Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strings attached
The "Fugue" String Quartet have played together for a quarter of a century, so it is a shock when the founder member, cellist Peter, announces that he has early-stage Parkinson's disease so will need to retire. Reacting with a mixture of denial and doubts as to whether they can continue without him, or wish to do so, the bombshell releases negative forces in the rest of...
Published 16 months ago by Antenna

versus
11 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sporadically well played, sometimes out of tune
This quite likeable if hardly original film, about the fiddling and feuding of the fictitious Fugue Quartet, is something of a curate`s egg, never quite sure of its mood from one scene to another, with some fine playing one minute, then a piece of badly directed dissonance the next.
Philip Seymour Hoffman (second violin) is superb as usual, and is the one constant in...
Published 16 months ago by GlynLuke


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good acting, slow plot, 13 Nov 2013
By 
C. R. Osborn "ChrisOs" (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The plot is a bit slow moving, but works fairly well in the end. Christopher Walken plays his part superbly as a cellist who develops Parkinson's; Philip Seymour Hoffman is an actor who often seems to play parts (Scent of a Woman, the Amazing Mr Ripley) that I would dearly love to at least throw a custard pie at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Late Quartet, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This was OK but certainly not up to the standard of 'The Quartet' in interest. I'm glad I saw it but would not recommend it to anyone..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle-aged music, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I found this disappointing as it seemed to drag and I couldn't feel any 'empathy' for the characters and found the young women annoying in the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A late quartet ( film DVD ), 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
We found the sound very poor although the story was good. We turned it off to try later but have not gone back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No, don't take a bow, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Yes, most disappointing in my view and difficult to have much empathy with the characters - Walken does steal the show for sure but I don't think that's saying too much. After about an hour into it I began to think how pleasurable it would be if one of the only things to really worry about in life is whether or not you can bid 25 grand for a second hand fiddle. As oppose to one only being able to shop at Lidl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I was looking forward to viewing this film but found it mediocre in story content. The music was enjoyable but apart from
that, I was not impressed and I will not bother with a second viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012]
A Late Quartet [DVD] [2012] by Yaron Zilberman (DVD - 2013)
7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews