Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Leave your ego, play the music, love the people", 17 Jun 2013
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
This new Walter Trout album is a tribute to his dear friend Luther Allison, a bluesman and supremely talented guitarist, who died in 1997 at the age of 57 and all of the tracks are Luther's songs, with the exception of the final track, "When Luther Played The Blues", which Walter wrote about him. Luther Allison, for anyone who, like myself, wasn't overly familiar with his music prior to this album, was part of the Chicago blues scene, was discovered by Howlin' Wolf in 1957 and subsequently mentored by Freddie King, building up a massive loyal fan-base over the years. His live shows were legendary and according to James Solberg, who played with him off and on for 25 years and co-wrote much of his music, they could go on for up to four hours or sometimes even more. There's a lovely quote by Allison on the album that Walter has specifically highlighted on the track he composed - "Leave your ego, play the music, love the people" - which is a fine and admirable motto for any musician.

I'm approaching this album as a Walter Trout fan who knows little about Luther's music, so nearly all of these tracks are new to me and therefore cannot compare them against the originals, but one of the great things about this album and certainly all of the accolades printed on the insert from his friends and family, is that it makes me want to seek out the source material and discover more of Allison's music. I imagine that, given the mutual respect between the two men, these covers are faithful to Luther's compositions and his style of playing. Certainly, the music offered here is nothing less than excellent, recorded with Walter's superb band with no rehearsals as such, to create a spontaneous and urgent atmosphere.

Powerful opener "I'm Back" rolls into town like a speeding freight train, with Walter cutting loose with a couple of sizzling solos, the blistering "Cherry Red Wine" is a particularly fine passionate blues track, so I can certainly see why it was one of Luther's most popular compositions. "Move From The Hood" is a good, upbeat track, "Bad Love" is a solid gold album highlight, with some absolutely scintillating lead guitar and beautifully tortured vocals, "Big City" is a big, laid-back number, leaving plenty of space for those trademark Trout licks and lightning quick guitar fireworks and "Chicago" is a funky track with a groovy bass and drum performance holding it all together fantastically.

The gorgeous soul ballad, "Just As I Am" is a nice change of pace and is a truly exquisitely performed track, with Walter coaxing every bit of genuine emotion out of the composition. "Low Down and Dirty", with its strong rock beat, appealing riff and walking bass-line is a real treat, especially as Luther's son, Bernard, joins him on slide guitar and vocals. The stripped-down, emotive blues of "Pain In The Streets" puts the guitar firmly in the fore and the riffs deliver as much meaning as the lyrics, whereas the mean and moody "All The Kings Horses" provides a fuller, dirtier band sound, grinding out the full hurt and anger of the words. "Freedom" is another masterclass in blues, with Trout's solo building up to a thrilling climax, before taking it back down again with the last verse and chorus. Walter's only composition on this album, "When Luther Played The Blues" is a superb accolade to this friend and an outstanding way to conclude a top-notch collection of songs and performances.

Throughout, Walter Trout is in absolutely magnificent form. Playing with a master's knowledge of the genre, forever mixing the solos up, switching from tearing every last piece of emotion out of sustained single notes to smoking hot explorations of the fret board and yet never becoming predictable or clichéd. If I am representative of the person that he was reaching out to, hoping to introduce Luther's music to, then he has succeeded, because this is simply incredible music, performed by one of the greatest blues bands on the planet, certainly one of the greatest, most accomplished and most exciting guitar players I have ever seen in my life. I strongly recommend "Luther's Blues" to all lovers of blues/blues rock. You don't have to know anything about Luther Allison to appreciate this album, but you will certainly appreciate him after you listen to it. I guess that was the whole point of this project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter rules, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best blues you can get and the guitar solos make me feel im in heaven. To all you down and out people, ORDER NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like it!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
WT has produced a few rather dull albums in recent years. Not a patch on his live shows- but this is back to high energy. Some great songs and scorching guitar. Only downside is the production - it sounds rather ? compressed on my player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLUES - HOW IT SHOULD BE PLAYED, 2 July 2013
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
This latest release from Walter is his best in a long time. The last album Blues for the Modern Daze was good but this is superb.Right from the opener I'm Back, Walter launches into a blistering blues number and it doesn't let up throughout the album. The whole album is a total blues experience in homage to his close friend Luther Allison with stand out tracks including Chicago,Pain In The Streets & All The Kings Horses and the last two majestic tracks Freedom & When Luther Plays The Blues. Is Walter up there rivalling Bonamassa for best recent blues album ?? Absolutely!!!
If you want a starting point to Walter Trout and band this is a fabulous introduction but be aware you may well then want to check out his back catalogue which has always been consistently good. The guy has been a fantastic advert for blues music for years.
Keep it going Walter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TWO MASTERS OF THE BLUES...WHAT A SET !, 18 Jun 2013
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
Luther Allison was one of the absolute blues greats, he left a legacy of hot,smokin' blues when he died a few years back, and is still so missed, a great guitarist and by all accounts a very friendly man who valued his fans highly. Then today we have a current blues master in Walter Trout, a man who's own guitar playing sends slivers up your spine,a fantastic live performer and when he plays well the place pulsates with excitement. So here we have one modern master playing tribute to another and this simply could prove the blues album of the year comes awards time. Walter along with his regular touring band hit the ground running with this set of blistering blues, some of Luther's very best songs, but WT makes then his own, the definite Trout sound is there throughout. Also add a very short segment of LA himself speaking before a closing WT self written song to close the album. If you've not as yet got anything by Walter this and last years simply brilliant 'Blues For The Modern Daze' is some place to start. You'll also want to get Luther's own stuff as well, because as they say this man truly was the real deal in the blues.The sleeve notes show WT's appreciation of Luther, his meeting with him. Twelve great songs including 'I'm Back', 'Cherry Red Wine','Move From The Hood','Bad Love' and one of my very favourites, 'Low Down And Dirty'. Every single track here is of the highest quality, a labour of love and a tribute sure, but also a fantastic CD in it's own right. Utterly Unmissable guitar nuts will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
Well done Walter! Another cracking release........up to your usual standard. I'm not going to go into detail about every track here, you'll need to find that out for yourselves. Suffice to say this CD is superb and will be enjoyed by everyone who appreciates Walter Trout's own unique style and interpretation of the blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouts the Man, 3 Sep 2013
By 
S. Blandford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
Having seen Walter and his fine band live I now have a selection of his cd's and this latest offering doesn't disappoint...A great tight band as always along with Walters own excellent vocals and blistering guitar...I recommend this if you like rocking guitar driven blues....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars electric blues at its best, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
If you like electric blues,then you must buy this .Utterly brilliant.Walters best album for me, in a long time.Dont hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This arrived promptly and in good condition. We have been very pleased with it and are always playing it and would recommend it to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blistering best!, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison (Audio CD)
After seeing Walter earlier this year and him not looking too well, how refreshing it is to hear that he hasn't lost any of his ability. This is simply a blistering blues album from start to finish. If you are a lover of great guitar players then it doesn't get any better than this. Way to go Walter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0ddaf90)

This product

Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison
Luther's Blues - A Tribute To Luther Allison by Walter Trout (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews