Customer Reviews


2 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good machine but with a few issues
I've been looking for a laptop to take on holiday with me and i immediately thought of an ultrabook due to my needs of low weight, power and battery life. After a good deal of searching around i finally chose the U2442F, which was more expensive than i was initially budgeting, but a bit more future proof with an i7 cpu and 8GB ram, a higher resolution screen and with a...
Published 15 months ago by Chizo Ejindu

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard Drive Failure after 10 Months - No Customer Support.
Hello,
I bought this laptop in Feb 2013 and the hard drive failed in November 2013. I didn't buy the laptop from Amazon so not an Amazon issue. Gigabyte hardware simply isn't worth buying and worst off all, when I contacted Gigabyte support directly they refused to fix the issue. Now I have a 1000 paperweight. Avoid Gigabyte products. Stick to proper ultrabook...
Published 8 months ago by Peter H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good machine but with a few issues, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Chizo Ejindu (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte U2442F 14-inch Ultrabook (Intel Core i7 3.2GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 750GB HDD + 128GB SSD, Nvidia GT650M 2GB Graphic Card, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I've been looking for a laptop to take on holiday with me and i immediately thought of an ultrabook due to my needs of low weight, power and battery life. After a good deal of searching around i finally chose the U2442F, which was more expensive than i was initially budgeting, but a bit more future proof with an i7 cpu and 8GB ram, a higher resolution screen and with a mobile Nividia 600 series gpu, able to play modern games if and when the need arises!

The design of the machine, while not beautiful, is certainly aesthetically pleasing with the brushed aluminium lid. The backlit keyboard is fairly good although there is a very minor flex when the chicklet style keys are pressed. The screen hinges are nice and firm, and it barely flexes when opened or closed. Although the bezel does not continue the silver theme like the rest of the laptop, i think it works as it reduces any distractions from the screen itself.

The connectivity of the laptop is excellent, with 2 USB 3.0 ports and 2 USB 2.0 ports, which is pretty much best in class. It also has a proper network port so you don't need to rely on wifi, HDMI and VGA ports, and an SD card slot. Battery life is also pretty good, with average use i can see me getting around 6 hours from a full charge, however with any intensive activity like gaming, probably less than 3 hours.

All in all its a good, well made machine. I have had a few issues with the laptop, firstly you'll need to flash the bios to the latest version immediately. This is because out of the box, there is an issue which causes the battery to drain even when the laptop is switched off - it went from full to empty after being off for only a week. Flashing the bios to the latest version solves the problem. The second issue is the screen. Although it has a good resolution for this size laptop, the colour reproduction and viewing angles are not very good, and i find I'm adjusting the position more than once to try to find the best angle to view at. This is a let down on a machine costing £1100.

Overall, i'd recommend the laptop as long as you don't require an excellent screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hard Drive Failure after 10 Months - No Customer Support., 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Gigabyte U2442F 14-inch Ultrabook (Intel Core i7 3.2GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 750GB HDD + 128GB SSD, Nvidia GT650M 2GB Graphic Card, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Hello,
I bought this laptop in Feb 2013 and the hard drive failed in November 2013. I didn't buy the laptop from Amazon so not an Amazon issue. Gigabyte hardware simply isn't worth buying and worst off all, when I contacted Gigabyte support directly they refused to fix the issue. Now I have a 1000 paperweight. Avoid Gigabyte products. Stick to proper ultrabook manufactures.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews