Customer Reviews


447 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (84)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read
I really like both of the main characters in this, good background story which meant the quickly developed relationship between Anne and Ben was believable.
The build up to the inevitable confusion over who was using who and why was pretty well done.

I'm a sucker for a grand romantic gesture at the end of the book so i was satisfied that my eyes were...
Published 24 months ago by natalie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you suffer from insomnia this is the book for you!
When I started this book I thought it was written by an existentialist who was struggling to come to terms with an increasingly meaningless and absurd world. Each little routine and behavioural trait recorded with meticulous attention to detail.

"Carla disconnected at her end and Anne did the same then put the receiver down..."

Then the...
Published 13 months ago by Top O' Trawden


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
I really like both of the main characters in this, good background story which meant the quickly developed relationship between Anne and Ben was believable.
The build up to the inevitable confusion over who was using who and why was pretty well done.

I'm a sucker for a grand romantic gesture at the end of the book so i was satisfied that my eyes were pretty misty reading the last few pages. The bedroom scenes were suitably steamy also.

Not something i would read again, but certainly more than happy with the content for a freebie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
Have to admit, from reading the book description, and the fact it was free |i wasnt really expecting much! But boy I was wrong, It was nice for once for there to be a happy connection between the couple from years ago and even though there is a mis-understanding to do with the job and who they now are, I wanted to keep reading to see how it ended, and felt their connection. really liked this book, and would recommend it to ther readers, would gladly have paid, much better story than the description leads you to believe....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a truly beautiful, read, two friends from the past get together, unbeknown to her he owns a multi million company to which she has applied a job for, which leads to a terrible miss-understanding, due to the usual bad ex, but that sort it out and find happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you suffer from insomnia this is the book for you!, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
When I started this book I thought it was written by an existentialist who was struggling to come to terms with an increasingly meaningless and absurd world. Each little routine and behavioural trait recorded with meticulous attention to detail.

"Carla disconnected at her end and Anne did the same then put the receiver down..."

Then the analysis of social interaction and role play. " Anne told the woman who she was and whom she wanted to to speak to then waited for her mother to pick up the phone." Personal rituals are explored. Perhaps a way of coming to terms with an uncertain world ?.
"After washing her face and brushing her teeth she saw a light in her blue eyes that had been missing for many years."

Being more self-confident she seems able to face the unknown. "The clock in the living room chimed eleven p.m. and she turned off the ceiling light then climbed into bed.Smiling...she turned over to turn off the bedside lamp and snuggled in."

Notice the repetition of the word turned. Deeply symbolic. An inner feeling of new determination?? A turning away from a former way of life?

TO BE SERIOUS

This "novel" raises trivia to an art form. I am convinced that she writes in exactly the same way that she speaks in everyday life. BUT the whole point of the written word is that it is carefully composed and skilfully used in order to maintain the reader's attention/ emotional involvement
.
THE SEXUAL MARATHON.

Sadly this was just as repetitive and frequently absurd. Throughout the bedroom Olympics the word groan was used 19 times! As their sexual frenzy builds to fever pitch we are suddenly told that their condoms are being used to prevent pregnancy and avoid sexual disease, although sadly they reduce sensation!!
Well fancy that. Actually I don't really wish to have a conversation with someone in the throes of sexual intercourse. And I do know the purpose of contraception.MESSAGE. Don't assume the reader is uninformed or stupid.

This book is undemanding and relies largely on sexual content to attract the reader. I have not even considered the plot such as it is. They say sex sells. Sadly, I have no doubt that this book will do well . Alas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline but written badly, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
I loved the storyline and the relationship between Ben and Anne, but I really didn't like the way it is written and the language that is used. It doesn't have the flow of other novels, and I thought that the author used too many words to describe things that could be described more effectively using better wording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars School essay, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
I very rarely give up on a book but this was pretty awful, I couldn't cope with the laborious descriptions . The style of writing reminded me of a school essay that had to be a required length so was filled with words but no substance. Maybe the plot was ok but I gave up before finding out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
This really was terrible. There was not much of a story and I found myself cringing at many points and I skim read loads of it as it was boring and didn't take the story anywhere. It was a collection of naff sex scenes linked together by some icky attempts at romance. I have read better in doctors waiting room magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mills & Boon with copious, explicit sex, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
Looking at the first few pages, there was no indication this was going to be such rubbish. It looked intelligent but degenerated rapidly into a ridiculous "love" story with loads of poorly described, unnecessary sex scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The job offer, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
I stuck it out but it really dragged at times I would of liked more conversation between character's rather than how many trees there were or the landscape
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good read, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Job Offer (Kindle Edition)
A poorly written pale shade of 50 Shades of Grey. The author is a mistress of stating the obvious - a very irritating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Job Offer
The Job Offer by Eleanor Webb
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews