Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The drinks are on Lashner
The title and cover of this book would not normally attract me, but I'm so glad I stumbled across it. It was a thoroughly enjoyable read and left me wanting more. The story maintains pace throughout and the characters were believable and interesting.

Often towards the end of a book I find I'm reading just to get to the end, but not with this one,...
Published 9 months ago by Mitzybudgie

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Did Not Like At All
I could not get on with this book at all, and unusual for me after a couple of chapters consigned to my cloud.
Published 6 months ago by TrishB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The drinks are on Lashner, 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
The title and cover of this book would not normally attract me, but I'm so glad I stumbled across it. It was a thoroughly enjoyable read and left me wanting more. The story maintains pace throughout and the characters were believable and interesting.

Often towards the end of a book I find I'm reading just to get to the end, but not with this one, I found the opposite to be true.

I also loved the fact that each chapter was named after a drink.

If you don't think this book is for you, think again.

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Barkeep, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read. Hope there's a follow-up book. Would recommend this to anyone interested in twists and turns. I did get to the real murderer near the end off the story. It didn't spoil the climax at all, and although I don't drink the cocktail mixes sounded pretty tempting. Well done Mr Slasher hope the hangover wasn't too painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Novel, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
This was an unusual, engaging suspenseful read. Very character driven and some fabulous observational (very dry!) humour. Equally dry were some of the cocktails. If you're a crime/thriller reader looking for something a bit different, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... Will Lashner book i've read and i find them easy to read with good plot's and characters, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
Second Will Lashner book i've read and i find them easy to read with good plot's and characters. This one really did keep me intrested until the the end. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Did Not Like At All, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
I could not get on with this book at all, and unusual for me after a couple of chapters consigned to my cloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
A different story line and clever plot, kept me reading to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BARKEEP, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
A very good read. Gets more interesting as it goes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
Good entertaining holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The twists just keep on coming, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
I found it hard to jump into this book, but the more time I invested in the story the deeper it got it's hooks into me. And as for plot twists? Every time I thought I could see where the story was headed, a little kernel of doubt appears then BAM, the goal posts move and you are just as confused as Justine is as he searches for the truth about his mother's murder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barkeep (Kindle Edition)
This wouldn't be my usual choice of story, but I was pleased I chose to read it! I looked forward to my "reading time" every day.
Great story, great characters - I'll read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Barkeep
The Barkeep by William Lashner
£3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews