Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2014
What a really wonderful album, full of personal, sentimental and roaming beautiful songs. Each one with a different story to tell. This is where I think this musician has really grown up and excels, the the folkish storytelling ability he can now achieve.
I did not in all honesty like Coral much, they were OK in my book, but not much more. This shows how good one of their main contributors is, now I cannot fathom out if I was missing something or he was overshadowed in a band environment. Coral fans will know better than me.

This music could almost be called depressing, but there is no way, the music may be slow, methodical and moody, but there is in it certain joys and hope. Yes it talks of life's experiences, which as we all know can be unfair at times, all this artist is doing is reflecting this, something people have done forever.
This collection of songs will add to anyone's listening material. Great for listening alone in thoughtful moods or as a couple after a great evening out.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Every song on this album has a beautiful sensitive, poignant quality that I immediately loved. Brilliant, imaginative songs with a fragile beauty that any sensitive soul would also love!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
This is Bill Ryder-Jones second cd since leaving the Coral and it is much better that his debut, although that was an instrumental piece. The songs on here are very good and similar to the slower tunes on Coral albums. He obviously didn't leave for musical differences. There is a dreamy quality to Bill's voice that fits the music well, a great record for chilling out to on rainy afternoons
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I guess most people won't know this guy but he's a multi-instrumentalist who used to be in the Coral. I like the Coral and this is nothing like the Coral. It's hauntingly beautiful from the first song. Spotify then buy then search his back catalogue!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Warm chimes of the piano pull out songs an moving them forward and soft and distinctive vocal, its character fits. Bill sings from the heart, love lost and the human condition that take place in those nebulous years before flew the nest.

Bill describes the music as "symphonic" and you hear reverence of that through in channel emotive music. There is almost narrative to album you feel you getting to characters, people and places too. His music paints technical-color pictures in the mind, in dreamlike depictions.

Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
After listening to If constantly for months I was looking forward to Bill Ryder-Jones' follow up and it doesn't disappoint. It's fantastically mellow but also strangely catchy with shimmering additions to the acoustic style that makes up most of the album. Well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Just bought this as well as 'If' after hearing WKCP, his latest. All 3 will be regulars in the coming months. It's always good to discover a new (to me) talent and Bill Ryder-Jones is just that. Wonderful music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
One of my favourite albums, I love it. Lay down, turn the lights off and just drift away to some absolutre quality, relaxing tunes, beautifully worded and sung from the heart. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I heard 'He Took You In His Arms' once, maybe twice, on the radio, and for weeks thereafter, kept going back to it online, hooked by its unusual mood and beauty. I wasn't sure that magic would carry across a whole album but it's a beautiful, moving, perfect emotional arc of an album, best heard as a whole as it builds towards a stunning conclusion. YouTube 'Christina, That's The Saddest Thing'/'You're Getting Like Your Sister' to see how effectively the songs' narratives/moods/tunes/dynamics work together. In fact just try to hear this, the single, clips, wherever, however, and if what you hear appeals at all, buy it. New music that'll get under your skin and into your heart.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
I have never heard of Bill or the Coral but was looking for some new music. On the back of a short FT review I bought this album. This is a really really nice collection of beautifully crafted songs. Very accessible, not too flash and not to sparse as bedroom albums can be. This is perfect for people of a certain age who dont have ipods and wish Wilco Johnson well. Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)