Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super device
I suspect the reviewers who gave this item just the one star, work for competitors to Polar because personally I am seriously impressed.

Lightweight and stylish and always attracts positive comments.

I use it not only for everyday wear but in the gym for strength training and aerobic activities such as rowing and running.

You can customise...
Published on 29 April 2010 by Rosanante1

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing product and service
I bought this device looking for a more advanced heart rate monitor. I had previously used a lower Polar model and was very pleased, I wanted to upgrade the version I had and was looking for a device which I would use for a significant time. I was happy to choose Polar as they had a reputation for good customer service.

When the device first arrived I was very...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Chappers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super device, 29 April 2010
I suspect the reviewers who gave this item just the one star, work for competitors to Polar because personally I am seriously impressed.

Lightweight and stylish and always attracts positive comments.

I use it not only for everyday wear but in the gym for strength training and aerobic activities such as rowing and running.

You can customise the training for your needs via the website and train against that, or you can set it to whatever type of training you're currently doing and monitor and record your progress. It even tells you when to start your next set.

The chest strap is comfortable and I am not aware of it even when playing tennis. The batteries can be replaced in both watch and strap by yourself now, but I've had it for 4 months and there's no sign of any battery problem. I honestly expect it to last at least 12-18 months like my other F60.

I have two minor issues with the watch however. Firstly the buckle side of the strap is significantly shorter that the 'holey' side which means the watch swivels round my wrist so that the buckle defaults to the middle. This means the watch also swivels accordingly and sits slightly off-centre on the outer side of the arm. I like to wear my watches loose and I have big wrists so maybe that's just me.
Secondly, the 'return' button on the lower left side is hard to push in. I suspect that it may be part of the design to prevent accidental resets, in any case, it's not a bother, just not so easy to press the button in.

Other than that, it's an excellent purchase. If you shop around it can be purchased for under the £200 mark.

ps. I just got the trophy avatar on the watch for a good week's training!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic product!, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did a lot of research on Polar products before I purchased the FT80 from Amazon. I visited several retailers and compared the black and white faces side by side. Without doubt the black face is by far the better looking, it looks sexy and sleek whereas in my opinion the white face looks a bit tacky and reminiscent of old fashioned cheap digital watches. When my FT80 arrived (the day after ordering!) I immediately tested it inside and outside in normal daylight conditions and I have to say the dial was, if anything, easier to read than a standard white faced digital watch. Admittedly during low light conditions the dial is not so easy to read...but that is simply rectified by either pressing the backlight button, or bringing the watch into close contact with the belt transmitter so the backlight automatically comes on (which is a very pleasant luminous green colour).
Having worn my FT80 for over a week now I'm so pleased I chose the black face version, i've already had admiring comments about its looks.
But by far the reason why I'm so pleased with this product is because its actually saved my life. During exercise recently I noticed that the display was showing an abnormally high pulse rate, I set the display to show in graphical form how my heart was beating over the past minute or so and it showed my bpm had been remaining high....even after resting from exercise. After a couple of hours of monitoring how high my pulse was I contacted my doctor, who told me to call an ambulance. In hospital I was monitored over a 24 hour period and diagnosed with an atrial flutter which could have proved fatal if not noticed quickly and treated.
The Flowlink accessory which is supplied with the FT80 is simply a joy to use. I connected it to the USB port on my MacBook Pro, placed the FT80 face down on it and literally within seconds I was able to see in glorious full screen mode all my data...well done Polar for making this procedure work so well.
Just a couple of tiny niggles, firstly I really wish Polar would make their firmware updates user downloadable via Flowlink instead of having to send the product back to their service centre, I've not needed to update my firmware yet but if I ever have to I just cannot imagine being without my FT80 for a few days. Secondly, I'd love to have the option of a fabric strap because the existing plastic strap, although practical, is sometimes very fiddly to fasten, especially for those blesssed with less nimble fingers.
All in all, although a little more expensive than other similar products, its worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polar FT80 - Great Training Tool, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Robert (Camberley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've used the FT80 for over a year now, and so I decided to share my experience of this device.

The Polar FT80 is quite an expensive gadget, more so if you add the GPS and Foot pod units. Speaking from a male point of view I think it is a nice looking watch with a nice clear display.

In terms of the functions I've used it for running outdoors with the GPS unit, and this is quite a nice option to have. Seeing your speed/pace on the watch helps you hit your targets, or if you are training for HR zones you can see which one you're in. The one thing missing form the GPS unit is the fact it doesn't map your run, showing you the splits, so I use an iPhone app for that bit.
I've used the foot pod for indoor running on a treadmill and it seems pretty accurate once its calibrated.

I do a few different sports other than running and it works well for Badminton, Squash, Kayaking and general cardio workouts. I have done interval training using heart rate zones as a guide and that has proven quite effective for that.

I haven't mastered using the strength training function yet despite reading the manual. It tracks your heart rate data just fine, but I found the bit where its supposed to tell you to start the next set a bit hit and miss. I might just be using it wrong though.

I have set up the "Star Training Programme" for myself and that is quite a good way to aim for some targets. Getting a nice trophy at the end of each week when you achieve your targets is a great boost for motivation.

I've used the fitness test just to check my progress and it gives you a sense of progress, and the relaxation test is pretty similar.

I had no issue synchronising my data from the watch and I've used it on a PC and an iMac.

I quite like the Polar Personal Trainer web site and they've recently re-vamped it. It gives you quite a lot of data about your workout so you can get quite deeply into how you're progressing.

The GPS unit can use a lot of batteries up too, so I used rechargeable ones in the end. I also just change the battery on the watch unit and it retained all my data.

Overall this is a really helpful gadget because it lets you know if you're working hard enough or not. When the battery died on mine I felt totally lost not being able to check the data after the workout. I'm just so used to having it there now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daddy!!, 15 Sep 2010
I own one of the Polar FT80. I must admit that I only got it because it looked so cool, but once I started to use it I realized it was a serious bit of kit! What you get are all the normal heart rate functions I've come to expect from Polar but also a newer Star Training function. This gives you goals, feed back and advice all automatic. I'm a Personal Trainer and this could put me out of business!! Also other great features include a feature that tells you how many reps and when for weights, a relax feature that monitors your fitness when you have bown time and relax, Fitness Test, VO2max prediction plus a GPS speed & distance sensor option.
All these great functions make it a winner but as I said you may want it just because it looks cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing product and service, 28 Nov 2011
I bought this device looking for a more advanced heart rate monitor. I had previously used a lower Polar model and was very pleased, I wanted to upgrade the version I had and was looking for a device which I would use for a significant time. I was happy to choose Polar as they had a reputation for good customer service.

When the device first arrived I was very pleased, it worked as described and I had no problems with connectivity. I used the device only as directed when I was working out in the gym and it worked without problem for the first three months.

After three months the monitor stopped working, there was no response when I pressed any of the buttons and the unit was effectively dead. As the unit was under warranty, I contacted Polar to see if the device could be repaired. Initially the service was good; I sent the product to them and expected to be notified when I could receive a replacement. However I soon received a call saying that they would not be replacing the device as they viewed that the device was water-damaged and therefore not covered under warranty.

This was a surprise to me as I had never taken the device anywhere near water. I asked them how this was supposed to have occurred and was told that I would have had to have used it for swimming or have held it underwater. I had never done any such thing. I can only surmise that the "water damage" was actually caused by sweating through normal use. I find it unacceptable that a heart rate monitor can break when used for exercise and is therefore a very poor product. I explained the situation to Polar but they were not interested and returned the device to me.

I feel that the product is poor and that the level of service I received was even worse. Amazon were much more helpful and arranged a replacement, however I would have preferred a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent equipment & very informative website, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT80 Heart Rate Monitor and Sports Watch (Sports)
I had been researching several devices and chose this device after comparing Polar devices online. I wanted a device to monitor exactly how many calories I actually am using, as I didn't believe that I was actually burning 600 -800 calories in spinning as advertised. I am not, but I am burning about 350 calories (which I suspected anyway).

The device was easy to use and set up. I was very impressed with how the data from the watch uploads to the internet. I expected it to be advertised as easy, but frustrating if you don't feel confident with technology. But all I do is log in to my personal information on the website, put the watch face down in the USB "dish" and within a second the data is uploaded to the online calendar.

The device also links to the gym equipment so I can see what my heart rate is.

I've only just had the device and am getting used to it. I have been using the excellent website a lot as it does have a glossary and articles to help you monitor progress, set targets and get the most out of yourself and your device.

Would I buy Polar again? Definitely the device is easy and the website is very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good device. Built well, highly functional and helps you maintain better records of your activity. Looks pretty cool too!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really great watch for tracking the effort you put in during training. By calculating your VO2 max, and having your weight stored, it can give you accurate reading son how many calories you are burning in exercise.

I found that I was burning way more than I thought, and this game me a much more accurate picture of my training plan.

The online tool at the polar website, and the flow-link wireless connection tool are a nice touch, and superseded the tracking methods I was using previously,

The thing looks pretty cool too, I have to be honest.. and I found myself keeping it on away from training and using it as my main watch..

Build quality is great, if feels really solid, and the screen took a few scrapes on walls without marking at all. My only criticism here is that the pins in the strap came out once, detaching the strap completely. To be fair, this was while 'shadow boxing' during kick boxing, so no one should have been connecting with me, but they accidentally did. So it did take a bit of a whack, but still no more so than I would expect it to handle as a smorts device. Easily fixed, although a little fiddly with the springs and all.

The HRM is comfortable on the chest, although VERY cold to put on! soon warms up though. strap is adjustable and has a convenient flap so stop the clasp digging into you.

Bit of advice here, when you are not training un-clip the HRM from its band. This stops the battery running down necessarily.

The back light doesn't stay on very long, I would have preferred this to have a longer duration.

All in all, I like the product and would recommend it, but it loses a star for the strap pin issue and back light duration.

Hope this is helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All in all this is a wonderful device..., 5 Oct 2014
By 
Stella (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
My husband cycles for both commuting and recreation and enters several sportives throughout the year. He wears this daily to monitor his fitness but obviously it functions perfectly as a regular watch too. Not only does it look stylish (and he gets comments on it regularly) it carries an impressive range of features and takes all the guesswork out of his training goals.

When the sportive dates get close he ramps things up a bit with his training and he can see at a glance which area's need improving and which are reaping benefits. It's such a marvelous device once it's calibrated to the user.

He uses the Polar Universal Bike Mount too and finds that very helpful to keep an eye on things with this attached to the handle bars without having to pull up sleeves/adjust gloves, etc. to check it on his wrist..

All in all this is a wonderful device and in the unlikely event that it were to become faulty he wouldn't hesitate to get another to replace it. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Triumph of Style over Substance, 11 Dec 2009
By 
William K. James "will_wiggle" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Looks great. Slim and lots of great features. Sadly about as robust as a wet paper bag. Problems are numerous and too frequent and well complained about on the forum to be a one off or problem with just my watch (as Polar would like everyone to think).

1. Batteries needed replacing straight out of the box and twice subsequently in watch and transmitter. Battery life is basicaly awful. I understand from Polar themselves that the battery specifciation changed at the last minute and battery life is only actually 10 months (not the 12 months in the manual). In fact with any frequent use battery life is barely a month

2. The belt has a quite detailed care program involving hand washing and there are numerous posts on the forum about issues with transmitter problems linked to the belt. There is a survey on the forum that indicates over 70% of people have issues with the belt!

3. The watch itself resets without warning of just jams about once a month.

4. The synching is very dubious and only works intermittently.

5. Customer service is a bit hit and miss. They appear to know there are quite a few issues with the FT80 but do their best to play them down by reference to individual unit fault; however, it seems clear from the forums and other reviews that there is a pretty generalised design fault with these watches.

Overall impression is that this was rushed out a bit and is not really fit for purpose and certainly not for anything overly strenuous. Very annoyed and upset and will be returning - as soon as someone in Customer Services deigns to get back to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top notch Heart Rate Monitor, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent heart rate monitor. You can select weight training, it beeps at you and tells you when to start your next set, and shows your heart rate on a graph, which is a great way to monitor when you are ready to go again. Then you can also select cardio, and you can see your current heart rate easily with the large digits, and it also displays if you are in your upper HR zone, medium or lower. One other good thing is that you can program in your weekly goal to either maintain, improve or maximise your fitness, which you can easily check on during the week. This motivates you to exercise cause you want to achieve the target. Then it gives you a summary at the end of the week, all of which can be download and reviewed. All in all a great watch. Also compared to most HR monitors this one is sleek and futuristic looking. The only small negative would be in low light conditions the negative screen is a tad tricky to read, but that's what the backlight is for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews