Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars216
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2013
You will love it as long as you do not expect historical accuracy! Due to its setting in ancient Rome, this "sitcom" can explore some really surprising and original comedic moments (ever had an erotic vase?). I also like the weird mix between modernity (work in an office) and transplanting it in an antique setting, with a despotic boss and scheming co-workers. The humor is unapologeticly immature at times, which is refreshing! In my opinion, this show is absolutely hilarious!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
It's wonderfully written, strong, solid performances, and the 'feral northerner' Groomio is a stand out.
Can't recommend it enough.
Smart, funny, written by good people, made by good people, let's hope there are many more.
One of the best new comedies around.
Watch out for Groomio's assessment of the odds of winning the lottery, that alone is a line worthy of this recommendation.
See it now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Imagine Up Pompeii meets Men Behaving Badly and you get a fair flavour of what this is about.Some outstanding characters(step forward Grumio,Landlord & Flavia) well supported by the rest of a strong cast.Some unlikely situations,but very well written and hugely enjoyable;also featuring excellent cameos from Bryan Murphy,Alex MacQueen and others.All in all,lots of funny things on the way to The Forum!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Plebs is a fun sitcom about two poor fellows in ancient Rom + their slave, Grumio. Grumio is my favourite, because of his lack of brains and his horrible accent. The plots could have been set anywhere and anywhen, so if you are looking for historical accuracy, you will have to look very carefully. The plots are, however, great fun (but a bit blue), the actors very good and the settings are great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Cracking series, really hope there's a second series with the same cast, Grumio is the star of the show he has some cracking one liners and real belly laugh facial expressions, for me i'd say very similar to rowan atkinson & lee evens doesn't even have to say anything just pulls a face and your laughing. the rest of the cast are great aswell I really recommend this series to anybody
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Loved this when it was on T.V. now we can watch it over and over a really funny series. Fast service all good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
Kept catching trailers for the 3rd series on TV which made me laugh and thought I'd give it a try with series 1. It is funny and very well observed, using identifiable modern situations/themes etc (like a 'office' water cooler being an actual person with a jug of water) but transposing them into Roman times. Comparisons have been drawn with the In-Betweeners but I think this is far superior in most ways. The cast are better (brilliant Doon MacKichan), the story-lines (although still with dirty humour) are funnier and sharper and the production values are very extravagant and impressive (you get a lot for your money in Bulgaria!). Some guest appearances, like Danny Dyer are just great bonuses too. I can see why there is a 3rd series and am looking forward to getting the second and the third and even a fourth?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Plebs is like a Roman- time version of the Inbetweeners and it had me laughing through every episode. Just like in the inbetweeners i loved the way they have a not so bright character who tends to annoy his friends. Also the DVD extras we're really funny as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
funny funny funny, one of the best comedy’s to come out of GB in recent times, modern day speak put into roman times what is not to like, well written and acted and produced and a good present for all ages above 15, a modern day carry on
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Love this series! Fab to watch over and over! Delivery was very punctual!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)