Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
131
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2013
Something of a phenomenon in the US, Parks & Recreation seems to be almost unknown in the UK, but it's worth seeking out. In fact, it's worth buying a multi-region DVD player for if that's your only option!

Set in the Parks & Recreation Dept of small town Pawnee, Indiana, this mockumentary-style show is a masterpiece of ensemble comedy that evolves with every series, but is consistently hilarious.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Parks and Recreation marches on into season 4 and it's still one of the funniest things on tv (or DVD/Blu Ray/streaming/whatever) with the best ensemble cast.

It's more of the same really, in a good way. Leslie running for city council is the season long story arch this time around and all the usual suspects are on board. Joining the cast this year in smaller roles are Paul Rudd and Kathryn Hahn as Leslie's opposition and his campaign manager, both are excellent. Louis CK pops in again and there's a healthy dose of Jean Ralphio this season, which is nice.

Other season highlights include Andy's bucket list, the worlds smallest park, the trial of Leslie Knope and Adam Scott (brilliantly) dressed as Batman. Four years in and it's still brilliant stuff, get involved.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
This really is very good. It is delightful to watch. The characters are warm, humorous and generally kind. It is amusing and then there are scenes which - apologies for the cliché - surprise by being laugh out loud (LOL - yes, I hate myself for using).
It's possible I have missed it, but no sight nor sound of this being aired on the BBC or Sky. If not, why not?
The writing and acting is superb. It may take a while to get use to the storyline and characters, but do preserver. If you don't then like it, no problem. But for those whose find they have discovered a gem: welcome!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Search the net for any clip of Ron Swanson or Jean Ralphio. Watch that clip. Return here and purchase. Done.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
What is not to like about Parks and Rec? I have bought every series of Parks and Rec available and have enjoyed every one of them. It's maybe a bit trashy (although is it??) but who cares, I could stay in all weekend and watch every episode back to back. It has also made me want to engage with nature more, which must be a good thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Just love it!!
like so many great USA TV SERIES, that 1 is underated!!
So funny and very different than the 1 you can watch on TV nowadays!!
A pity the show will be canceled after the 7th season and will be reduced to only 13 episodes but enjoy that show as long as you can!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Parks and Rec is by far my favorite comedy of recent years. Season 4 easily maintained that run for me; however I have to be honest and say I found the second half of the series a little less funny than the first half. There are 22 episodes and I rate the first 11 at 5 stars and the second at 4 stars. Indeed I think the first episodes are the funniest ever, they really hit the ground running. Unfortunately I found the standard fell off a bit as Leslie's campaign for Councilwoman got underway in the second half of the series; perhaps this was due to having to follow a linear story line to the final episode, which fortunately returned to its initial greatness. Don't get me wrong though; this is still great comedy by anyone's standard.
There are welcome returns for most of the characters we've seen before, although too brief for some such as Shauna Malwae-Tweep and Tammy Two. Unfortunately Joan Callamezzo is played by a new actress who I didn't think was as good as the original. Paul Rudd does a good job as the ineffectual Bobby Newport and Kathryn Hahn is a real highlight as Bobby's campaign manager. I'd also like to mention Chris Pratt and Aubrey Plaza as Andy and April, who really stand out in this series.
The extras are a little weaker than previous series; the gag reel isn't as funny and there are no commentaries at all.
So it may have lost a star but that is a testament to how strong previous series have been and in relation to its own high standards.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
By now you probably know if you like this show. If so, here's a load more of it. There's plenty of deleted scenes and a few other extras that show of the depth of quality in the production.

It'll be on BBC Four in the autumn but why wait?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
My rating is purely for the show, not for the service. I love this show, it makes me laugh out loud without fail every episode. However, I was very very sad to discover that the season 4 episodes I just purchased on instant video are not the whole season and I can't seem to figure out why the other ten episodes are missing. I would have bought the DVD had I known.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Another fantastic season from the best comedy on TV right now - smart, warm, funny with great, likleable characters and outstanding comic performances from Amy Poehler, Nick Offerman and Rob Lowe in particular. If you like the US Office you'll love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)