Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Opening Top Box
This is an ideal mailbox for domestic use. Being larger than the normal mailbox it is ideal if you receive plenty of mail or are away for a few days. There is a lid on top which opens to reveal the slot for the postman to deliver the mail. It will take A4 size envelopes without any bending of envelope. The postmans slot is just over 26 cms long and take a thickness of...
Published 19 months ago by Johnny Kidd

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather wet!
The box is pretty robust but if installed outside be aware that water pours in through the top and forms a pool in the bottom soaking all the letters. I fixed this relatively easily with a rubber seal but it is something that the manufacturer should have done. Other than that, I did need a spare key but when approached the supplier couldn't supply one which is pretty...
Published 11 months ago by Forlornehope


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Opening Top Box, 16 May 2013
By 
Johnny Kidd (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
This is an ideal mailbox for domestic use. Being larger than the normal mailbox it is ideal if you receive plenty of mail or are away for a few days. There is a lid on top which opens to reveal the slot for the postman to deliver the mail. It will take A4 size envelopes without any bending of envelope. The postmans slot is just over 26 cms long and take a thickness of over 3 cms.
I find it ideal for the small packages that I receive that were just too large for my letterbox.
Fitting is by four screws and fitting to outside wall was relatively easy though suggest you have extra person just to hold box while you fit first two screws. The screws and plugs are inside the mailbox along with four rubber spacers and two keys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top product!, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
Read all reviews before deciding to go with this purchase. Excellent product all round although I can understand some of the comments about water seeping in the top and getting into the box when the weather is bad but this would only happen if the box is exposed i.e. on a fence or gate. On a wall in a porch would present no problem. The other potential issue that buyers had experienced
was that you cannot fix the box flush to a wall as the product description had stated because in doing so, the top flap would not open all the way. You needed to put a 1" block of wood behind it, attach that to the wall and then the box to the wood. Spent an hour or more buying and cutting the wood only to find that the box is now supplied with 4 1" rubber spacers which do the job perfectly!
Bottom line....good product at a good price and stops my 16 week old puppy chewing everything that used to come through the letterbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs instructions, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
The box is good quality, that indeed is true, the problem i had is that if you put it on your house wall, the lid wont open. It turns out you need an inch gap between the box and wall. But with no instructions i had to figure this out for myself. After the third try at getting the box to stay on the wall and being able to open the lid fully i discovered that using an assembly block which is an inch wide behind the box and 70mm screws does the job very nicely. Shame this couldn't have been explained by the sellers. Here's hoping they read this review and add some instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
Excellent it holds a lot of mail and is just what we were looking for,and looks smart on our front gate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather wet!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
The box is pretty robust but if installed outside be aware that water pours in through the top and forms a pool in the bottom soaking all the letters. I fixed this relatively easily with a rubber seal but it is something that the manufacturer should have done. Other than that, I did need a spare key but when approached the supplier couldn't supply one which is pretty poor service - so don't lose the keys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
It does exactly what I needed it to do. Takes large pieces of post easily and keep them secure. Is easy to lock and open and was not a nightmare to put on the wall. You do need a fairly big convenient space for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big but placement needs to be done carefully, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
Good box, but you cannot fit the post box flush to the wall as the top lid slides down the back of the box when you open it to access the letter slot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mail box and perfect for all my expected christmas post!, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
A very good quality mail box, water tight which is what I needed and very strong, good fixings with four holes to fix it with, I'm going to order another one so I hope they have plenty in stock!
A good price for a very good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MAILBOX ONLY THREE STARS COULD BE BETTER DESIGNED, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
A bit disappointed not a proper locking mechanism. Also aperture quite narrow and would not take weekend papers. Resolved this be bending the lip in, this has almost doubled the opening and papers go in with ease but it also makes it easy for anyone determined enough to access the contents.Also box supplied with four rubber buffers to distance it from the wall when opening the lid. Totally inadequate and as joiner was visiting, he actually attached it to a small inch wide wooden baton then attached that to wall. It wouldn't hurt for box to be a further two to three inches longer. Box does the job but pricey. However,mail always nice and dry now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outdoor lockable letter box, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLACK LARGE OUTDOOR STEEL LOCKABLE/LOCKING HOUSE MAILBOX/POSTBOX LETTER/MAIL/POST BOX
This is the perfect size as we have magazines through the post and it is easily big enough for these and our other post.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews