Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rocking and 'Proggy'
I am by no means a Deep Purple fan, just an occasional listener, but I have to admit I found this album fantastic. The album starts off with a slow ballad, that quickly turns into a classic sounded Purple rocker, with rousing keyboards, riffing, and a fantastic rythmn section - and powerful vocals from Ian Gillan. There are plenty of 'symphonic' moments as well, which is...
Published 19 months ago by The Soft Machine Operator

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Now what
The seller was great. The product was clean. The music is just not there. I have every album the band has ever made. This the very first time to give a DEEP PURPLE legendary band that poor rate. It is just not there. I found the vocals to be too much. Ian Gillan still has it but not here. I think that this is the album that could stay out of the game. I believe that for...
Published 9 months ago by Athanasios Simotas


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rocking and 'Proggy', 2 May 2013
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
I am by no means a Deep Purple fan, just an occasional listener, but I have to admit I found this album fantastic. The album starts off with a slow ballad, that quickly turns into a classic sounded Purple rocker, with rousing keyboards, riffing, and a fantastic rythmn section - and powerful vocals from Ian Gillan. There are plenty of 'symphonic' moments as well, which is reminsicent of the Jon Lord sound on early albums (The album is dedicated to Mr Lord). By track 4, Hell to Pay, there's more than a hint of 'prog rock' with some rollicking instrumentals - and by Uncommon Man we have lengthy introduction that would have sounded at home on an ELP album.

Just when you think the albums going to descent into riff-laden seventies rock, the band surprised me by adding symphonic sounds, instrumentals and changes of pace. And there's a song about Vincent Price, as well. What more do you want?

Highly recommended to 'casual' fans, and also fans of seventies rock and prog bands. There's so much to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will I never learn, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
I should have learned by now that sometimes it takes time for music to grow on me. When I first played this album I thought the first track 'A Simple Song' was great, the second not so bad and from then on medicority all the way. A few more plays and it was growing on me, a few more and I realised what a gem this album is. From the quiet opening of the first track that takes you into real rocker, through to the sheer beauty of 'All the time in the World' (a track which crept up on me and now I can't get out of my head.) What is wonderful about this album is its diversity and experimentation. Does this sound like Purple Mk2? No - but what it does have in common with early Purple is the willingness to try something different. This is a mixture of heavy rock and prog rock with a bit of pomp and little mystery ingredient mixed in. It reminds me - at times - of all sorts of bands from Genesis to XTC to Black Sabbath - but make no mistake the sound is unique.

In an age of downloads this a brave album. For me I had to work at it and not give up. Don't let that put you off. It was worth it. This is a fantastic piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very classy, 3 May 2013
By 
David R. Walters (Huntingdon, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
5 stars must be reserved for the very best, as seen some years later, maybe. The band are NOT in 'ripping form' as one has said; it's actually relatively laid back. And why not - these guys are fairly old! Who would have thought this band - in ANY form - would be around even 20 years ago? Jethro Tull (OK..Ian Anderson), Wishbone Ash, Magnum, Uriah Heep, UFO, Nazareth, and many more...all old, all still going strong, NOT just touring old stuff as most magazines keep saying. ALL these bands keep recording, Magnum every 18 months!
So how good is it? It's very classy in sound quality, and also in arrangements. Great. It rocks a bit, but no-there are no monster songs like Gypsy Kiss, Under the Gun from Perfect Strangers. I remember Ian Hunter 15 odd years ago saying he didn't want his new albums to be too 'rocky', as he was getting old. Not even 60 then; 73 now and actually rocking pretty hard! Someone has said Uriah Heep's 'Wake the Sleeper' is better. I agree in that the style is more 'classic' rock. Well, that CD, and the follow-up 'Into the Wild' are more Purple than Purple, as Classic Rock said, so Purple had to pull their socks up. They have done, with this new CD, though it is different in style.

It's a very enjoyable album and I'm getting more out of it after every play. Time will tell. But it's certainly more than we could have expected, even 15 years ago. Gillan sounds good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now What?! Well, it's like this........, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
I first saw Deep Purple live in 1970 and have been a fan ever since. As with most bands from that era who are still recording and touring Purple have changed over the years both in line-up and style. One of the reasons that they are still around is their ability to adapt to these changes and this album proves the point for me. As with most 'prog rock' albums this one takes time to get into, but once you are there it is well worth the effort. There is a very refreshing feel to the album, the tracks are all different and there are certainly no fillers. It is well written, well performed and well produced.

Time does not affect instrumentalists in the way that it does singers and Gillan's vocal range has understandably narrowed in latter years. However the writing on this album clearly takes this into account and Gillan puts in a performance that is still right up there with the best. I delayed this review until after their concert in Manchester (last week) so I could see how he handled the new material and in my opinion he is as good on stage as he is on the album - if not better.

Not sure that there is such a thing as 'classic Deep Purple' but this album is unmistakably Deep Purple and it is very very good. Can't wait for the next album and tour now! what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple - Now What?!, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (MP3 Download)
Now What?! is the nineteenth full-length studio album by the legendary British Rock band Deep Purple, it was their third studio album with Don Airy on Keyboards and their fifth with Steve Morse on guitar. It was produced by Bob Ezrin and released in 2013.

On very first listen, a lot of the album washed over me, leaving a generally positive, but honestly not too impressed or interested impression. With repeat listens however, it revealed itself to be not only a passable, or even above average affair, but a genuinely good one, with literally no weak tracks. It's a grower for sure.

Usually, I really enjoy any Deep Purple album, and have enjoyed most Morse era albums to some extent, however sometimes they can feel like there is a bit of filler, or there's a minor lack of consistency, stopping the albums feeling as great as the old days even when over half the album has some genuinely great songs. Now What?! is the perfect Morse era album, it all fits perfectly together, there's variety yet consistency and all the songs are as good as the very best tracks on another Morse era album.

Highlights include the symphonic `Uncommon Man' dedicated to the late Jon Lord, which feels like a mixture between Close To The Edge era Yes with Works era ELP, the energetic and memorable `Apres Vous' which has a very catchy chorus, and the interesting and characterful single `Vincent Price' although to be honest its all great.

The only real negative thing I can think to say is that the track order may undersell the album's both power and variety. I listen to this record a lot but I often choose to listen to the record on random/shuffle now, and always find it a great and exciting album all the more for having done so, but that's just personal preference, most people have no problems with that running order. Seriously, it's a great album; the rhythm section are tight and steady, Airy and Morse make a real impact and Ian Gillan fits into his older vocal style more comfortably here than ever.

Overall; Now What?! is a very good album from the veteran Rock band, easily in the top fifty percent of their catalogue. It's a well produced and well written collection of interesting songs, with a great sense of subtly, musicianship and even a few surprises. Check it out if you like Deep Purple, and especially if you've liked their modern output. And if you do check it out, don't just listen to it once, give it a good few spins and really let it sink in, you'll thank yourself for it after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purple let it rip..., 30 April 2013
By 
Daniel A (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
When I heard that the band were describing this album as having 'the excellence and elegance of "Perfect Strangers" and the wild freedom of "Made in Japan"', I admit to having deep reservations. I mean that is some mighty claim to make, especially so, given that not only has it been 8 years since Deep Purple's last release, but this is a line-up sans the late Jon Lord and Ritchie Blackmore who made Purple what they are. Furthermore, though the efforts with Steve Morse have been pretty good, I can't in all honesty say that any of his 4 previous efforts were classic in that vein. Don't get me wrong, Morse has rejuvenated a band that had become music by numbers. Good, solid and creative yes, but hardly 'Fireball' or 'Machine Head'. 'Purpendicular' was the most diverse and exciting, 'Abandon' was solid hard-rock, admittedly reminiscent of 'In Rock', 'Bananas' was great fun, though 'Rapture of the Deep' was awful. Likewise, Don Airey. He is a fine musician with a musical pedigree, second to none. However, his contribution up to now has been pretty standard fare and certainly nothing to write home about.

My reservations and doubts increased when I heard the first single 'Hell to Pay', the chorus of which was a bit tame. 'All the time in the world' was certainly better. Indeed, has grown on me over time. Hence, the sense of trepidation when I listened to the album.

I needn't have worried. This album is BRILLIANT. It blows away pretty much everything they have produced since 'Machine Head'. How so? Of course, albums like 'Burn' and 'Perfect Strangers' are substantive efforts with meaty numbers that define the band, but what makes this different and certainly closer to the spirit of what made Purple the classic band we know and love, is the looseness and free-flowing nature. 'Now What?!' isn't simply a collection of well crafted songs, masterly put together, and finely produced. Instead, it manages to sound like a live album, fresh, full of pounding energy, whilst at the same time demonstrating some of the most dynamic, imaginative and deeply layered material in years. Quite simply, it blows apart comparisons with any of their recent efforts. It is also the most progressive thing they have ever done with elements that sound almost like 'Asia', 'Yes', 'ELP' and even 'The Doors'.

Bob Ezrin is the band's 6th member. He has done for Purple what George Martin did for 'The Beatles'. What is more, Airey performs like a man possessed. The spirit of Jon Lord - to whom the album is dedicated - looms heavily here, but Airey stamps his own mark distinctively and conclusively. Likewise, Morse, plays some blinding guitar that proves that he has finally cast aside Blackmore's shadow.

'A Simple Song' is one of the best openers. It draws you in with its gentle, melodic guitar intro and Gillan's subtle folk-like singing, before WHAM! Gotta be heard to be understood. This could be brilliant live with ample opportunity for extending. 'Weirdistan' defies decription, 'Out of Hand' is Purple through and through, and even 'Hell to Pay' with its extended solos is a very different beast to the single. My personal favourities are 'A Simple Song', 'Uncommon Man', 'Above and Beyond' and the shlock horror pastiche 'Vincent Price', but there are no fillers. This is a serious effort that begs only one question. What the hell took them so long?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Deep Purtple album for over two decades., 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Given that this is the best Deep Purtple album for over two decades, I thought I would celebrate by buying the vinyl version. The music is the same as the CD, but the double album is nicely packaged with lyrics on the liner bags and info you can actually ready without a microscope. Its not an audiophile pressing but has limited surface noise and is nicely EQ'd. Black Sabbaths album got all the press but this is better by miles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive Purple Fan, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
Best album in years, well worth the wait. Lots of very non Deep Purple moments but that is what you hope to get from this great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful teamwork!, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
There's no doubt that I'm a HUGE dP fan. I've always been and I've enjoyed each and every of their release, even the most awkward. So, no, I'm not the most objective person when it comes to them.

Now what?! Is a complete different beast than the previous MkVII VIII efforts. First the wait has been extremely long-and therefor the expectation was high. Second, they finally decided to go with the services of top-notch outside producer: Bob Ezrin.

Having heard the singles I was a bit disappointed, they're good but just above okay. That was until I heard the songs in the context of the album and in their full length and album mixes.
The whole album is absolutely brilliant. The songwritting is excellent, you can really tell that they scratched their heads here, and the production is stunning. Really!

Bob Ezrin managed to capture the Live feel of the band, the urgency of their Live performances and to put them into a studio environment while adding TONS of effects and orchestrations that don't take anything away from the playing but enhanced every part of it.
The album is mainly mid-tempo, but never struggles to display high and exciting moments. I haven't heard a track that seemed to be out of place or a just filling a gap.

dP has always been about groove, improvisations, variations and nuances . Now what!? Is full of them.
Both the songwritting and the production are subtle, dark, profound, very dense and yet very much alive and daring.

Steve Morse doesn't just noodle thru the album, but gives a large view of his talents. He plays it heavier on the rhythm side and more open on the solo. The man is a great guitar player.

Don Airey is clearly at home with the B3 but adds lots of other sounds and textures. Very dramatic at times. Sure Jon would be proud of his work here!

Ian Gillan, considered by many the weakest link of the band, has adapted his vocals to his range, and definitely gives the best performance on album he has in years.

Paice and Glover are their usual self but blessed with an amazing sound (which was cruelly missed on the two last releases). Although I could have done with a killer drum-fill à la "Burn" here and there...

There are hints of Fireball, Made in Japan, Perfect Strangers even Come Taste the Band and of course there's definitely the MKVII-VIII touches. At first I thought it was a bit presumptuous to present this album as "a mix of MIJ of PS", but I get it, it's true, it definitely has the Live feel, and a great sense of maturity and steadiness.
The first listening was very intense for me. I have given it several other listening by now (bought it on 26 april) and not only is this a "love at first sight", it is also a grower!

There is a lot of information in the music here, different moods & styles. There are the many facets of dP: the blues, the rock, the proggy side, some jazzy ingredients and the groovy side.

Even knowing dP left, right and centre, they still managed to surprise me. This is a band that's not afraid to bring new ingredients and mix them with what people want to hear sound-wise when listening to a Purple album.

What can I say, I am just SO pleased with this release. Thanks Bob, thank dP! Brilliant work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
Loved the album, great to see that they re-invent themselves even more. well worth a listen to, every track is different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now What ?!
Now What ?! by Deep Purple
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews