Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed
This third series is just brilliant. The format is different from previous series. I thought I had missed something when the action at the opening of episode one is not resolved until episode eight. Acting is of a high standard but I must single out Nicola Walker, an award winning performance as far as I am concerned. Hope there will be a season four.
Published 13 months ago by Patrick Watts

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars umpffffff
the third season of a series is often the one that makes the difference and definitely hooks you ... or not. In this case, the scriptwriters seem to have got bored by their own characters and situations, which are atually boring. I wońt follow them for a fourth season.
Published 4 months ago by helene gerard


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 29 July 2013
By 
Patrick Watts "Mathis fan" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This third series is just brilliant. The format is different from previous series. I thought I had missed something when the action at the opening of episode one is not resolved until episode eight. Acting is of a high standard but I must single out Nicola Walker, an award winning performance as far as I am concerned. Hope there will be a season four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great show, 31 July 2013
By 
Andreas Bgh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Hope, they will do a series 4!
The cases are very hard and the personal storylines of Scott and Bailey are very interesting to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scott & baily, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Scott & Baily. Excellent series, great story line .Short loop & long loop story line. Buy you will enjoy it, best if you start from season 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional -, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Fast paced and well written, Acting is superior and life like. The Brits know how to capture an audience. Looking forward to more episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Strong Series, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
It is hard to believe that Scott and Bailey is already on its third series. When it hit our screens just two short years ago it was like a breath of fresh air. There are many police procedural programmes on TV these days that the majority of them seem to merge into one, but this programme was sufficiently different that it achieved a good following and further series were assured. Like the second series, this time around we had eight episodes to go with the six in the first series for a total of 22 so far.

Janet Scott (Lesley Sharpe) and Rachel Bailey (Suranne Jones) are two overworked detectives from the fictional Manchester Metropolitan Police. Although they have a somewhat tempestuous relationship, they are normally best friends. However, they are quite different in character, with Janet being the older, steadier character whilst Rachel is much more volatile although her leaps of imagination are often the factor which provides the breakthrough in difficult crimes.

In the third series, Janet and Rachel start off at a low point in their personal relationship, which remains under pressure throughout. Rachel soon has doubts about her recent marriage whilst Janet has yet to fully come to terms with her own break up. Meanwhile an interesting assortment of cases come the team's way, usually involving murder most foul. However, one of the strengths of this series is that, in a departure from the norm, the personal lives of those involved often take centre stage and this is the case for a lot of the time here. It is certainly a valid comment that there are no strong men in Scott an Bailey but personally I do not think this detracts from the entertainment.

The last episode was probably the strongest of the series and involved a dramatic kidnapping. There was some excellent acting here, particularly by Gill Murray (Amelia Bullmore) who continues to be an essential element and an excellent foil for the two ladies. I do not think a fourth series has yet been announced but I imagine it is very likely. I certainly hope so as this is a series which is one of the high spots of the TV schedule these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this series, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this series when it was first screened and have enjoyed watching it again I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars want more, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing like it - all women in power in Manchester police station. After decades of men as DIs, DCs, its amazing to see women in charge of everything - all the way up. Definitely a fantasy but so much fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is another great series. I hope they make a series 4! If you have watched series 1 and 2 and enjoyed them, this one is just as good with a great storyline going thru it. Would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping last episode, 21 July 2014
By 
Chris "Chris Walker" (Stirling, Stirlingshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott and Bailey - Series 3 (DVD)
I saw this series when it was first aired on TV but watching all 8 episodes over a weekend (5 on Saturday and 3 + extras on Sunday) was an experience.
I hadn't realised just how cleverly the links between the cases and Rachel and Sean's love life were all linked in.
Also we first came across Nicola Walker's character in episode 1 and it all came to a dramatic climax in the last one.
I think this was a very powerful performance by Nicola and really deserved a BAFTA nomination.
(She did get one for "The Last Tango in Halifax" but I think she was dreadfully overlooked for her performance in "Scott and Bailey. Hopefully there will be another series as the characters are too life like - I feel that they could be living I this area - to have them just stop being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep up the good writing!, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Suranne and Lesley work so well together! The other major supporting and main characters complement each and everyone!
Got to say though I don't know if the interview techniques used by the actors are a result of researching their roles or has they personally saw as a way to portray the character but they made me sit up and take notice, reminds me of the medical profession and how they have to detach them saves emotionally from what's happening! Hope there's a few more series to come! Keep up the good writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD]
Scott & Bailey - Series 3 [DVD] by Juliet May (DVD - 2013)
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews