Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Album by Bill Ryder-Jones, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every song on this album has a beautiful sensitive, poignant quality that I immediately loved. Brilliant, imaginative songs with a fragile beauty that any sensitive soul would also love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow tunes from ex Coral sideman, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Bill Ryder-Jones second cd since leaving the Coral and it is much better that his debut, although that was an instrumental piece. The songs on here are very good and similar to the slower tunes on Coral albums. He obviously didn't leave for musical differences. There is a dreamy quality to Bill's voice that fits the music well, a great record for chilling out to on rainy afternoons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - one of my fave albums of 2013, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bad Wind Blows in my Heart (MP3 Download)
I guess most people won't know this guy but he's a multi-instrumentalist who used to be in the Coral. I like the Coral and this is nothing like the Coral. It's hauntingly beautiful from the first song. Spotify then buy then search his back catalogue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly subtle., 5 Jun 2013
By 
J. Lee "sharplad" (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After listening to If constantly for months I was looking forward to Bill Ryder-Jones' follow up and it doesn't disappoint. It's fantastically mellow but also strangely catchy with shimmering additions to the acoustic style that makes up most of the album. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice album., 23 April 2013
By 
Warwick Holt (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never heard of Bill or the Coral but was looking for some new music. On the back of a short FT review I bought this album. This is a really really nice collection of beautifully crafted songs. Very accessible, not too flash and not to sparse as bedroom albums can be. This is perfect for people of a certain age who dont have ipods and wish Wilco Johnson well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grower. Brio.iant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, Bill!, 31 May 2013
By 
Nick (London, England) - See all my reviews
I heard 'He Took You In His Arms' once, maybe twice, on the radio, and for weeks thereafter, kept going back to it online, hooked by its unusual mood and beauty. I wasn't sure that magic would carry across a whole album but it's a beautiful, moving, perfect emotional arc of an album, best heard as a whole as it builds towards a stunning conclusion. YouTube 'Christina, That's The Saddest Thing'/'You're Getting Like Your Sister' to see how effectively the songs' narratives/moods/tunes/dynamics work together. In fact just try to hear this, the single, clips, wherever, however, and if what you hear appeals at all, buy it. New music that'll get under your skin and into your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent album, I'm a big Coral fan and had heard bits of Bill's solo and wan't entirely convinced - however this album is amazing. It's got soul and depth. Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet West Kirby's Bon Iver, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bad Wind Blows in my Heart (MP3 Download)
Thought the whole was great; sonically it sounds amazing. It is one of those albums that has immediate impact but you find new depths each time you listen. Wholly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bad Wind Blows in my Heart
A Bad Wind Blows in my Heart by Bill Ryder-Jones
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews