Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Stellar Mystery Thriller", 14 April 2013
By 
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second in a series about James Blake. And it kept me reading from cover to cover, very quickly. I like the short chapters that keep moving rapidly from scene to scene. There are many characters in this novel, and each have unique lives, but also something in common. To begin with, James Blake and his wife Julie, who is about seven months pregnant, receive a call that sets them off from Weymouth, England, to London under assumed names of Charles and Mary Harrington.

Another prime character is German born Wolfgang Heller who is a brutal hired killer. He's been hired by a man in prison serving a life sentence, the vengeful, Matteo Lando. How many people have been targeted for death?

Jack Franks, an FBI agent, is the man to warn James Blake that the FBI knows he's been located and his life is at risk. He offers to help James, as he indicates that there are U.S. national security issues involved. The FBI will help him, if he helps them. Yet James does not know how he can help them.

Miles Blake, James' brother, an investigative reporter for a British newspaper, becomes aware of James' dilemma, and wants to help. However, he's been haunted by nightmares for three years because of what torture Julie had gone through by placing her in danger. Miles is not sure if he can right that wrong, but it is his duty as a brother. Would Julie ever trust him again?

There are a few more characters that enrich this fast-paced novel. There are numerous twists and turns in this compelling novel. It is gripping, intense, and captivates the reader to the end. Author Seb Kirby is an outstanding author who knows how to write what I think of as a classic action-packed thriller. I'm looking forward to the next book in the James Blake series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tense and exciting thriller, 16 April 2013
By 
Ignite (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
As the title suggests, this continues the story of James and Julia Blake, first encountered in Take No More. Once again, it concerns dark deeds in the world of art and people supported by drug money. Julia is seven months pregnant when their safe hideaway under the Witness Protection programme is compromised. The author catches the fears a woman has for her unborn child - if Julia is killed, two lives are lost. The Blakes flee and go into hiding and James' brother Miles, who Julia blames for her situation in Italy, comes in to help. She doesn't know if she can trust him. The Lando family are out to eliminate anyone who knows of their latest money making scam and someone's let the cat out of the bag, incriminating several big names.

This is a tense and exciting thriller with settings in London and across the Atlantic. James and Julia are out of contact and each doesn't know if the other is safe or even alive. We meet ruthless hit-men, members of different law enforcement agencies; often we can't tell the good from the bad. There's a heart-stopping chase and a massive explosion and a body in a London hotel. If you enjoyed Take No More you really have to read this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read..., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book I have read by this author and once again I was not disappointed. James Blake has to go into hiding with his very pregnant wife Julia to protect their own lives from a serious threat. Matteo Lando wants revenge, he is serving a hefty prison sentence for which he wants pay back. He hires a brutal killer to avenge him. This is a story with many twists and turns and one that flows like water until the very end. Seb Kirby weaves an intriguing story that will keep you turning the page after page. I will most definitely be reading more by this author. A highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent follow-up to Take No More, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
Having thoroughly enjoyed Seb's first James Blake book I was looking forward to reading this, I wasn't disappointed. Like "Take No More" it was a page-turner and it kept my enthralled. Now looking forward to the third in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, fast moving thrills, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
The story of James and Julia Blake is new to me and I was totally hooked. This book is a thrilling story of criminals seeking retribution. A complex tale of double agents and drug smugglers with a bit of art fraud thrown in for good measure. Pleased to say the baddies did not come off well but there were some loose ends which hopefully will lead to the third book in the series. Now to read book #1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Regret No More, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the 2nd book about James Blake and his family (Take No More being the 1st book). The book is set in London and Austin USA and is a fast paced page turner of a book - I was hooked and couldn't put it down! James is again trying to protect his family from the Italian gangster family who want revenge against James and his wife. With a price on their head, they can trust only a handful of people including James's brother. The book finishes with an opening for a 3rd book which I'm hoping Seb is currently writing :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Page-turner!, 30 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
I'm a huge fan of Seb Kirby's thrillers and having thoroughly enjoyed TAKE NO MORE, I was eager to read the sequel, REGRET NO MORE. Well, I wasn't disappointed. Once more Seb has delivered! One caveat however, for anyone new to Seb's books... I would strongly advise you to read TAKE NO MORE first, in order to be able to follow some of this latest book's intricate storyline.

With this book I've so enjoyed once more being transported back into James and Julia Blake's tense, dramatic and sometimes downright terrifying life. Such shocking things just seem to present themselves and happen to this couple and to those involved with them!!

James is a compelling and likable character, as is his now heavily pregnant wife Julia, who plays a much more commanding role in this book. This novel also features a number of other incredibly forceful individuals... such as James's brother, Miles, who also has a much bigger and more likeable presence this time, then there's the evil, cold-blooded killer, Wolfgang Heller and the FBI agent, Nate Craven... to name just three, who are extremely well drawn by the author. What happens to James and Julia in this novel is in many ways extremely difficult to believe and yet, the writing is so good it somehow succeeds in totally suspending disbelief, keeping you constantly on tenterhooks throughout. I loved it!

I notice the reviewer, Ignite and a couple of other readers... have gone into quite a lot of plot detail, thus I see no point in adding to this... other than to say, if you enjoyed Take No More, and its nail-biting, fascinating involvement in the multifaceted and sometimes questionably criminal side of the art world, then you certainly won't be disappointed with this book.

The enthralling, twisty, gritty plot keeps you gripped, guessing and glued to your Kindle all the way through, until the hugely dramatic, satisfying conclusion. However, it still leaves you wanting more. I therefore sincerely hope Seb is busy penning another "follow on" to this latest first-rate thriller.
Congratulations Seb, on what I'm sure will be another immensely successful novel for you.
I therefore award this highly recommended page-turner 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Blake Brothers are united once more..., 28 April 2013
By 
Frenchie - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
Rating: 4.5 stars.

REGRET NO MORE (James Blake #2) is the second of the James Blake series. It follows 3 years after James Blake rescued his wife Julia from the clutches of Alfieri And Alessa Lando, ruthless villains who dealt in Arts (whether legit or stolen) and trafficked drugs and every other thing they could trade. Now, Alfieri is dead, Matteo his son is in prison and Alessa Lando has taken up with a Russian Oligarch, for protection and her love of power. The Blakes have new identities and start slowly to rebuild their lives. Julia is seven months pregnant and still not fully recovered from the degradation Alfieri subjected her to, and the drugs he injected her with.
But nothing last forever, and their safety is compromised. A contract of two millions (one million each) is on their heads. James disappears and Julia has to rely on Miles, her brother in law, the unintentional source of her Italian ordeal, for safety. But she finds it hard to forgive him and he finds it hard to shake his guilt.
Corrupt FBI agents, rogue policeman, contract killers, conspiracy, the theft of La Joconde from the Louvre thirty years ago, a letter naming the perpetrators take the Blake brothers in a race against time to save Julia and her unborn child.

Well done Mr Kirby, but please, do not make us wait too long for the third instalment. I do not want to spoil it for those who will read the book but I want to know how a certain person has made it home. Or if....

My recommendation to would be readers is that it is better to read first Take No More - Obviously, the author gives a bit of background story but I think it is not enough. I read Take No More more than a year ago and I know I should have made a quick re-read to fully enjoy Regret No More. My bad, but once I started to read Regret no More, I could not put it down even for a speed read of Take No More. But there were things I had forgotten.

In a nutshell: A wonderful read for those who love intrigue. At a great price too. Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Regret no More #2 in series, 27 April 2013
By 
Mrs. F. H. Mortimer "Faith Mortimer" (Cyprus and the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: REGRET NO MORE: (US Edition) (James Blake #2) (Kindle Edition)
I've been looking forward to Seb Kirby's #2 in the James Blake series. And I was not disappointed.Mr Kirby seems to like short snappy chapters which keeps the story moving and the reader enthralled. In this novel there are quite a few characters and it took me a couple of chapters to sort everyone out - but it did not put me off. A few are of course, James Blake and his now pregnant and vulnerable wife Julie. We also see James's brother Miles, although this time he has a much stronger role to play than in book 1.
Other prime characters are the ruthless German, Wolfgang Heller who is hired for his killing prowess by the Lando family - Blakes' bete noir and FBI agent Jeff Franks.

There are many different scenes being played in this novel, (all at once), and it definitely kept me on my toes, both keeping up and guessing what was coming next. With the twists and turns, and the pace of this novel, I found it to be a tense and exciting thriller set in the sometime dark and seemingly seedy art world.
Throw in a body or two, a frightening car chase and abduction and Seb Kirby has given us a classic thriller.
Highly recommended.

FM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews