Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Initially unhappy with vendor but they did come back and product is great
I bought this a couple of weeks ago. On the plus side, the picture quality is great. I had a few issues with not being able to change the Blu-Ray region but the vendor got back to me a after a couple of days... Make sure the quick start is set to OFF and the turn off the machine with the disc tray empty and hold down 1 for A etc while powering on with the button on the...
Published 14 months ago by Richard H Kennaugh

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much hassle- buy one locally
Fantastic quality and easy set up- BUT it keeps turning it's self off every 30 minutes through the film (and, yes, I did disable auto shut-off, about 50 times!) Also, it will lock in 'wait' mode. So don't bother, or get it from your local shop so you can take it back and ask for instructions. Shame, I really loved this player until it started to go wrong. Check the...
Published 3 months ago by bobby spanners


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Initially unhappy with vendor but they did come back and product is great, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
Richard H Kennaugh (Amagansett, New York, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
I bought this a couple of weeks ago. On the plus side, the picture quality is great. I had a few issues with not being able to change the Blu-Ray region but the vendor got back to me a after a couple of days... Make sure the quick start is set to OFF and the turn off the machine with the disc tray empty and hold down 1 for A etc while powering on with the button on the unit and the zone will change... I think with a decent quality cable this is almost every bit as good as a a supposed high end player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one Amazon, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
K. Bromley "The bears" (Nuneaton, warwickshire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
I'm very happy with this product as I've experienced difficulty in the past in obtaining a all zone/ multi region disc player, Amazon you have triumphed again!
Many thanks
Ken Bromley
28/1/2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does more than I have wanted to use as yet., 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
Almost plug and play the registration a pain and the optional services via internet not of interest .But that is personal choice ,the machine does what it is advertised to do very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
I took a long time to choose thismachine because I was not quite clear on how much it would do, but I thought I would just get it and try it out. So far it has done quite well for me. I just wish it could play all the different bluray regions - I think for this price it should! All the 3D and wi-fi cannot make up for anything if I can't play all blurays on my expensive machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warranty only 90 days, 19 May 2014
By 
K. J. Fry "Inverness" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
Only just received it today and it plays Region 'B' okay don't have any 'A' or 'C' yet to try.
However I did notice that the warranty is only 90 days, the mod means that you lose the Sony 1 year warranty.
Not too sure how long Amazon would look after it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sony multi region dvd and blu ray, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
Loving....
This. I am not technical, yet i mastered most of the intricities of this useful bit of kit. Using the internet and being able to upload films is really useful. As for the picture quality... 2nd to none. Even my old DVD s look as though they have been remastered. blu ray is even better. The remote is so easy to use, even my little boy operates it with ease. Have not even used ALL the functions as yet. One of the best purchases I've made. Did my homework and alas, it paid off. Cannot recommend this product enough. BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little blu-ray / DVD player, 7 July 2013
By 
Jan Poulsen (Arlinton, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
The region free function works perfect and it's easy to switch region. Good picture and it works well with my Samsung TV. Only problem so far is that it will not upgrade firmware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Product, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
I had a very bad experience in the past, purchasing a multi region blue ray player. It did not work, was not as advertised and poor communication from seller. This experience made me extremely paranoid about the possibility of buying another one. I am soooooooooooooo glad I did now. This product IS as advertised, it DOES what it says it does and it was delivered earlier than expected, which was a bonus. I am incredibly pleased with this product, and my thanks go out to the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... whatched a few films on it and all looking great, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
Working well whatched a few films on it and all looking great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SONY 2D/3D BDP-S5100 All Zone Multi Region DVD Blu ray Player w Built in 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi - 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 COAX, 1 ETHERNET. 100~240V 50/60Hz Int'l Version with EU/UK Power Plug (2m HDMi Cable Included) (Electronics)
Excellent buy that I would not be without
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews