Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy instant networking at home or work
I love Devolo kit. No cable runs around the house - just use your sockets. Tip: accept the speed you get and dont expect 500mbps. 180-190 is fair and is usually down to noise and filters on the line. They work well both with Mac and PC and make a house network setup easily. Download the latest cockpit software for both OS on the Devolo main site. If firmware upgrades are...
Published 3 months ago by Mark

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crippled to 10/100 Speeds !!!
Whereas I am happy to state that this Powerline Adaptor easily distributes network and internet access around my home with a minimum of fuss, I am both shocked and annoyed to find out that the adaptor is crippled by an ethernet adaptor which is only 10/100mbps.

To explain, the DLAN 500 Powerline system creates a network within your electricity supply which is...
Published 10 months ago by J. Wolfe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crippled to 10/100 Speeds !!!, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
J. Wolfe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
Whereas I am happy to state that this Powerline Adaptor easily distributes network and internet access around my home with a minimum of fuss, I am both shocked and annoyed to find out that the adaptor is crippled by an ethernet adaptor which is only 10/100mbps.

To explain, the DLAN 500 Powerline system creates a network within your electricity supply which is *theoretically capable* of transmitting data at 500mbps, but since the ethernet adaptor is only 10/100mbps, the maximum speed which the device will ever transmit data is only 100mbps. This is a bottleneck which can never be overcome.

The main reason I bought these devices was to backup to a NAS (network) drive. When the NAS is connected directly to my computer (gigabit connection), I easily reached transfer speeds of 36MB/sec. When connecting the NAS via the DLAN500 Powerline, I struggled to get 6MB/sec. That's about 1/6th of the speed.

6MB/sec is fine for downloading from the internet or streaming video to any of your devices around the home, but it is completely inadequate for backing up to a NAS!! A 1TB backup would take more than 2 days at this speed, rather than just 7 hours at the faster speed.

Why did Devolo create a device which was so crippled from the offset?

I now see that there are DLAN 650 devices starting to come out which have true gigabit connections, so these should correct the deficiencies of these DLAN 500 devices. It looks like I will have to spend more £££ to upgrade my network, but I should never have had to do this !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy instant networking at home or work, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
I love Devolo kit. No cable runs around the house - just use your sockets. Tip: accept the speed you get and dont expect 500mbps. 180-190 is fair and is usually down to noise and filters on the line. They work well both with Mac and PC and make a house network setup easily. Download the latest cockpit software for both OS on the Devolo main site. If firmware upgrades are required then they will automatically be carried out in cockpit. Dont forget: change the default network password while in cockpit (it does all Devolo devices on your network at once). Work with 200 and upwards Devolo devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
A big improvement in our Internet speeds (over the old Devolo plugs). Makes streaming practical and I can recommend it without reservation (up to now)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - does what it says on the box!, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
Having just bought a Smart TV and upgraded Sky to HD and 3d, we found that our wifi was buffering when trying to watch streamed content. After a bit of research we decided that the hardwired homeplug was the best solution - and it was.

I moved the router to the main phone socket for the best signal, plugged one dLan 500 into the router, installed another at the TV and Sky Box and the 3rd at the PC. A perfect wired network.

So pleased with it that I have since bought a dLan 500 wifi homeplug to extend the range of the wifi in the house!

I definitely recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay but too noisy..., 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
Too loud noise (sounds like an old mechanical HDD heads positioning on a hard swap process:) in comparison to bigger devolo models. Not too comfortable when you work in silent room (and have silent SSD drive) - sound confuses -one starting to think that the system is doing a heavy swap :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars network kit, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
well impressed with this saves wires going all over the place behind the tv for internet wires going into it along with free view and blu ray player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These items are very stylish and well made. They ..., 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
These items are very stylish and well made. They work extremely well are certainly worth the slightly more expensive tag. However, if you require faster transmission or are running many devices, then purchase the larger rated Devolo system which unfortunately will cost you considerably more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good. Used this to replace previous devolo item which ..., 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
Very good. Used this to replace previous devolo item which kept tripping my electric box. works well through house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These are really good cost a little bit, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
These are really good cost a little bit, but really worth the money you spend on them, they are easy to set up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and speed is good, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit (Accessory)
Easy to use and speed is good, had hoped it might have been better but much improved over my previous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Network Kit
£69.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews