Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and humbling experience
This is far from well written with much repetition throughout, but the author makes it clear early on that he is no great wordsmith. The style of writing is largely irrelevant though; it is the story that matters and i can't remember being more absorbed in a book for a long time.

It is shocking, horrific and extremely difficult to read in certain parts...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Robert P. Harrison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read
A good record of the shocking way Jews were treated in the 2nd World War. Sometimes so very sad and often brutally honest. However I did think that the authors bitterness occasionally led him to wear blinkers and whilst the World's powers didn't do anywhere nearly enough to assist, the author never recognises the good that WAS done by many Gentiles to try to help.
Published 6 months ago by A blessed companion is a book


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and humbling experience, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
This is far from well written with much repetition throughout, but the author makes it clear early on that he is no great wordsmith. The style of writing is largely irrelevant though; it is the story that matters and i can't remember being more absorbed in a book for a long time.

It is shocking, horrific and extremely difficult to read in certain parts. Nonetheless it is essential to stick with the book, get through these issues and see the bravery, strength of human spirit and the stubborn will to survive which shines through.

The author is a truly remarkable man and his story should have been told. That it has been is testament to his courage and should be a lesson to us all. No living creature should be forced to endure what this poor soul had to contend with yet he did so and survived with dignity and honour.

It is a quite humbling experience reading "Remember" and i am so very glad that i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMEMBER (TRANSLATED) WAR STORY, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely great story. Could not put it down. Would thoroughly recommend this book if Holocaust is your type of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember!! Never forget!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
What an insight to a terrible time in the history of The Jewish People. No one should ever forget - this book should be compulsory reading material for all Jewish people. I have no idea how anyone every survived the atrocities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING STORY, AND TRUE, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing survival story from the second world war. How the author managed to survive through so many trials is a testament to his courage and his will to live even through the most appalling circumstances. How human beings could behave in this bestial manner towards their fellow men is almost unbelievable, except we know that they did!
This memoir should be required reading for all secondary school pupils. We should never let this happen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not everyone went to Birkenau., 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
A harrowing story of survival. As the author says "Death was sometimes wished for".. Read this book and tremble. A different view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 7 May 2014
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
This book is titled `Remember`, and this truly underlines the importance of this work.
I have read many books about the holocaust. Each one offers me a vital piece of information about the tortured lives of millions of Jews who were slaughtered by Nazis, and other East European soldiers and civilians.
If more people read just a little of the vast array of holocaust literature, perhaps a true understanding of the need for Israel could be appreciated.
In history there has been no greater persecution of a race of people than against Jews.
So, read this book - and remember. Always!
Dr Judith Davison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars May we never forget., 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
There were times I thought I would not be able to finish this book as I was crying so much. The writer feels he was in some way a coward for not fighting back. In reality he was a brave man fighting against the odds to stay alive and to give a voice to those who perished under the monsters who held him captive. Thank you for sharing your story I hope the world never forgets the millions who suffered and died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and educational, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
Good to read a first person account. A little disjointed at times but remember that this was written to record events...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remember by Marcel scharfstein, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
An amazing story graphic but impossible to put down ....I agree that the truth must never be forgotten peoples stories must be written n read n never be allowed to be ignored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember! (Translated) (Kindle Edition)
I can't say i enjoyed this book as it was so harrowing that at times i felt uncomfortable in my own skin. However, i felt compelled to read on to discover the secret of survival in such dire circumstances. As a first hand account of survival of the WW2 holocaust, it is an interesting perspective of how a person/people can be broken down bit by bit until they have no choice but tob accept their fate in the hands of their captors. Truly awful and a crime to forget lest it happen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remember! (Translated)
Remember! (Translated) by Marcel Scharfstein
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews