Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fistful of Yen
I went to see to see this film when I was still at school (no, I wasn't 18 but things seemed easier then) and have got to say I missed half of it because I was laughing so much. It preceded Airplane and never, in my opinion, got the credit it deserved. How pleased was I when I found it again on Amazon and, although it looks a little dated now, still had me in...
Published on 14 May 2009 by D. Lancaster

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The Kentucky Fried Movie
Real score: 0 stars
Adjusted for Amazon reviewers getting it wrong: 1 star, because that's the lowest I can score it.

I didn’t even finish this. Unusual for me to go on to log something I haven’t finished but I was so appalled by the “humour” that I will never watch it again, and I feel I have seen enough to rate it just about...
Published 5 months ago by Joe Marsh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fistful of Yen, 14 May 2009
By 
D. Lancaster "Dave Lancaster" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see to see this film when I was still at school (no, I wasn't 18 but things seemed easier then) and have got to say I missed half of it because I was laughing so much. It preceded Airplane and never, in my opinion, got the credit it deserved. How pleased was I when I found it again on Amazon and, although it looks a little dated now, still had me in hysterics.

The film is a series of sketches with a loose TV/Film motif with silly humour and hidden gags being the order of the day. I warn you, "A Fistful of Yen" will ruin Bruce Lee films for you forever (but in a good way).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kentuck Fried Movie - better than the chicken, 21 May 2009
By 
A. Briggs "Aibee" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay so I'm old enough to have seen this at the cinema when it was first released, but on DVD I can watch it on my own sofa. As funny as I remember, and it brought back a whole raft of other 70's memories as well. Top Film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first Zucker-Abrahams-Zucker movie and one of the best, 29 Nov. 2008
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this film in the cinema (yep, that old) and bought from Major 8 Movies both 400 ft Super 8 extracts, one of selected sketches and the other "A Fistful Of Yen". I bought the VHS in the days before video certification and now I have the DVD.
It is brilliant. They could never make anything like this again... I can see it getting canned when they reviewed the script for "Danger Seekers" on the basis of ONE WORD.
And as for "Catholic High School Girls In Trouble"?!! I wonder whether Samuel L Broncowitz was named for Bronco Lane the western hero or Bronco the British brand of Toilet Paper.... but the films paraded under his name mercilessly rip the hell out of the soft porn movies of the '70s, the action thrillers studded with big stars in mini cameos, the technical gimmicks used to sell cinema when TV looked to have killed it dead....
Fancy a porno like "Deep Throat" in Feelarama? they'd have to sell mouthwash with the KiaOra....
Henry Gibson is a wonderful spokesman on behalf of the dead (nowadays they'd be called vitally challenged and have govt. funded counselling)
KFM is not for the faint of heart or the easily offended, it takes a scattergun approach to humour and if one sketch doesn't work for you, then there's another right along in a moment... This is no feather touch of comedy but a Louisville Slugger to your laughter glands...

But enough! My copy of "Fistful Of Yen" on 8mm cost me £15 and ran for about 20 minutes. You have the opportunity to have the whole crazy shooting match for about a third of that.
WHERE CAN YOU GET A BARGAIN LIKE THAT NOW!?
Here, of course.
Buy this movie and make serious film critics weep.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Kentucky Fried Movie, 29 Jan. 2015
Real score: 0 stars
Adjusted for Amazon reviewers getting it wrong: 1 star, because that's the lowest I can score it.

I didn’t even finish this. Unusual for me to go on to log something I haven’t finished but I was so appalled by the “humour” that I will never watch it again, and I feel I have seen enough to rate it just about accurately.

This film is truly awful. Not offensive, just offensively un-funny. It was so embarrassing to watch that the people I watched it with and I just sat in a sort of stunned and disgusted silence, unable to even laugh at how un-funny it was. The only bit that even raised a chuckle was when that horse got pied.

Just look at the IMDB quotes page for this movie! I can see how this would be funny if you watched this when it came out and you happened to be between the ages of 13 and 15 at the time, otherwise no:

“Here at our multi-billion dollar refinery in Fairbanks, we're extracting 2.5 billion barrels of crude oil each day from teenagers' faces.”

Not to mention the crack in the same skit (the opening sketch by the way, a chance for the filmmakers to grab our attention) about how greasy Italians are. Har har. Worse than Mad Magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kentucky Fried Movie, 28 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this after finding a very old worn vhs video of this film, and what a brilliant film it is, totally tasteless these days, not PC friendly at all but what's wrong with some boob jokes, famous people in their day making silly commercials, feel-o-rama cinema films( imagine that in 3D) and of course A Fistful of Yen which sends up martial arts films, James Bond films and even the Wizard of Oz. DVD was perfect, lots of extras too. 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPECIAL EDITION - Kentucky Fried Movie, 23 Jan. 2013
On July 4, 2011 Arrow Video in the United Kingdom released a two-disc special edition DVD, with the following special features:
- Feature presented in widescreen 1.85:1 and full-frame 1.33:1
- Original mono audio
- The audio recollections of director John Landis; writers Jerry Zucker, David Zucker, Jim Abrahams; and producer Robert K. Weiss
- A conversation with David and Jerry Zucker: A feature length interview with the co-creators of The Kentucky Fried Movie, Airplane! and The Naked Gun about their lives and career, from growing up and starting out in show business to their comedy influences and spoofing Midnight Cowboy
- Jerry Zucker's on-set home video shot during the making of the movie
- Behind-the-scenes photo gallery
- Original trailer
- Four-panel reversible sleeve with original and newly commissioned artwork
- Double-sided fold-out artwork poster
- Collector's booklet featuring brand new writing on director John Landis by critic and author Calum Waddell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The all time greatest Bruce Lee Spoof, a must have video !, 11 May 2000
By A Customer
This is one of the all time great videos. Loads of short clips based on an advert format. The main feature is the funniest Bruce Lee 'Enter The Dragon' spoof you will ever see. Featuring plenty of well known stars like Donald Sutherland. Cannot recommend this highly enough, cheap as well. Brilliant, buy it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last the truth about masturbation!, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Landis (Animal House, The Blues Brothers, Trading Places) directs and Jim Abrahams, Jerry Zucker, David Zucker (Airplane!, Naked Gun) writes one of the funniest films of the seventies. Essentially a series of sketches lampooning movies, television, advertising and the news it also includes a mini feature (A Fistful of Yen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ZAZ back catalogue, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
From the guys who brought you Airplane and The Naked Gun but directed by the guy who brought you Animal House and An American Werewolf in London. I love this! As a teenager we watched the VHS until it was worn out. Good to catch up with it on dvd, still makes me laugh after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars John Landis's debut which is a Zucker brother and Abrahams comedy script., 12 Jun. 2015
John Landis had to start somewhere in his directorial and took the bizarre sketch comedy written by the Zucker brothers and Jim Abrahams who would later make Airplane. A funny film that is all over the place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews