Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars304
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2013
All seasons have different Disc Menus.
It may be the same content with seperate season sets.

Here is the box set specifications;

Audio:
English 5.1 DTS HD-MA
English 2.0 DTS HD-MA
(Some Episodes has "Audio Commentary" track listed below)
Subtitles:
The set has only English SDH

Disc 1
Season 1 Episode 01
Season 1 Episode 02
Season 1 Episode 03
Season 1 Episode 04

Disc 2
Season 1 Episode 05
Season 1 Episode 06

BONUS Materials:

The Making Of "The Walking Dead"
Inside "The Walking Dead": Episodes 1-6
A Sneak Peek with Robert Kirkman
Behind the Scenes Zombie Make up Tips
Convention Panel with Producers
Zombie School
Bicycle Girl
On Set with Robert Kirkman
Hanging with Steven Yeun
Inside Dale's RV
On set with Andrew Lincoln

DISK 3
Season 2 Episode 01
Season 2 Episode 02
Season 2 Episode 03
Season 2 Episode 04
Season 2 Episode 05
Season 2 Episode 06

DISK 4
Season 2 Episode 07
Season 2 Episode 08
Season 2 Episode 09
Season 2 Episode 10
Season 2 Episode 11
Season 2 Episode 12
Season 2 Episode 13

DISK 5
BONUS Materials:
All the Guts inside
Live or Let Die
The Meat of the Music
Fire on Set
The Ink is Alive
The Sound of the Effects
In the Dead Water
You could Make a Killing
She will Fight
Wardrobe of the Walking Dead
Cast on Season 2
Chracter Profiles
Deleted Scenes (8 Deletes Scenes)

DISK 6
Season 3 Episode 01
Season 3 Episode 02
Season 3 Episode 03
Season 3 Episode 04 (+Audio Commentary)

DISK 7
Season 3 Episode 05 (+Audio Commentary)
Season 3 Episode 06
Season 3 Episode 07
Season 3 Episode 08 (+Audio Commentary)

DISK 8
Season 3 Episode 09 (+Audio Commentary)
Season 3 Episode 10
Season 3 Episode 11
Season 3 Episode 12

DISK 9

Season 3 Episode 13
Season 3 Episode 14
Season 3 Episode 15 (+Audio Commentary)
Season 3 Episode 16

DISK 10
BONUS Materials

Rising Son
Evil Eye
Gone, But not Forgotten
Heart of a Warrior
Michone vs. the Governor
Safety Behind Bars
Making the Dead
Guts and Glory
Deleted Scenes
review image review image review image review image
99 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Pros - great story with plenty of action and scares, fantastic acting, thoroughly convincing characters, each season better than the last.

Cons - not completely true to the books.

If you have not watched this show yet then I suggest you do. While on the one hand it may appear to be just an extended version of any other Zombie movie, it actually has far more brains and heart than most.
Beyond the scares and action lies a deeper story that, as the show progresses, starts to explore how the world copes in the face of a zombie apocalypse. It soon becomes clear that the walkers are not the only danger to Andrew Lincoln's humble sheriff, Rick Grimes, and his plucky band of survivors. One of the things that makes the show brilliant is that no character is safe and the creators are perfectly willing to make tough decisions with regards to plot development. It is this commitment to realism and grittiness that makes this far more than the simple cult hit that it might have been, extended it into the realms of genuine drama. This drama is supported by a cast whose acting is outstanding, devoid of weak links and settings that are scarily realistic.
If you are a fan of the original comics and are hoping for a carbon copy of that then you will be in for a few surprises as the show makes a number of changes. However, these changes are invariably for the best, not making it better as such, but making it more suitable for TV.
Overall, this is one of the best and most watchable shows of recent years.
22 comments|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
This is by far the most enjoyable, pulse-pounding television series ever made! Not only is the acting superb, but the make-up/effects are amazing. Aside from the fact that the dead don't walk, this is almost believable. I like the way the story only centers on the main group (which if this did happen would be all you knew anyway!).The way the story pans out is superb, showing what happened before the zombies and the initial snippits at the start of each episode. I'm pleased to learn that the makers have enough material for 12 seasons.....looking forward to them all 100%+
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Seasons 1-3 are a thrill ride in top quality TV. The scripts and production values are outstanding, the actors down to the smaller roles are exceptional.

The world is devastated by a virus (or is it just America!?), each person carries the virus and its active once your dead. Pockets of humans struggle to survive, sounds much like every other zombie flick you've seen?.... wrong, the entire series will pull the rug from your feet over and over leaving you wanting more. For many episodes this is more a character study than a horror series, the unravelling of people's minds in a world without humanity.

Seasons 1-3 strength lies in the time the series have to develop ordinary people's motivations and decisions when you're living a daily nightmare.

Rick, the lead role in several episodes is a lawman living in a lawless world, he's values are challenged over and over. Would you kill to protect what you cherish, even your best friend? The scripts allow room for much debate revealing a world of moral ambiguity and many gut reaching situations. Survival over humanity, at what cost?

The human costs of a world in chaos are brilliantly and brutally played out, the story constructions are drilled with machine precision, the thoughtfulness of the scripts and editing are at feature film standard, every scene matters. The writers are not afraid to lose characters you care about, sometimes in visceral circumstances. The constant dangers deliver shocking consequences and unexpected heartache.

Human nature can be more dangerous than zombie nature, watch this and be hooked 10/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I started watching this during the painful period of mourning the end of 'Breaking Bad'. I was certain i'd never enjoy anything again and that television was ruined for me.

Then I bravely got up the courage to watch season one of 'The Walking Dead' as recommend by my brother and I've never looked back.

My first thoughts were preconceived, no matter how often I tell myself not to judge a book by its cover...'typical zombie programme' i said, and I watched and waited for them to say 'lets go to the winchester and wait for this to all blow over'. But thank goodness, it never came. The series was engaging, thrilling, heart wrenching, emotional and all about survival. It was more like 'Lost' than it was a zombie programme and each of the characters had a story to tell, a real life behind them.

The first series focusses on Rick Grimes, (played by the rather gorgeous Andrew Lincoln) a police officer who wakes up after the apocalypse and goes in search of his family.

As the series progresses you see the psychological impact, the stress and strains on relationships and the daily struggles of living taking its toll on the characters. Soon, it becomes clear that with the collapse of society and the 'end of the world' so to speak, its not the human eating, ever starving and only killed by destroying the brain zombies that Rick and his camp have to worry about. Its real, living people.

But beware, if you buy the DVD's prepare to lose a few days, because you will not be able to stop watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Where do I begin? This item was delivered so promptly, it was unbelievable. I purchased this box set as a christmas present to my grandfather, but seeing how we love the Walking Dead so much we couldnt help but open it early and get engrossed! The presentation of this box set is wonderful, and the set out of the DVD themselves are brilliant. Amazon have really done me proud with this purchase. The Walking Dead box set will continue when the next few seasons have aired, and I know EXACTLY where I will be purchasing mine from! WELL DONE AMAZON! 10/10
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
I cannot wait to re-watch series 1 - 3 and also catch up on the few episodes I missed in series 3. I watched this on TV and quite frankly in places I have never screamed so much in my life the series is well put together and brutal in places when you lose a major star - the creators have thought the story through well and new characters join and quickly become favourites. There is lots of gore but the strong plot allows this without it becoming just a horror show. The plot focuses primarily on the dilemmas the group faces as they struggle to maintain their humanity during the day-to-day challenges of surviving in a hostile world. The hopelessness of the situation runs underneath as the story goes on. The Walkers are realistic and well "made up" from a costume perspective. There are many twists and turns in this story and I won't put any spoilers in this review but this is simply a must watch series - and a great bargain in the Black Friday Sale @ £32.00 and early Christmas Present to myself. Further note Jan 2014 - Oh boy I am loving watching this and I am now counting the days until series four comes out on DVD!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Not your typical cheesey zombie fest, looks great in high definition, everyone who wants life fulfilment must buy watch the walking dead
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
What a brilliant series, my wife is an absolute fan who this was brought for. Andrew Lincoln is brilliant as Rick Grimes. The rest of the cast are all brilliant, I know people are obsessed with Daryl Dixon (Norman Reedus) but they are all very good characters, you feel in touch with most of them and when deaths do happen it can be very shocking and upsetting. I don't think a lot of actors/actresses can pull that off.
Its shocking and gory and I like that it doesn't always follow the comic books, it keeps you in suspense and you just have to keep watching.
This is definitely not for the faint hearted, its very gritty and can be disturbing at times. The first 3 series are full of action, but also has family, friends, lots of enemies and never ending deaths that will shock.
A brilliant series and well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
The walking dead just keeps getting better and better each season. This show goes way beyond the usual zombie splatter fest clichés. The acting, the pacing, the visual FX, plot and character development are all superb. This show actually makes you care about characters, who have all had their lives turned upside down. I am a huge zombie fan anyway, so there is a slight bias here. However, the mark of a great show is the ability to attract viewers who are not normally fans of the genre. The walking dead does this ten fold and I thoroughly recommend it. I have just finished watching season 4 of this show on TV, and good lord, its another gem!! Anyway, enjoy and get involved in this terrific zombie apocalypse. Don't forget to secure all doors and windows!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)