Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once more with Feeling
What I really like about this live record, is the generous amount of songs performed from the 1970s, such as "Marcella", "Disney Girls" & "California". The Band could have just sleepwalked through a tried & tested greatest hits set (in the 1980s Mike Love famously refused to attended the concert rehearsals because he was so used to singing the same songs over & over...
Published 23 months ago by Jimi Jac

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry it's just OK.
Pet Sounds Live is a far better Live Album, But it was great to hear Alan Jardine BACK where he should ALWAYS have been.
Published 22 months ago by Trains


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once more with Feeling, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
What I really like about this live record, is the generous amount of songs performed from the 1970s, such as "Marcella", "Disney Girls" & "California". The Band could have just sleepwalked through a tried & tested greatest hits set (in the 1980s Mike Love famously refused to attended the concert rehearsals because he was so used to singing the same songs over & over again).
Instead we get 41 tracks spanning most of the BB's career & played with real professionalism & enthusiasm.
Obviously Dennis Wilson's unique drumming is sadly missed, as well as Carl Wilson's Vocals & Guitar (something I don't think he's really been given credit for). But you do get the original vocals on "Forever" & "God Only Know" with this rest of the band playing live, which is a nice touch. It's a bit of a shame that the BB's couldn't have got Ricky Fataar & Blondie Chaplin to play on a couple of the songs though.
The energy levels of the band aren't quite the same as they were in the 60s & 70s, but the concert does has a great momentum to it, & it is really amazes me that you never get fed up listening to these songs, it what ever format there presented.
So if this is going to be The Beach Boys swan song (there is talk of a rock n' roll album, but I'll take that with a pitch of salt), this will be more that a good bookend to an extraordinary career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost too good to be true...and it was, 15 July 2013
By 
Hasief Ardiasyah (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
Considering the Beach Boys' well-documented acrimony and personal problems over the years, the 50th anniversary was one of those proverbial hell freezes over events. But the surviving core members managed to bury their hatchets for a while, for a tour that was almost too good to be true that it was somewhat inevitable that it would come to a horrible end.

This double live album is a snapshot of that tour. Yes, it's not as complete as their epic setlists, especially towards the tour's end. But 41 songs is still pretty good, and representative of the best aspects of the reunion. On one hand you get the cars, girls and surfing songs favoured by Mike Love and Bruce Johnston's Beach Boys, and on the other you've got Brian Wilson and his deep cuts that remind us of this band's artistic credibility. In the middle there's Al Jardine, whose vocals are now the strongest of the core members; and David Marks, who was involved in a spot of musical chair with Jardine during the early years of the band but has returned to bring his own spin and some authentic flavour to the surf guitar lead parts originally played by the late, great Carl Wilson.

But I'd say the unsung heroes on this tour - and by extension, this album - were Brian's longtime backing band, who comprise all but two of the additional musicians here. They helped a man who at one time would rather eat his way to oblivion rather than tour regain much of the critical acclaim that he'd lost over the years, and they're a big part of what made this reunion much better than it had any right to be. The Beach Boys have used touring musicians since the late '60s to flesh out the live sound, but I have to say that compared to their previous live albums, I have to say that this is the best at faithfully recreating the sound of the original recordings, mostly because they had enough personnel to skilfully handle the complex vocal and musical arrangements, down to the various sound effects on "Heroes and Villains". They did most of the heavy lifting that allowed the core Beach Boys to concentrate on lead vocals and those mesmerizing harmonies, though special mention needs to go to Jeff Foskett, who took on the high vocal parts that Brian and Carl can no longer sing. To get an idea of how big their contribution was, just look up videos of Mike and Bruce's Beach Boys on YouTube, before and after the reunion tour. Still a fun show, but just not as musically-rich.

The only thing that would've made the reunion perfect would be if Carl and Dennis Wilson were still around, but they're here in spirit and technology through their original recorded vocals on "God Only Knows" and "Forever", with the live band backing them up seamlessly. I was fortunate enough to catch their concert in Singapore, where for some reason the production was more stripped down and we didn't get the Carl and Dennis show. We did get 49 songs though, and I have a complete bootleg recording that I still listen to fondly. But I can also enjoy this live album, because of the clearer sound and the inclusion of songs that they didn't play in Singapore ("Marcella" and "The Little Girl I Once Knew", yeah! "Be True to Your School", not so much!). And I'm not going to argue against assertions by other reviews here that there's been some post-production tinkering on the vocals, but I will say that - based on the show I attended - for the most part the Beach Boys' voices are still that good. Especially Al, but even Brian. And a bonus for me is that the photos for the album sleeve were taken entirely from the Singapore show by Eddie Sung, a photographer I got to know there. Another friend of mine is on the front cover in the striped shirt on the cover, standing in front of Mike. I'm somewhere in the back, under the O and above the Y's tail on the band logo.

So it's not a perfect live album. But it's about as perfect as you could hope for, given the circumstances. And this album is a great reminder of how special it was and how lucky you are if you managed to see the tour, because it's uncertain if hell will freeze over again, or if all the Beach Boys will still be there if it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
Excellent excellent CD - just so happy with this as a document of what is likely to be the lads final tour. Mike's voice is a tad weaker than what it once was but I guess none of us is getting younger. Really glad to see David Marks the forgotten Beach Boy and what a great guitarist he really is. Forever is a great Dennis Wilson tribute as is God Only Knows is the Carl tribute.

Have played this cd to death already. Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Boys" deliver like the old pros that they are, 23 May 2013
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
As someone who considers myself to be a huge Beach Boys fan, but never got the chance to see them live in concert, I was both excited and sceptical, when I noticed that they were releasing a 2-CD recording of their "50th Anniversary Tour". Excited because the old live albums from the '60s and '70s were fairly "skimpy", missing too many favorites, but sceptical because I was thinking that back then they were young men and at the top of their game, and now they are old and perhaps much less capable of delivering those captivating harmonies. As stunning as their lead vocals and harmonies sound on their latest (and probably last) album "That's Why God Made The Radio", that was after all a studio recording. But I need not have worried. The "boys" sound absolutely wonderful. Pretty damn well done for a bunch of guys in their 70s, I must say.

And then there's the comprehensive setlist, a very satisfying and generous selection of familiar hit singles and fan favorites. I would definitely recommend this live album to any Beach Boys fan. And if you don't own any of the live albums from their classic period ("The Beach Boys In Concert" from 1973, "Live At Knebworth", recorded in 1980), I highly recommend those, too.

Volt-and-Volume.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
Excellent live album from one of the very best groups in pop history. My only complaint is that only 41 songs whereas the concerts had over sixty [in UK anyway] Where is the full concert programme on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys 50th Anniversary Tour, 17 Sept. 2013
By 
Bryan Cloake (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
Excellent live album, shame some tracks from the show are missing. There was enough to make a triple live album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VIBRATIONS!!!, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Scott C Young (Barry, South Wales United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
Lovin' these timeless classics. Let's not forget these guys are in there early 70's. I saw them at Wembley Arena for the very first time in 1987 (without Brian) and since. The last time was there 50th at Wembley Arena in September 2012. 9000 plus sell out! The crowd was a mixture of young and not so young. They were all going bananas for the Boys and more than appreciative. They keep on going and spreading there summer tunes to the world! I am a youthful 46 and my daughter is 6.5 and she loves Be true to your school, barbara Ann and Good Vibrations. Singing along in the car. Ok back to this live album. Really great quality and worthy in anybody's album collection. I know not a great review but I am fan so I will buy all there albums! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing tribute to America's group, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour (Audio CD)
An amazing tribute to America's group. The vocals and harmonies are as tight as ever and the introduction of David Marks back into the band to replace Carl is pure genius. The sound production is first class and they have added some interesting additions to the usual live set. Even though it's packed with hits there are still some missing, which only goes to show the classic songs The Beach Boys have in their repitore. Personal favourite is the instrumental opening disc 2 "Pet Sounds" the title track taken from arguably the most important and influential album of the past 50 years ! Written by Brian Wilson for a James Bond movie and originally entitled "Run James Run".
So if you don't already have a Beach Boys live album buy it now I promise you won't be disappointed and those West coast harmonies will stay with you forever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic performance by the group and band. I dont usually buy live performances but this is very good, almost like a studio product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys Live, 24 May 2013
By 
P. H. Thomas (Swansea Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been waiting a long time for this one,,,,Well worth the wait..............Maybe the last time to hear them together Mike Love and Brian Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour
Live - The 50th Anniversary Tour by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews