Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic sounds of the early early 90's...
An album that provided a great platform for UK domination...then a major absence from hits. "Boss Drum" is a very cool title for a album that spawned at least 3 major hits. It relies a lot on pseudo-rap and electronic beat but there is no disguising terrific melodies. "Ebeneezer Goode" was played in the local gym recently and it rocked the place...everyone was moving...
Published on 30 Jun 2003 by Damien Boyd

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointment
This album let me down! Some of the tracks are not the same as original album that i had years ago..Very disappointed..
Published 1 month ago by aderyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic sounds of the early early 90's..., 30 Jun 2003
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
An album that provided a great platform for UK domination...then a major absence from hits. "Boss Drum" is a very cool title for a album that spawned at least 3 major hits. It relies a lot on pseudo-rap and electronic beat but there is no disguising terrific melodies. "Ebeneezer Goode" was played in the local gym recently and it rocked the place...everyone was moving faster for at least 4 minutes! Well, the good news is there is a fantastic 6 minutes plus on this album...a slow build up before unleashing the might of sound...a must at any party!
"Boss Drum" the title track, "LSI" and "Phorever People" are equally storming.
"Comin' On" is very psychedelic and there are 2 dubs at the end (Boss dub and Phorever dub).
The 2000's could do worse than a SHAMEN renaissance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the Shamen's finest hour, 17 Jan 2008
By 
Thom Gray (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
I must admit now that this is my favourite album in the universe so this review may seem a little biased. Not only does it include all the major hits ('Ebeneezer Goode', 'LSI', 'Comin' On' and 'Phorever People'), it also has a number of unreleased gems and dubs, which just add to the fact that this is quite possibly the best rave/dance/indie album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, wasn't dated like I thought it may be., 24 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
This music as you'll know is from the early 1990's but it doesn't really sound dated, and is of crystal quality. I would rate this as the best work of this group. This music encompasses a range of different moods, and will even provide stunning tight bass lines, if you like that sort of thing. I lost my copy about a year ago, but I liked it so much I thought I'd get a new copy! How many CD's of that age in your collection would you do that with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if only it had lasted phorever, 4 Jan 2006
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
I saw this band in Manchester at the height of EBG frnzy and did they rock the Academy - a storming gig. The album still sounds good if played loud but a sympathetic remastering with the technology available now could give it a real boost. Still turn it up and let your mind go back to those heady days!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shamanic, magic, mystical music!, 30 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
This indie / dance / rave group gave us a classic album of the early 1990's. Upbeat dance music causing great offence with the blatant drug references in song titles and lyrics... LSI and Ebeneezer Goode "...Eezer Good...". still very entertaining, good for a giggle and some 90's nostalgia if nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointment, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
This album let me down! Some of the tracks are not the same as original album that i had years ago..Very disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Classic, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
One of the old greats - I had this on tape back in the day and listening to it again has not dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re: The Shamen, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boss Drum (Version 2) (MP3 Download)
I had The Shamen on an audio cassette tape many years ago which I really loved and like all good things I done went and lost it. This new version is magnificent with it's re-mastered longer longer tracks. A big improvement on the original and I recommend it to anyone who is into that type of music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome album, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boss Drum (Audio CD)
I would recommend this album to anybody who likes the shamen. It took me right bk to my teenage years ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Cool!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boss Drum (album) (MP3 Download)
Brings back some awesome memories and still as great to listen to as it ever was. If you were around in the 90's, this is so worth a listen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boss Drum (Version 2)
Boss Drum (Version 2) by The Shamen
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews