Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be more happier!
This is Demi's 4th studio album, and having been a fan since the first one, I must say this is her best production yet! This album provides variety of songs that complement Demi's voice perfectly. All her albums have experimented with different music styles, which is not always a bad idea, but going from rock to hip hop can sometimes be confusing to the listener! However,...
Published 24 months ago by ezzii

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as albums before
I feel Demi is becoming more pop and losing her niche market. The songs are pretty monotone and except for the well known ones pretty boring. I've listened to the whole album twice in about 6 months so not as good as her previous albums. Disappointed.
Published 19 months ago by Charlotte


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be more happier!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demi (Audio CD)
This is Demi's 4th studio album, and having been a fan since the first one, I must say this is her best production yet! This album provides variety of songs that complement Demi's voice perfectly. All her albums have experimented with different music styles, which is not always a bad idea, but going from rock to hip hop can sometimes be confusing to the listener! However, this album provides a stable variety of songs from ballads to a more pop-ish songs and a touch of rock, still keeping it all together. As a "mark" for Demi, this album also provides great lyrics which deeply touch the listener. Definitely would recommend to anyone who have loved Demi's music previously, and definitely a recommendation to those who have yet to hear her amazing talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEMI SHOULD OF GOT A GRAMMY!!!!!!, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demi (Audio CD)
I Love this cd have played it millions of times since I brought it when it was released in may 2013!!!! IT is still a GREAT album now and is DEMI'S BEST ALBUM YET!!!! . I am a Huge LOVATIC and LOVE everything she does and Demi never fails to impress me. I have seen Demi Live Twice and DEMI IS THE REAL DEAL.HER VOICE IS AMAZING LIVE AND ON HER CDS and she is a AMAZING PEFORMER .DEMI IS REAL TALENT AND I WISH SHE WOULD GET THE CREDIT SHE DESERVES AND GET A GRAMMY ONE DAY WELL MORE THAN ONE SHE deserves it.Demi's voice is even better on this album and has really grown. This CD is full of really great fun pop/power pop/dance And a country vibe on Made in the usa. songs such as one of my favourites Really Don't Care Featuring Cher Lloyd is a really fun empowering pop song so happy it was a single. (Cher is great on this song and fits well with Demi) and I really love the slow emotional songs such as Warrior (should of got a Grammy for this song just a great very personal emotional song like Skyscraper about Demi and many of her LOVATICS. and anyone who can relate.) Shouldn't Come Back (about her father Patrick RIP.) Nightingale MY FAVORATE SONG FROM THIS ALBUM was AMAZING Live!!!! (about one of Demi's friends who passed away.)
THIS CD IS FOR EVERY LOVATIC AND ANYONE WHO LOVES GREAT POP SONGS AND MUSIC. CAN'T WAIT FOR ALBUM NO5 COMMING VERY SOOON. my favourite songs are....... Nightingale, Really don't care ,two pieces, neon lights, Something That We're Not, BUT LOVE THEM ALL!!!!!!!

1. Heart Attack
2. Made in the USA
3. Without the Love
4. Neon Lights
5. Two Pieces
6. Nightingale
7. In Case
8. Really Don't Care Featuring Cher Lloyd
9. Fire Starter
10. Something That We're Not
11. Never Been Hurt
12. Shouldn't Come Back
13. Warrior

a review by ACRAZYLOVATICWAYFOBFAN Fred's Daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best album, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Demi (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album! I definitely think this is her best album to date. Demi got an amazing and powerful voice and it really shows in this album. Even my mom, who is almost 60 years old, love this album, so that says a lot! My favourite songs from the album are: Without The Love, Nightingale and Warrior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album by Demi Lovato so far, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demi (Audio CD)
All songs are fantastic. I like all of them, but i've got some favourites, Heart Attack, Made in the USA and Really Don't Care.
From Demi's 1st album to this one she has come a long way, to find the right sound. To be where she is now,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is very dynamic, with both upbeat dance songs and ballads that you know Demi has written herself from the heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A diverse album and Lovato's best yet,, 21 May 2013
By 
CSH (Gravesend) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demi (Audio CD)
This album was last two years in the making and certainly didn't disappoint. It is a mixed bag with pop, teen pop, club hits, ballads and even a hint of country. Long and short, there are nine fast paced songs and four slow ballads. The fast numbers can appeal to everyone, whereas serious fans will love her slower songs. They illuminate her vocal range and are very emotional. Here is a break down of the album...

1) Heart Attack - the fun dub step single about hiding one's new true feelings. The meaning will ring true for many teenagers, whilst Lovato's vocals and the amazing backing instruments will appeal to adults. This song can connect with everyone. (10/10)

2) Made In The USA - a very fun sugary song with a hint of country. In my eyes it is a modern and better version of Miley Cyrus' 'Party In The USA'; though that isn't to say this song is not original. This will be the second single and for good reason. This could be this year's summer anthem! (10/10)

3) Without The Love - a slower, slightly teen pop song with emotion. It is catchy, but will never be a standout. Lovato sounds great and this marks a progression into more serious songs. The beat is great and the backing music complements it well. The best part about this song is Lovato's raspy tone and you can feel the emotion in her voice at the end. (9/10)

4) Neon Lights - the main club anthem of this song. In many ways, this was an obligatory track, as most albums nowadays are expected to have a clubby song. This is no 'We Found Love', but is good enough for you to love. It is great in showing diversity in Demi's vocal range, because she sings sweetly and calmly before really singing the chorus. This song reminds me of Christina Aguilara's 'Let There Be Love'; it is a club track, but the artsist's vocals are much better than that. This song was a risk (as amazing singers are always at risk of over-singing/out-singing club tracks) and it paid off. (9/10)

5) Two Pieces - a lovely pop-rock song with haunting, rocky vocals. It is a catchy number and really stands out. Demi echoes P!NK in this number, but that isn't to say this isn't hers. A truly tremendous stand out track. (10/10)

6) Nightingale - this is a slow ballad supposedly written about a friend of Lovato's who passed away when she was just a child. It is very sad and may appear quite bland to you at first. But, it is one of the more hopeful ballads on the album and the listeners are certainly ready for this song; we've had the fun pop and Demi has slowly built up to this. The backing instruments bring it to life and Lovato's vocals are probably at their best here. For me, this is the standout ballad. And whilst it's depressing at first, the high notes at the end leave you inspired. (10/10)

7) In Case - a stripped down, less hopeful ballad than 'Nightingale'. It is all about the voice here and this song is probably one of the easiest ballads to like. It is also somewhat catchy, but you will feel emotionally drained afterwards. That says a lot about the power of 'In Case' and 'Nightingale' because the mood couldn't have been happier before them. It is like a stripped version of 'Fix A Heart' from Lovato's pervious album. (9/10)

8) Really Don't Care (feat. Cher Lloyd) - this is the the most energetic song on the album and probably the most fun. This is teen pop at its best and there were high hopes for this song; it was produced by the man behind many of One Direction's best songs and features the amazing Cher Lloyd, who makes a brief appearance after the two minute mark. This is a standout track and comes at just the right time...Fans will need something fun after two serious ballads. (10/10)

9) Fire Starter - a fun song somewhere in between club music and pop music. It is pleasant and something of a power anthem, but it feels very generic. This is one of the few songs Lovato didn't write and I think that shows. It would appear this song was included because it was well written, and fun teen pop is the focus here. It is nice, but not a standout...though, having said that, any pop song after 'Really Don't Care' was destined to be overlooked. (8/10)

10) Something That We're Not - on the first listen, you may feel this is too immature for a twenty year old, but it is actually one of the catchiest tracks with a unique beat during the verses that only Demi could have. This is another teen pop track, and is very fast. The shift in tempo throughout this song really fits. It is humorous too; at one point Lovato stops singing and says 'Not gonna happen dude'. This is a guilty pleasure track for adults and a standout for younger listeners. (10/10)

11) Never Been Hurt - a sweet, inspiring electro pop number with dubstep. It channels Lovato's 'Unbroken' - the title track of her previous album - only this is much better, because it shows her vocals and is more current. Very catchy. (10/10)

12) Shouldn't Come Back - after the all the pop songs, you probably won't feel like another ballad, but this song is what it is. It is sweet and serves a purpose; lowering the tone and mood for the next song. This is heartfelt (about Lovato's father), but it is forgettable and doesn't add much to the album. With such spectacular vocals shown on all songs, this ballad doesn't wow and falls short of expectation. In many ways, it is the obligatory penultimate track. Although, I think the Target bonus track 'I Hate You Don't Leave Me' would have been far better here. It is lyrically superior and more relatable. (6.5/10)

13) Warrior - a powerful ballad aimed at inspiring people. This is the closing number and it is certainly very nice. Here, Demi proves she has vocals that can match Christina Aguilara's and this song is like a nicer, better 'Blank Page'. It is catchy too, but again, the vocals don't wow because they have been too consistent. Demi has sounded amazing throughout, so expectations are high and the vocals begin to lose effect. (8/10)

Overall, this album was produced perfectly and it really shows Demi's personality well. I now she why she chose to name it 'Demi', because you often feel like she is speaking to you. The vulnerability in this album is greater than many artsists would ever dare to show and for that, Demi deserves respect. Some have said the pop songs are generic, but songs generally sound similar nowadays and Lovato has done her best to make each one stand out - and there truly is something different about each (and something memorable about most)!

And if that isn't good enough, UK Lovatics also get 'Skyscraper' and 'Give Your Heart A Break' as bonus tracks. They are good songs, but feel out of place on this album. This is probably a good thing, as it shows how Demi has progressed as an artist. They were probably only included to attract a wider fan base, as all serious fans will have these.

My only grumble is that a few rockier tracks would could have been included, but I appreciate how difficult it would be to integrate these into the album. I am also devastated that 'I Hate You, Don't Leave Me' isn't included on this. I would strongly recommend you look it up on YouTube or download it (we can't purchase it in the UK). Also, some of the lyrics need work, but Lovato is in transition between teen pop singer and pop Star. She has almost two fan bases and needs to please both. She does it well.

In summary, the album is a 10/10. Please don't take my words too seriously, as this is just one review, but I think honesty is best with these kinds of things. Nothing is perfect but this album comes pretty close. As with Lovato's previous efforts, the songs I like least soon become my favourites, so I will soon be jamming to 'Shouldn't Come Back'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE, 24 May 2013
This is probably her best album yet. It has so many great songs on it. Everyone should have this album in their lives.
Well done demi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 28 May 2013
You're not gonna regret getting this album, it will blow you away - every single song is great and well put together. I recommend having a really high quality sound system so you can really appreciate the amazing sound and the indcredible high notes that Demi belts out! I'm super psyched about the album, definately her best so far and there's something for everyone most definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great album!, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demi (Audio CD)
I didn't know what this album was going to be like it but it's so catchy and has a wide variety of songs, I'm not sure if I prefer it to Unbroken but this album is incredible and I only got it yesterday but I haven't stopped listening to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Demi (Audio CD)
Great will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demi
Demi by Demi Lovato (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews