Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the sun......
Following the acclaimed reunion of the classic Quo line-up of Rossi, Parfitt, Lancaster & Coghlan for some concerts in March, fans were a bit shocked on hearing the first single from Bula Quo. Whereas the reunion gigs were heavy and featured (rarely played live) album tracks, the new single 'Bula Bula Quo' was somewhat different.

****** More Quo gigs with...
Published 13 months ago by Middle Earth

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
This is the worst Quo album since Perfect Remedy. It has no redeeming features at all, with nothing of the expected Quo sound and style.

I've been listening to Quo for decades, but this is nigh on the proverbial straw . . . Do they want people buy this drivel? Do they people to go see the film? If the film is as halfhearted and hakf-baked as this then I won't...
Published 12 months ago by David Cranson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the sun......, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
Following the acclaimed reunion of the classic Quo line-up of Rossi, Parfitt, Lancaster & Coghlan for some concerts in March, fans were a bit shocked on hearing the first single from Bula Quo. Whereas the reunion gigs were heavy and featured (rarely played live) album tracks, the new single 'Bula Bula Quo' was somewhat different.

****** More Quo gigs with Rossi, Parfitt, Lancaster & Coghlan in March / April 2014 ******

Bula Bula Quo - a sunny, Fiji inspired track for the Bula Quo movie sent the Quo official forum into meltdown. Having adjusted to the change in direction (for the movie) and listened to the tracks I actually found it a really fun album. Hard rocking in places, cheesy and tongue in cheek in others, it must be Quo's least typical and most diverse album.

The most quirky songs are Bula Bula Quo with it's Fijian backing vocals, and two Parfitt vocals: Mystery Island - in which Rick croons his way through and the equally tongue in cheek Fijian edit of Living on an Island.

The other tracks are rock tracks including Run and Hide - a rare vocal from the current bassist 'Rhino', a reggae track (yes really) - Fiji Time. Go,Go,Go is a good sing-a-long rock track with a James Bond feel.

CD 2 has a selection of live tracks, most notably Pictures of Matchstick Men - their first hit from the psychedelic late 60s. For those who haven't already heard them on the Quid Pro Quo, Reality Check and Frozen Hero are also worth a listen.

I thought about it giving it 4 stars, but I'm giving it a generous 5 for the sheer variety and the boldness in venturing into new territory. Well done to them, next I hope they will release a studio album with the classic line-up and maybe a zombie movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking album, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
It does seem that this album has divided the opinion of the nation (or at least the opinion of Quo fans). I'm not the only person who is thinking that this can't possibly be the worst Quo album. Anyone who does has surely not listened to all their work. They can't have. "Back to Back", "Ain't Complaining" "Perfect Remedy", "Thirsty Work" and "Famous in the Last Century"? In fact, every album from "1982" until "In Search of the Fourth Chord" has got some very dodgy tracks on it. I have to admit to being in two minds when I first heard "Bula Bula Quo" but I kept listening to it. Like them for it or not, they have a knack of writing and/or recording a catchy "pop" tune - if you know your Quo history then you already know this. If not, then listen to their first two albums (and I don't mean "Piledriver" and "Hello") or the music they recorded as The Spectres and Traffic Jam. This album has a very large variety of song styles, is very well produced and, most importantly, the songs are well written. Well done the Quo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars been a long long time since I felt this fine, 15 Aug 2013
By 
STEPHEN (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
I love this album and have been playing it in my car all summer. "Looking Out For Caroline" and "All That Money" are very typical Status Quo tracks; not that there's anything wrong with that! However, the rest of the album is arguably the most diverse selection of Quo songs ever. Designed as an accompanying soundtrack to the "Bula Quo" movie, it certainly disproves the myth that all Quo songs sound the same. The funny thing is that I wasn't too keen on the title track when I first heard it, but (just like "In The Army Now" all those years ago), it has very much grown on me and now I love it. "Go, Go, Go" is my favourite song on the album and sounds like the sort of track that could suit a James Bond Film. "Run and Hide" is the heaviest track and features bass player Rhino Edwards on lead vocals. "Running Inside My Head" and "Never Leave a Friend Behind" are Quo with a twist. The most unusual tracks on there are the reggae song "Fiji Time" which is fantastic and the ballad, "Mystery Island", which is my least favourite. The album contains a bonus disc of live tracks and a Fijian version of "Living on an Island".

For me music is escapism from the stresses and strains of real life and listening to "Bula Quo" is always guaranteed to cheer me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bula Quo Soundtrack!!!! Best Status Quo Album in Ages Really Enjoyable!!!!, 17 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
If you are are a fan of the Raw hard edged Status Quo from the classic years then you will most probably look at the cover of this album and think it is just Rossi and Parfitt and another
gimmicky Anniversary Waltz type of album again.
HOW WRONG I WAS!!!!
To my surprise i found this album really enjoyable and really enjoyed all of the tracks.
All of the tracks are a soundtrack to a movie the lads have made but this is the Best Album Status Quo have released in ages.
If you are going Holiday and like the fun and hard rock side of Status Quo then you will really enjoy this album.
If you prefer the Hard Raw Status Quo from the original line up then you are bound like this as it has got everything.
THE LIVE TRACKS ARE AMAZING!!!!
This is the laid back fun rockier side of Status Quo and there is a track for everyone with the Status Quo you prefer with Hard edged and fun tracks.
Ideal for a nice week in the Sun or in the Car on a sunny day out as you bomb down the motorway to the Beach!!!!!!!!!!!!
A Must Buy for Quo Fans!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Worfy (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
Being a Quo fan for 40 years and always preferring their early rock stuff I was dubious about buying this album. However, i was quite surprised by how much I enjoy this album, the secret being just taking it for what it is, a soundtrack album. It may take 2 or 3 listens to get into it but persevere. My fave track is Run And Hide unusually sung by bassist Rhino Edwards rather than Rossi or Parfitt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Ian M. Ogier "iogier" (Guernsey, Channel Islands, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
Ok - so this isn't a Quo studio album, it's a soundtrack for the Bula Quo! film. Allowing for this (and I'm a fan of 37 years) I think this is an excellent album, though I'm not mad about "Mystery Island". The "hardcore diehards" will probably hate it, but this is what Quo should be about - fun! More to the point we may get to hear a couple of tracks live later this year - there's two or three that are certainly good enough to liven up the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quo as you have never seen them, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
It did like the idea of the quo making a film the songs were very quo like
I should await the film with great expections to decide if I like it
of course if you are a big fan then you will really love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QUO!, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Ian O'Rourke "SMC92 Ian" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
People giving out about this album seem to forget its FOR THE MOVIE, even at that it has some great songs. Recommend for a real Quo fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 3 July 2013
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
This is the worst Quo album since Perfect Remedy. It has no redeeming features at all, with nothing of the expected Quo sound and style.

I've been listening to Quo for decades, but this is nigh on the proverbial straw . . . Do they want people buy this drivel? Do they people to go see the film? If the film is as halfhearted and hakf-baked as this then I won't bother with it. Right now I have no inclination to buy any more Quo stuff. One last thing . . . The song "Bula Bula Quo". Honestly!?!? I mean, REALLY!?!?

A new low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bula Quo! (Audio CD)
the quo just get better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bula Quo!
Bula Quo! by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews