Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does just what it says on the box
Fast easy setup just plug it in push button done, you do require a starter kit as well, please note this is just an add on.
Published 9 months ago by Alan Hopkins

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crippled to 10/100 Speeds !!!
Whereas I am happy to state that this Powerline Adaptor easily distributes network and internet access around my home with a minimum of fuss, I am both shocked and annoyed to find out that the adaptor is crippled by an ethernet adaptor which is only 10/100mbps.

To explain, the DLAN 500 Powerline system creates a network within your electricity supply which is...
Published 2 months ago by J. Wolfe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crippled to 10/100 Speeds !!!, 23 Jun 2014
By 
J. Wolfe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
Whereas I am happy to state that this Powerline Adaptor easily distributes network and internet access around my home with a minimum of fuss, I am both shocked and annoyed to find out that the adaptor is crippled by an ethernet adaptor which is only 10/100mbps.

To explain, the DLAN 500 Powerline system creates a network within your electricity supply which is *theoretically capable* of transmitting data at 500mbps, but since the ethernet adaptor is only 10/100mbps, the maximum speed which the device will ever transmit data is only 100mbps. This is a bottleneck which can never be overcome.

The main reason I bought these devices was to backup to a NAS (network) drive. When the NAS is connected directly to my computer (gigabit connection), I easily reached transfer speeds of 36MB/sec. When connecting the NAS via the DLAN500 Powerline, I struggled to get 6MB/sec. That's about 1/6th of the speed.

6MB/sec is fine for downloading from the internet or streaming video to any of your devices around the home, but it is completely inadequate for backing up to a NAS!! A 1TB backup would take more than 2 days at this speed, rather than just 7 hours at the faster speed.

Why did Devolo create a device which was so crippled from the offset?

I now see that there are DLAN 650 devices starting to come out which have true gigabit connections, so these should correct the deficiencies of these DLAN 500 devices. It looks like I will have to spend more to upgrade my network, but I should never have had to do this !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does just what it says on the box, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
Fast easy setup just plug it in push button done, you do require a starter kit as well, please note this is just an add on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
Does the job, what can you say. Works out of the box. On my PC the devices do not appear in the Develo Cockpit software. Develo and I cannot seem to resolve this issue. No big deal as they work just fine.
Beware of the Amazon page for this item, the photo with the adapter in front of the box photo, along with the description "duo" implies that you get two adapters. You don't!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 26 April 2014
By 
Analytica (Newport, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
I already had the dLAN200 AVeasy, and wanted an extra adapter to extend the network signal upstairs as the WiFi was only connecting to a laptop intermittently. By pressing the small button by the LAN socket on the adapter connected to the router, then running upstairs and pressing the similar one on the new adapter (in less than 2 minutes) the laptop was connected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but Ethernet 10/100 (mbps), 31 Oct 2013
By 
S. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
After the first adapter made a loud squealing noise, a replacement was issued by Amazon that appears to be quiet, as usual, excellent service. However, the transmission capabilities of this device are;

Ethernet 10/100 (mbps)
Powerline 200/500 (mbps)

My dLAN 500 AVmini adapters are 1.0 Gbps, something to bear in mind if a 1Gbps network is desirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No fuss, plug and play, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
Ive got a few of these, over my 3 storey house, they work like a dream. Plug it in, off it goes...I only seem to get 250mbps, but better than a dodgy wi-fi signal and no wires to worry about.

And a really low price..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
Excellent product. Just does what it says on the box. Thoroughly recommend for anyone who has problems with wifi reception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, and easy to install, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
Had to reset the security on the whole dLAN network with the additional plug as it couldn't be seen from the Cockpit application otherwise, so took longer than I'd planned to install. Other than that, i've had not problems. I will move to Cat 5e or Cat 6 at some point as these have a lag to code and decode / modulate, but this is a very good stop-gap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, works perfectly, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
Quick and easy to set up out of the box, works well - obviously you need at least one more unit to go with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 500mbps are falsely advertised, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter (Accessory)
These devices are falsely advertised as 500Mbps devices.
As they only have a 10/100Mbps ethernet port you will never get more than 100Mbps out of them.

As usual big numbers to fool the general public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devolo dLAN 500 Duo Adapter
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews