Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album !!!!, 15 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I think this is the best album so far from Bring me The Horizon. Love all the songs and lyrics, it is a must buy !!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Me the Horizon change their sound for the better, resulting in a powerful and explosive album., 19 July 2014
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I've followed Bring Me the Horizon since Suicide Season; I never saw them as being the generic metalcore group that haters make them out to be and have produced three killer albums of intense and raw metalcore energy with progressive leanings. Their debut album Count Your Blessings was a terrible album with generic and laughable deathcore numbers but Suicide Season saw a stylistic change that worked generally very well whilst There Is a Hell developed their sound terrifically with some non-metalcore influences that produced an interesting sound that could rank alongside the likes of Dillinger Escape Plan and Architects. With Sempiternal, the band once again further their sound with electronic influences and Oli Sykes using cleaner vocals which work great on 'Can You Feel My Heart' which features some amazing electro breakdowns and Oli delivering some emotive screams and singing. 'Sleepwalking' and 'Go to Hell For Heaven's Sake' also showcase the new sound whilst the band return to basics on tracks like 'Shadow Moses' and 'Crooked Young' which are still amazing to listen. Sempiternal is a step in the right direction for BMtH and really has a great energy and level of emotion to it inspired by Oli's personal experiences. Hopefully, the band will continue down this path and produce more terrific albums like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album yet, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all I love this band!! This album is one of their best yet, the band have gone in a bit of a different direction but in a very good way. They've become more accessible yet heavier all at the same time and lyrically this is also a fantastic album. A must buy for any metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The New Improved BMTH, 17 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I never liked this band, I had them pegged as snotty youngsters with a penchant for making a cacophonous din that was not music to my ears. From the evidence of this album it appears they've grown up, dropped the challenge of being as loud and fast as possible and finally got the muse. This album sees a farewell to their previous metalcore leanings which have been replaced by genuine well crafted songs. By normal standards this is still a noisy album but there are melodies and real songs here. The main change is in the vocals, you can follow the words now and the dropping of the screamed delivery reveals a vocalist who can actually sing and convey emotion. Musically it is completely different, a new member on keyboards and electronics was a great move, widening the sound which is cinematic at times, atmospheric opening track 'Can You Feel My Heart' is a superb beginning, it show cases the new sound brilliantly and immediately. The guitars are less to the fore and much more melodic, the new sound is far superior and the addition of well written songs makes for a very decent release. Improved musicianship, vocals and song writing were bound to make a difference for the better but this is way beyond what anyone could have hoped for. This is such a departure from what they were known for that they are now a completely different band and this album proves the new BMTH are pretty damn good. A huge leap forward, nice one lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!!!, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece, I kid you not! From the opening track, to the last note on final track, you are listening to a classic!! I love bmth, and this album is more singing than shouty of previous albums, but that takes nothing away from this cd. As well as the singing, the music, and more keyboardy sounds, what also makes this album great is the lyrics. Some really heart felt emotions in this album. Their next album will be hard to follow up. But drown, which at first listen sounds too poppy and soft for bmth, soon gets under your skin, so maybe there is hope. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bold statement, deserves respect., 20 Feb. 2015
By 
R. GILL "Spartan Rich" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I'm bemused as to why so many 'metal fans' dislike this band. Saw Shadow Moses on a music channel and thought that was the business. Got the album and was not disappointed. This band try to write proper songs and have a great range and reach. They could have done an album of 'Antivists'or 'Can you feel my heart', instead they've tried to keep things varied and its a really cohesive album. I'm a longstanding metal fan and theres a lot of craft and thought in this album. It's not Linkin Park come on people and if you think it's pop you need your head examining. It's good honest music trying to explore different avenues, that's no bad thing.

The real reason I'm writing this review is for the last track however. Truly one of the most heartfelt outpourings of pain, loss and somehow hope I've ever heard. You cannot sing or play like this and not mean it without every atom of your being.

Finally I bought the album to support a British band, for the price of two beers I've got a quality product that took years to perfect and execute. That's value and these guys deserve every bit of praise and support they get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I got this for my daughters, and I'm very happy about this gen of heavy metal bands, being the relay for the "classic" ones of my time. This record is solid, sound+lyrics+screams, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece., 3 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
This is easily a gem in the metalcore genre. Each track offering something different. I would say the best tracks to listen out for on this CD are Can You Feel My Heart, Sleepwalking, And The Snakes Start To Sing, Seen It All Before and Hospital For Souls.

Can You Feel My Heart shows off an emotional flashy opening, Sleepwalking has great contrast with this CDs signature slow/emotional moments, And The Snakes Start To Sing shows great lyrics, Seen It All Before has it all, lyrics, emotion, power and relateable, Hospital For Souls is (if you don't own deluxe edition) a great end to a brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album of 2014, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best Album of 2014, should have one more awards. Band really hits the sweet spot with this album, mix of tracks, styles while still staying ture to their older material.
Band also smashed Download festival with amazing performance.

Not for everyone, neighbours might not like it after a while but one most people should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt..., 15 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
... their best album yet. Oli Sykes' screaming is strangely better than ever now he's blown his vocal cords, it sounds more raw and emotional.
That's not to say that the rest of the band haven't been as brilliant as ever. Because they have. I'm just in love with this album. I've gotta reccommend to any metalcore fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sempiternal
Sempiternal by Bring Me the Horizon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews