
the book could probably have been a lot shorter without repetitive statements - one person would explain something and then another would "explain" what the first has said and a third would say what 1 and 2 had said and agree with it.....the story line is a good premise and it is believable in that american spy subs could well undertake the task as outlined but the reckless endangering of sub and crew in this manner with a sub captain who has "lost" it would probably be stopped by an XO on the grounds of captain insanity.. good storyline but as i say the repetition was destracting...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
The plot is generally ok in terms of the action bits. Regrettably, most of the dialogue is utter drivel and the main protagonists are unbelievable cardboard cutouts with major attitude problems. As someone familiar with military matters and personnel, neither of the submarine captains would have made it past the gangplank of a nuclear submarine. Basically equivalent to releasing a couple of aggressive testosterone loaded schoolboys who hate each other loose on nuclear submarines. I don't think so somehow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Storyline is okay and quite gripping, but the book is pretty poorly written, especially the dialogue which seems very stilted at times.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
This book is well written and researched, although in many aspects is too unbelievable. The political manoeuvering, though well thought out takes up too much of the book and, in my opinion, less would not have detracted from the yarn. Unbelievable though is the direct approach to the CNO by one of the captains not happy with his appointment (could this really hgappen?).
I have not yet reached the end so maybe this review is a bit premature. Good yarn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
This is an absolutely superb book. The story is very cleverly put together, and the detail is very good. The outcome was never certain up to the very last few pages. The author has done a great job here and I am surprised we have not heard more from him Meantime this story is highly recommended. I could hardly put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Who writes such stilted bollocks like this? Dialogue is like Elizabethan actors making a formal address. I had to give it one star to be able to submit. I give it no stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
First time I have read a book by this Author, loved every minuet of it, the story line was very well written, the characters kept you guessing, very hard book to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
I thought this book would have been a good sea story but was disappointed by so much in depth writing about the various american security services, hence the one star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.54
£1.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.