Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich in Reference
I purchased "Learning Lenormand" via Kindle and it is a pleasure to read on my iPad. I already have a love of Tarot and have been exploring other branches of the cartomancy tree.

The background of Lenormand is thorough and fully inclusive, covering the cards links to Mademoiselle Lenmornad and the evolution of le Petite Lenormand from its roots based...
Published 19 months ago by Tahlia

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK book.
The author seems to have tried a bit too hard with this book. For those who want plain and simple explanations of the cards, this book is not it. Poems and references to by-gone ages are not really what I was looking for. I have already worked with these cards and have another book which I found more to the point. I personally feel the explanations of card meanings...
Published 19 months ago by celtic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich in Reference, 24 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased "Learning Lenormand" via Kindle and it is a pleasure to read on my iPad. I already have a love of Tarot and have been exploring other branches of the cartomancy tree.

The background of Lenormand is thorough and fully inclusive, covering the cards links to Mademoiselle Lenmornad and the evolution of le Petite Lenormand from its roots based on a German card game, as well some of the traditions of cartomancy divination through delightful poems and text excerpts. Compared to Tarot, the history of Lenormand cards is pretty straightforward and modern!

Katz and Goodwin include detailed, step by step guides to explain how to read Lenormand. They give examples of different card meanings and encourage the reader to meditate and explore what the symbols of the cards mean to each individual. The layouts range from 1 card readings, 3-5 card readings and the Grand Tableau- the guides to these are so well written that it feels like the authors are in the room with you explaining a layout over your shoulder.

The differences between Tarot and Lenormand are clearly (and lovingly!) explained which helped me to understand Lenormand in its own unique form of cartomancy.

This may not be an "easy read" for those looking for a pick-up-and-go style of divination book, but this is definitely for those who have a thirst of knowledge. "Learning Lenormand" is suitable for complete cartomancy beginners and for experienced Tarot readers.

"Learning Lenormand" is a wonderfully written, in-depth and helpful companion for this fascinating and elusive fortune-telling branch of the divination tree. Thank you Marcus and Tali for a truly treasurable resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are thinking of buying a book on Lenormand, buy this one!, 15 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly excellent book on the Lenormand cards. It is written is a user-friendly style, so interest never flags but its in-depth information on the history and how to work with Lenormand is just great! It is such a useful mine of information which reflects the huge amount of time the authors have obviously spent on researching primary material and resources so that as they say, it is both traditional but has great relevance for modern life. It is especially welcome as there are hardly any books out there on the subject as yet. I am sure you will love this book just as much as I did - don't miss it, the authors have created a gem I or should I say, a star !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK book., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Lenormand: Traditional Fortune Telling for Modern Life (Kindle Edition)
The author seems to have tried a bit too hard with this book. For those who want plain and simple explanations of the cards, this book is not it. Poems and references to by-gone ages are not really what I was looking for. I have already worked with these cards and have another book which I found more to the point. I personally feel the explanations of card meanings can be too convoluted and beginners won't necessarily understand where the authors are coming from. That said, the authors really know their stuff, but have maybe gone too far into the past. As readers we need to move forward and take the images on the cards to new levels. This is just an opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Lenormand: Traditional Fortune Telling for Modern Life (Kindle Edition)
A very comprehensive and authoritative book on a previously obscure subject that has now become very popular. Thoroughly recommended for all students of Lenormand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasurable development that takes away any doubt, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This amazing book offers guidance, direction and clarity as well as clear information. It is a huge achievement in it's field and sets a high standard of excellence. See how many Lenomrand cards you can spot in that write up !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Luckily I only paid a minimal fee plus postage and since purchasing I have found two really great books relating to modern situa, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this book hard going. Not user friendly. Luckily I only paid a minimal fee plus postage and since purchasing I have found two really great books relating to modern situations with guidance on timings which are very user friendly. However it does have to be remembered that not all books will apply to all people from a learning point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Learning Lenormond Marcus Katz, 25 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wouldn't recommend this book for beginners try some YouTube videos our Britta Kienle, I was disappointed in this book, I enjoyed the history section about Mlle Lenormond but that was it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and interesting worth the money xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews