Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I am chuffed with this alarm clock radio. Small enough to sit on a bedside shelf yet give an excellent sound. Dual alarms for week and w/end are good. DAB and DAB+ give a nice sound with both mega bass and meg Xpand turned on. Lightning connector is sprung allowing the case on my iPhone 5 to be left on whilst on the dock. I do get some interference with the DAB...
Published 23 months ago by Zivko Dood

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not up to normal Sony standard
I don't think Sony put much effort into creating this product, it appears they simply took the ICF-DS15IP and put a DAB radio in whilst taking out MW support. I don't mind the loss of MW personally, but there are some other problems with inserting DAB without changing the design at all. DAB requires the display to be able to show station names and other info, but the...
Published 18 months ago by fairlyrandom


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
I am chuffed with this alarm clock radio. Small enough to sit on a bedside shelf yet give an excellent sound. Dual alarms for week and w/end are good. DAB and DAB+ give a nice sound with both mega bass and meg Xpand turned on. Lightning connector is sprung allowing the case on my iPhone 5 to be left on whilst on the dock. I do get some interference with the DAB reception when the iPhone is charging but DAB is not great in my area with the supplied aerial. This unit does everything I want it to (mostly, great sound for classical music) and very good solid build quality. Remote works well too.. Very pleased and would not hesitate recommending. There seem to be a few similar models - This one has a chrome top bezel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice radio, 22 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
Really nice radio, good quantity (2), variety (daily/week/weekend) and source (preset dab/fm /ipod /mp3) alarms. Very pleased with it, but (normal Sony problem) you have to search for the unlabelled On button (second from left on top). Good bass sound for such a small radio. Manual at
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not up to normal Sony standard, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
I don't think Sony put much effort into creating this product, it appears they simply took the ICF-DS15IP and put a DAB radio in whilst taking out MW support. I don't mind the loss of MW personally, but there are some other problems with inserting DAB without changing the design at all. DAB requires the display to be able to show station names and other info, but the screen on this device is exactly the same size as the non-DAB model, so to fit that information in, they have chosen to make the size of the time on the display much smaller. It is less than half the size of the FM only model, and if you are short-sighted you will need to have the unit as close to the bed as possible to read it, unless you sleep with glasses on! I would have thought that having a big, easy to read clock was an obvious important feature for any clock radio, but the designers of this apparently did not.

My device also had a nasty feature of making a loud pop sound when you turned it off either by pressing the button or using the sleep feature. This happened both on FM radio and iPod modes, but strangely not on DAB. Hopefully this is just a fault and others will not experience this, if using the sleep feature it was likely to wake you up!

The display lighting is also not ideal for a device that is meant to be used in a bedroom. On medium and high brightness it tends to illuminate a large area and is potentially distracting if you like to sleep in as dark a room as possible. The lowest brightness is ok, but then makes the display very difficult to read in daylight, even on a dull day. My old Sony clock radio had an orange display which seemed to manage to be bright and easy to read in all conditions without illuminating it's surroundings significantly, it is a shame a similar display was not used here.

There are some positives, the DAB reception seemed quite good and picked up stations fine despite officially being slightly outside official coverage. The iPod features work well and the app is quite helpful giving an easy way to set alarms etc. The sound quality is much better than a basic clock radio, although not up to the standards of many docks for the size and price it is acceptable. The device doesn't take up too much more space than a basic clock radio either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well designed, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
G. Parfitt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
Well done Sony, this product is very well designed and easy to use.

The docking station looks great and sounds good - it's not as good as more expensive speakers but for £80 it's very, very good. Importantly for an alarm clock it does the basics perfectly, unlike some systems I have owned which give a faint buzz in standby mode this unit is entirely silent.

Two alarms make it very practical and you can set it for every day, weekdays or weekends - you can also do this quickly too.

A couple of really good touches:

- When the alarm goes off you can press snooze and it will go off again in 10 minutes, but if you press it twice it snoozes for 20 minutes, three times and...
- The display can be adjusted easily to go from bright to black
- My iPhone 5 fits perfectly without the need for adapters, no faffing around required

Great speaker, great radio, great alarm clock, great for docking ipods and all of that is in one product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Ross Boyall "bogsy" (leeds,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
I bought the Sony XDRDS16IPN as i needed a new dock with the lightning connector for my Ipod Touch 5th Gen and was surprised to see that they aren't that many out there at the moment and this was the best i had seen at a reasonable price.
Anyway i had a feeling it would be good as i bought my gf the older model for her 4th gen ipod Touch and that was brilliant, well this is no different in fact its much much better. the sound is excellent for a small/medium sized dock and easily fills our bedroom sound quality is surprisingly good, clear and fairly bassy with the "mega bass" turned on, its pretty loud too but does go slightly tinny on max volume but what do you expect for the size (just turn it down a little and its fine)
The design is a lot nicer and thinner than the older model and has a nice silver/chrome strip at the top (there is also a row of buttons at the back, on a kind of shelf) one reason i bought this was for the DAB radio and its brilliant there are so many stations and all are crystal clear. Also the remote practically does everything the dock buttons do.
The clock backlight on the older model was way too bright and non adjustable but i'm glad to say this one is great it has 3 dimmer settings or you can just turn it off completely.
the connector sits on a spring loaded rocking mechanism that rolls forward for ease of connecting and taking out the Ipod/Iphones and to let you keep a cover on or use different size Ipods, one thing to add though is it wont work if you have a case on (ipod touch) that covers the bottom i just bought one of the rigid snap on cases that leave the bottom edge free and it works fine like this.

Anyway I'm very happy with my purchase of this sony dock. It's very good quality (what you expect from sony) at a reasonable price and looks the part at the side of my bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... radio five starrs except for a few characteristics that disappoint me: o The use of the Apple iPod ..., 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
I would give this Sony DAB clock radio five starrs except for a few characteristics that disappoint me:
o The use of the Apple iPod "Lightning" connector is mentioned extensively and entirely justifiably in the one-star reviews.
o It would be nice if Sony had chosen to include a socket for headphones - I use my radio beside my bed and sometimes want to listen quietly.
o There is a 3.5mm "Audio in" socket (on the back) but no USB socket anywhere (e.g. for a Memory stick) - disappointing.
o The controls are extensive and not exactly intuitive (e.g. the alarm and presets); the A3+ size flimsy paper "manual" is going to get lost!
o The glossy top seems to attract dust and finger marks?

The sound is good.
It is nice to be able to switch on the Radio 4 PM program at 22:00 and use the sleep timer to switch off after 60 minutes.

Personally I don't use Apple products so all in all I am happy with this DAB radio, I just hope the display doesn't pack up as seems to happen all too often on radios - likewise the controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lightening adapted hi fi, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
superb hifi with iphone 5 lightening connector - good quality reproduction on all radio stations and fantastic sound when music is played via the iphone 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well built and sounds great, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
A great docking station - the swivelling connector allows me to dock my iPhone to dock without having to remove it's protective case.
Sounds good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good iPhone dock with the bonus of DAB radio, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Brian Clegg "Brian Clegg" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
While this isn't the most elegant looking iPhone 5 dock (the base with the LED screen is quite ugly), it is reasonably priced and does the job well both as a charger and to play music from an iPhone/iPod with a lightning connector.

There's a neat bit of attention to detail in the way that the connector is on a pivoting mount, so I can plug in my phone without removing the case.

The radio was an unexpected bonus - I haven't had a DAB radio before and the ease of setting up presets and jumping to a favourite channel is handy, while the sound quality is noticeably better than the old analogue radio we had in the same location. As it's in the kitchen, I've not tried the dual alarms in anger - they seem a little fiddly, although there is a nice big snooze button, always handy when you are half asleep and an alarm has rather a lot of controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great sound but iphone case prohibits use, 29 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Sony XDRDS16IPN.CEK DS16iP Clockradio Dock made for iPhone/iPod (Accessory)
I have an ipod touch which works great, however my iphone 5s wont work whilst in its apple case. The connector isn't long enough to make a connection. Shame as my previous sony dock with the 30 pin connector worked fine with a case on my iphone 4.

Spoils for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews