Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars29
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£27.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2007
I had Ten & Temple of the Dog and read all the stuff about Andrew Wood's death. It made me curious so I borrowed this off a friend to listen to. It was fantastic - a real insight into the true origins of Grunge, in at the conception but well crafted and complete songs - well written, arranged and performed. The production maybe a bit muddy at times but even that gives it a kinda 'as live' feel. I returned my mate his copy and bought my own copy.

There's a lot of talk about how you only need three chords to do rock and roll. Punk made a movement out of it, but there's nothing to beat good musicians playing together and exploring their instruments. Andrew Wood's lyrics and vocals are beautiful. "ChloeDancer\Crown of Thorns" is a stand out Medley and "Man of Golden Words" quite spiritual. The rocky "Stardog Champion" and laid back "Gentle Groove". Great riff driven guitar anthems.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
I sincerely believe that one of the great tragedies in the history of music was the death of Andrew Wood, lead singer and songwriter for this unbelievable band. If it hadn't have been for his death then this album would not have been as unnoticed as it was. The sound is reminiscent of early Pearl Jam, mainly due to the inclusion of Stone Gossard and Jeff Ament in the line up, but with a beautifully haunting edge on tracks like Chloe/Crown of Thorns and Gentle Groove, which would probably have to go down as my favourite song of all time. The harder rock of This Is Shangri-La and Mr Danny Boy is just superb, as is every other track on this amazing album. I just could not praise this album enough, even if I was to write 10000 words on it. If you love Pearl Jam or any of the similar bands from the late 80's/early 90's then you will just adore this album, the way that I do.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
whatever the background to Mother Love Bone, this is an exceptional band, a coming together of superb musicins who back Andrew Wood to perfection. What can you say about Chloe Damcer/Crown of Thorns except listen, marvel and weep that such talent is no longer with us.
And this coming from an 'elderly' too says it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
I am not going into details (sorry!) This will be short, but sweet - one of the best albums I have ever purchased ( there is not one track I don't like & it's rare for me to say that) and I'm so sad I only heard MLB's music 21 years after Andrew Wood's death. A tragic waste of an amazing talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2001
Mother Love Bone, to me are still a well kept secret outside of the U.S. To many people Pearl Jam was the beginning, but this record planted the roots of what was to be a monster mass of music sprawling out of Seattle. It is also the record that showcases the talents of the 'Jams Stone Gossard and Jeff Ament, and not to mention the fabulous late frontman Andrew Wood. From the opening throes of 'This is Shangrila' (in which Wood throws down the ultimate rockatar line 'Get me to the stage it brings me home again') to the subtle tenderness of 'Man Of Golden Words' and the epic 'Chloe Dancer/Crown of Thorns', this album shows maturity far beyond a group of Seattle early twenty somethings. The album also showcases much more musical dynamicity than its succeeding offsprings, with fantastic imagery provided by Wood, complemented by shimmering guitar lines from Stone Gossard. 'Mother Love Bone' is made all the more special given that it is the only recording the band ever made, before they befell such a tragic end. If you were into the early nineties grunge scene then do yourself a favour and buy this and see where it all began. Go, tell your friends.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
A great "must have" chapter for any pearl jam fan. Completely different but still has a clear footprint of stone's and jeff's talent. Andrew's voice is unique and a great loss to the industry and seattle scene. Very good quality production as well. All in all a Great little glam album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Fantastic!!! All fans of Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Temple Of The Dog and Chris Cornell, and Eddie Vedder are likely to love this album not because they feel like they should, bet because it is very, very good. Takes a few listens to get into but once you get it you've got it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2006
Well Mother Love Bone, what an amzing band that was and what an amazing band they might have been. This album is a classic a collection of all the Mother Love Bone songs on 1 cd. The start of what was known as the "grunge" scene, not that i know what i'm talking about cause it was before my time but never the less i love this album the stand out's include Stardog Champion, Bone China, Stargazer and Crown of Thorns but there all top. If you like Proper music, rock music i do suggest giving this a listen cause there was a whole host of great music that came not long after this Pearl Jam, Soundgarden and Alice in Chains all great bands and Mother Love Bone are one of them.
So buy now!!! i didn't regret it i'm sure you wont either.... love rock awaits you people....
Rest in peace Andrew Wood..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Brilliant first time I heard it. Still as good today! You wont be disappointed. A lot of bands originated for the great Mother Love Bone. What a name too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2002
I brought this album from amazon when i was buying some Pearl Jam stuff...i was utterly amazed. Mother Love Bone are an brilliant band and ths is a brilliant album. If you like Grunge, Glam Rock or just want something you can nod your head along to in the car this is the album for you.
Buy it now!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£9.36
£7.42

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)