Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bang & Olufsen (B&O) H6 Stereo Headphone review by Dale
Sources: iPhone5 alone, iPhone5 with FiiO E07k using LOD, iPhone5 with v-moda Verza DAC/amp, various computers using the v-moda Verza DAC/amp.

First impressions of the B&O H6: Much better than average soundstage for a closed headphone, very detailed bass that's neither emphasized nor recessed, and a midrange that has a lighter sound than most of the darker...
Published 20 months ago by Dale Thorn

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, look elsewhere for travel/home/work headphones
These are ok. They don't sound extraordinary (they are not engaging), they are flat & accurate (which is or is not a good thing to different folks), are very unforgiving (every imperfection in a recording is highlighted) and not particularly comfortable. They don't pinch on the ears but you can feel the top of them weighing down on your head. Also the sound isolation for...
Published 3 months ago by MR MZ KRUSZYNSKI


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bang & Olufsen (B&O) H6 Stereo Headphone review by Dale, 26 July 2013
By 
Dale Thorn (Seal Beach CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Sources: iPhone5 alone, iPhone5 with FiiO E07k using LOD, iPhone5 with v-moda Verza DAC/amp, various computers using the v-moda Verza DAC/amp.

First impressions of the B&O H6: Much better than average soundstage for a closed headphone, very detailed bass that's neither emphasized nor recessed, and a midrange that has a lighter sound than most of the darker headphones I've been listening to for the past few months. The H6 signature (frequency response mostly) should compare favorably to the kings of 'Neutral', i.e. the Sennheiser HD600 and HD800, except that where the HD800 is noted for being slightly bright, the H6 is more neutral.

My most recent listening has been with the v-moda M100, Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro, Sennheiser Momentum On-Ear, Bose OE2i, ATH ESW9a, and the B&W P7. With the H6 I'm hearing detail I haven't heard since I had the Shure 1840 or since I last used my Sennheiser IE800 IEM's, although the M100 and to some extent the B&W P7 do have nearly as much upper range detail, when the bass is reduced or better controlled with a good headphone amp. I don't want to exaggerate my description of the H6 soundstage, but after playing a few hundred music tracks, I can say with confidence that it's very, very good. I played a series of test tone sweeps with a number of discrete tones as well, and everything seems very well balanced. It's easy for me to say that I love this sound, but what's more important is for readers to understand how it might sound to them.

The one quality of the H6 that I'm most certain of in terms of how potential customers will relate to it is the bass. The H6 bass is not light like the very pricy Shure 1840, nor does it have a lot of strength above neutral. I find the bass to be very good on nearly all of my music, which covers a wide range of genres, but users who need an extra bass kick should look elsewhere. In theory you should be able to use a bass boost whenever you feel the need, but whereas I've had good results with some headphones with a treble boost or with bass reduction, I've never had a satisfactory experience with bass boost, unless there was a bass boost feature on one of my headphone amps that had a better tone curve than what the Apple i-devices have. Bottom line: the H6 bass is perfectly suited to classical and acoustic music, jazz, soundtracks, acapella, and most of the other 'refined' genres, but rock, metal, urban and other such genres may be better served by a bass-boosted headphone.

Isolation with the H6 is average or better for a good closed-back headphone, and although leakage is fairly low, it's not low enough to play music loudly in a quiet office in a cubicle next to other cubicles. If the office is very quiet, I think you'd have to keep the volume to a moderate level. The H6's physical design is one of the most perfect (if not the most perfect) that I've ever seen. The light brown color over brushed aluminum is elegant, no part of the headphone bulges away from the head when wearing it, the earcups fold flat and pull down far enough to wear comfortably around the neck all day long when not in use, and the earcups are large enough to completely surround my medium-or-larger ears in perfect comfort. The H6 is an unusually comfortable headphone, and the relatively light weight and light headband clamp will keep it that way.

The H6 single-sided cable is detachable with standard 3.5 mm straight miniplugs on either end, however those miniplugs are the extra-connector Apple type, and when I tried substituting a non-Apple generic cable, the plug going into the earcup would not make a proper connection. If Radio Shack or other electronics dealers have any cables with the extra-connector Apple-style miniplugs, those cables might work, but I can't be sure. The cable is ~1.5 m long, which is nearly perfect for portable use. Much of the H6 design seems to target it for portable and outdoor use, but outdoors is where many users prefer the extra-bass types of headphones, and the H6 is bass-neutral. Some of the portable headphones come with hard carry cases that provide good impact protection, but the H6 comes with a cloth bag only, which doesn't offer any impact protection. The H6 does fit into my Grado** carrycase perfectly given a slight squeeze to the earpads to tuck them in.

**The Grado carrycase is sold only in Britain as far as I know, but it's orderable for a modest shipping fee.

The music tracks listed below are new for this review, and are a random sample selected from the 400 most recent tracks I've acquired. Since these tracks cover a wide range of genres, and were selected when I was using several different headphones, there won't be a bias toward the H6 headphone with this music. My suggestion is instead of reading each comment below as an absolute unto itself, you could compare these notes to other reviews as they get posted, and see how the H6 compares with each individual track.

Ana Victoria - Roxanne (Pop Vocal): Spacious sound, good instrumental tone - the vocal sounds very natural. Excellent reproduction by the H6.

Ben Goldberg - Root and Branch (Jazz): Realistic you-are-there sound with great instrumental reproduction. The H6 plays this extremely well.

Benedictines Of Mary - O Come Emmanuel (Medieval/Female Choral/Acapella): Very spacious sound and natural reverb for a large recording venue (cathedral). The H6 makes the voices come alive.

Black Sabbath - Iron Man (Classic Rock): Excellent instrumental detail - the vocal sounds very natural. As with most classic rock tracks, there is very little or no deep bass. The H6 plays this music very smoothly, and the lack of strong bass doesn't unbalance the treble.

Candy Dulfer - Lily Was Here (Jazz): Narrow soundstage, but excellent detailed instrumental tone. The H6 gives this a reasonable sense of space, but in spite of being a modern recording, the net effect is only slightly better than enhanced mono.

Cantus - Danny Boy (Traditional/Male Choral/Acapella): The H6 plays the voices with enough low end warmth and weight to sound very natural.

Chris Isaak - Wicked Game (Pop/Rock): The H6 plays this high treble energy recording with perfection - the voice and instruments are highly detailed but very smooth.

Daft Punk - Lose Yourself to Dance (Electronic/Disco): Less than hi-fi quality recording, but the voices are very good. There's a decent amount of bass weight, but the bass lacks detail.

David Hazeltine - Fur Elise (Jazz): A very high-quality recording from HDTracks. The H6 reproduces the instruments perfectly with a you-are-there ambiance. The wire-brush-on-cymbal harmonics are very extended and detailed.

David Lynch-Lykke Li - I'm Waiting Here (Soundtrack/Vocal): Dark, moody song - Lykke's voice is very detailed, the strong bass impacts are very good, but most of the instrumentation is soft and kept in the background. The H6 plays this music very well given the sonic limitations.

Dream Theater - Take The Time (Metal): The sound quality here is limited, but the H6 is smooth enough to bring out the details in this very busy music without verging on harshness.

Genesis - Follow You Follow Me (Pop/Rock):The H6 plays this old and less-than-ideal recording well enough to enjoy, but the soundstage is fairly narrow.

Giant Drag - Wicked Game (Pop/Rock): Annie Hardy's version of the Chris Isaak hit has a lot of energy, but the quality is limited - still the H6 pulls out enough detail to be a pleasant listen.

Grieg (Beecham-Royal Philharmonic) - Peer Gynt-Solveig's Lullaby (Classical): This very old (1950's) stereo recording must have been made on the most expensive gear in the world, since the overall sound quality and especially Ilse Hollweg's amazing voice are as close to "being there" as I've heard with some of the better classical recordings made since the year 2000. The H6 makes this an outstanding listen.

Hubert Kah - The Picture (New Wave): This track has great bass detail and weight at the same time, which I find unusual for this type of 1980's pop music. The H6 plays this music very well.

Hugo Audiophile - 15-16 (Electronic): I'm not sure what the 15-16 stands for - perhaps track numbers from a CD album. The strong deep-bass tones that start around 33-34 seconds into the track reproduce well with the H6, but have just enough weight for average indoor listening. In a noisy environment, especially in or near vehicle traffic or on public transport where bass is easily absorbed, the bass here will lose most of its impact. This is a perfect recording for evaluating whether a headphone's bass is tuned for high fidelity listening, or tuned to play in venues that have an excess of ambiant low-frequency energy.

Korn - Another Brick In the Wall (Rock): Aggressive rock that's very satisfying for hard-rock fans. The H6 plays this perfectly, which is to say, with proper edginess and bass impact, yet without unintended sonic harshness.

Kunika Kato - Fur Alina (Vibraphone): A very unusual instrumental - the tone quality is unlike anything I've heard before. Recording close-up is part of the magic here, but the H6 does the rest in reproducing the full harmonics of this amazing instrument.

Michael Buble - Nice 'n Easy (Easy Listening/Jazz): This is the only track I bought by Michael Buble, but it's a great recording and vocal performance. The sound of the backing band here is rendered extremely well by the H6, and the voice isn't pumped up for Loudness Wars thankfully.

Michael Tilson Thomas - Rhapsody In Blue (20th Century Classic): Great sound and soundstage, and terrific piano playing and tone, brought to life by the H6. There are some very deep bass impacts here starting around 38 seconds into the 17:24 length track, but as with the Hugo Audiophile track above, the impacts have just enough weight to be appreciated in a quiet listening environment.

Muse - Madness (Rock): The bass in this track has great impact and detail with the H6, but the voice is so forward that I have to keep the volume lower than what's ideal to appreciate the track's bass line.

Phaeleh - Afterglow (feat. Soundmouse) (Electronic/Vocal): The instrumental sounds that begin this track are played very nicely by the H6, but the voice tends to overwhelm those background sounds - until the heavy bass impacts kick in. If there is any doubt about whether the H6 will play heavy impactful bass with good detail (if such sounds are really in the recording), this track is the proof. If you were to begin your H6 listening with this track, you might think you were listening to a headphone that has a very boosted but tight and detailed bass. Simply amazing.

Richard Strauss (Mester-Pasadena) - Also Sprach Zarathustra (opening) (Classical): The granddaddy of bass is in the opening 1:50 of this recording, and I've heard it only once on a large and expensive loudspeaker system in Cleveland. For most people, that experience would be indistinguishable from being in a fairly strong earthquake. The H6 conveys as much of that experience as is possible on headphones. The tympani also have excellent impact here.

Sargis Aslamazian - The Sky is Cloudy (Classical/Armenian): The National Chamber Orchestra of Armenia has a great classical program, and the H6 plays this music with good separation, tone, and big-orchestra precision.

Satri-Tomoko Sonoda - All The Things You Are (Jazz): This track came from Bakoon Products, who make high-quality audio amplifiers. There's a lot of upright bass plucking in this track, and the H6 plays it well, although it's recorded pretty close-up and may sound slightly boomy at times.

Tommy Smith - Johnny Come Lately (Jazz): Small-combo jazz; sax, piano and drums. The sound is fairly close-up but well-recorded, and sounds very nice with the H6, although the wire-brush-on-cymbal harmonics are not as extended as on the David Hazeltine track above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful headphones, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay H6 Headphones in Leather and Aluminium - Black (Electronics)
The sound quality of the headphones is excellent, as expected. I can definitely hear parts of the music that I could not hear before. I've seen reviews stating the bass is not great but I disagree, It mightn't be boosted but its so clear that it sounds deeper than before.

They are also unbelievably comfortable to wear, which I hadn't expected. I thought they would be the same as any headphones but I have pillows that are less comfortable against my head.

The design is lovely, very sleek. The lettering on the side is less prominent than expected which is a good thing. The bag thing they gave with it is a bit bizzare, useless really.

My only problem is that the inline controls on the headphone wire will not work for non-apple products. A bit aggravating as the advert does not specify that. You can still use your own controls on your player but having the volume thingy there is going to drive me insane as it doesn't work. Its located right beside your chin too, so there can be no simply ignoring it. I will have to discover if they have a wire without that control on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful B&O ear muffs, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully designed and a more individualised headphone choice than the mass produced and prolific dr dre beats alternative. Sound quality is gorgeous. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and effortless, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The mid is the strength of the H6. Really beautiful and effortless. great clarity, great soundstage, I can hear every subtle detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Headphones, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
G. Limbert "G Limbert" (Pontefract, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay H6 Headphones in Leather and Aluminium - Black (Electronics)
I am not an headphone geek but have tested many models in the premium price range. These headphones are excellent, in fact they are awesome delivering brilliant sound and they are unbelievably comfortable. While the idea of wireless headphones has always appealed to me and to this end I really rated the Bose AE2w but after testing them over a prolonged period the sound quality was not always perfect and the bluetooth 4.0 seemed to cause issues by spontaneously altering the volume control on my iPad Air. As a result I came to the conclusion that wired headphones offer the best sound quality, performance and listening experience. Being over-ear together with the quality/softness of the ear pieces enables them to achieve great noise isolation and comfort.

When travelling however when noise cancellation is important I still rate my wired Bose QC20i earbuds, as their ability to drown out the noise of jet engines is beyond compare and their size and portability are a real bonus as is there ability to let you hear sounds around you when you need to for example in arrival/departure halls. At home though and on holiday I have come to appreciate the performance and comfort of the H6 headphones. They deliver well balanced sound without the ear pounding base we've come to expect from many other models. These are premium quality headphones beautifully constructed and delightful in use.

The travel bag is a bit of a let down and according to B&Os own FAQs those who choose the natural leather model are warned that the bag may stain the colour of the natural leather on the headphones. As an alternative I found that the HeadphoneMate case that I got from Amazon for the Bose AE2w headphones fits the H6 perfectly and is not overly expensive. I really rate these headphones and would not hesitate in recommending them to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The packaging is much like the apple type (worth keeping) they do sound amazing ..., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't really put anything else that others haven't put. I have noticed I don't have the volume up past half gets way to loud which I used to do on other headphones. The packaging is much like the apple type (worth keeping) they do sound amazing and feel so comfortable and light. All in all I'm glad I went for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Noise insulating on a recent trip last row in the ..., 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay H6 Headphones in Leather and Aluminium - Black (Electronics)
Noise insulating on a recent trip last row in the plane very impressive. Credit the overall design of the pressure of the band and pliable the ear cups.
Sound is astounding. Details of voice and notes not noticed before. EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
R. Cole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good make .. far too expensive of course, but good sound, very comfortable and look classic and stylish, last I hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top marks, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say is wow
This is what sound should sound like
Top marks all the way 10 out of 10
The BeoPlay H6 are so good I have bought a 2nd pair for my wife
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence in every respect!, 9 Jan. 2015
By 
P. W. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay H6 Headphones in Leather and Aluminium - Black (Electronics)
I've owned a pair of these headphones for just under a year now, and my love for them has only grown stronger. I feel like I've spent enough time with them to be able to write an in-depth review, and feel compelled to explain a few things that some reviews miss, which may be helpful to prospective buyers. I've broken down my review into sub-sections for clarity.

SOUND QUALITY & EXPERIENCE WITH DIFFERENT DEVICES:

Apart from a requirement that a headphone be durable enough to not disintegrate in the hand, the sound quality it provides is surely the second-most important aspect, especially for one of a higher-than-average price. We can tick the preliminary box. Now, the sound quality of these can be summed up as airy, light, and silky smooth in the upper-mids and lower treble. Bass is controlled, precise, and extends well into lower ranges - but it's not boomy. It's not exaggerated. It's present, but it doesn't kick. Listen for it, and it's all there.

Bass is something of a tricky issue with headphones, because people's past experiences and expectations define what they think is 'good sound'. I don't blame anyone for wanting some 'thump' to their bass; it's often a pleasant experience. However, in this case, the H6 was designed to reproduce sound faithfully, and a faithful reproduction is not one that swamps most of the sonic palette with immense bass boom. The only problem with the neutral bass characteristic of these is that, when wearing them outdoors, and when any kind of ambient noise is occurring, which of course it usually is, your perception of the bass may be slightly dulled. As such, if you're out in a busy place listening with these whilst walking, you might on some occasions find the bass to be a tad 'anaemic'. However, I've been walking almost daily with these for almost a year, and the sound has pleased me around 95% of the time.

Nothing in the audible sonic spectrum is recessed or greatly exaggerated, except for a slight mid-peak at around 1-2kHz that the reviewer Dalethorn has pointed out already. This usually has the effect of bringing forward higher-pitched, smoother-timbre vocals, which to my ears has only ever been pleasant, but which could possibly be less tasteful in some rare applications for some ears.

As for the experience with different devices, they sound great plugged straight into an iPod classic - and thus most likely all other kinds of iDevice; they were built with portability in mind, and definitely don't need an amp to shine sufficiently. However, if you plug them into an extra amp, be it a portable headphone amp or a desktop amp or speaker amp, they will sound slightly 'fuller', perhaps 'weightier' and the soundstage may be improved variably. I'm no electronics expert, but I would hazard that this has less to do with the amount of power supplied, since these are relatively low-impedance headphones anyway, and more to do with the intrinsic quality differences between low-cost dac/amps in iPods, and higher-cost dedicated dac/amps. The bottom line is that plugged straight into a portable player, these things sing very sweetly indeed.

On a more subjective note, I'd like to add that the 'silky smooth' texture I mentioned earlier is actually one of my favourite qualities of these headphones; I own the AKG K550 and the legendary Sennheiser HD 600, and though the AKG has a great soundstage and imaging, and though the HD 600 has an overall more refined sound, the H6 is the only headphone out of these three to give me an extra, subjective pleasant 'feeling' in my head; there's something I find so 'sweet' about the presentation of the mids and treble, and it strikes me every time. I'm interested to know if anyone else who owns these has the same experience.

BUILD QUALITY & THE PHYSICAL PRESENTATION:

In terms of build quality, the H6 is quite superb in most ways. These are light, yet solid-feeling. The hinges that allow the earcups to rotate are smooth and assured, the extending arms are solid and well-designed; easy to adjust. The leather on the headband is tough, yet smooth-feeling to the touch. It has a nice thickness, and looks great stitched onto the aluminium-reinforced, polycarbonate, fabric mesh-covered headband frame. Some have concerns over the unfinished-looking sides of this piece of leather, but I can assure you that this leather has been treated by B&O so well, it makes for no detriment at all.

The leather on the earcups is sheepskin, as opposed to the calfskin of the headband, so it's exceptionally soft, and feels rather like one's own skin behind the ear and around the top of the neck. Chamfered aluminium plates encapsulate the 40mm headphone drivers, and a fine-grained concentric etching produces a very eye-pleasing radial sun-burst effect against the light. The plastic this plate sits on does not feel low-quality to me; indeed, plastic does not have to mean 'cheap and nasty'; this stuff seems scratch-resistant, solid, and a good choice to reduce the weight of the headphones.

The only thing that alarms me about the earcups are the sharp-edged plastic rings around which the earpad leather is stitched to retain it. The edges of the plastic plates in the earpads themselves can be felt through the thin leather of the earpads, and produce a circular relief on the leather they meet from within. I worried about the potential for tearing here for some time, and in one unfortunate drop I experienced recently, as the headphones caught against my bedside table after slipping off it, the leather of the right earpad did indeed tear a 3 mm section against its inner retainer ring. The earpads can be removed with a firm anti-clockwise rotation about the earcups, and replaced. As a temporary fix, I used some Bostik leather adhesive to fix the leather back together.

Another potential problem with build quality can be found in the cable that comes supplied. While the cable is quite thick, and feels strong, there is some concern over quality control over the plug terminations; the termination on mine at the end furthest away from the iDevice remote has a slightly crooked plug. I should emphasise that this does not seem to be the case for most people's units, and the cable is removable and replaceable! The crooked plug my cable has does not affect sound quality, but does look annoying when sitting perpendicular from a device, against which a slightly crooked angle is visible. I have read a few other reviews mentioning the same problem. Further, I don't like the rubbery texture of the cable flex, which is very clingy, and tends to pull on clothes, potentially straining connections. The cable is also quite microphonic against clothing. This may bother me more than others, though.

Despite a couple of issues, the headphone itself is remarkably well-built, and together with the sound quality for the price for which these are available, I am very pleased overall.

As a piece of design to enjoy off-the-head, they're exquisite, as can be sampled from photos, and I challenge anyone to think differently. Jakob Wagner has excelled himself with his design.

COMFORT:

Thanks to their lightness, the H6 is very comfortable on the head, with the memory foam earpads resting well against the ears, especially after warming up a little. Despite being closed-back headphones, the leather on these earpads breathes very well; I tend to sweat while wearing my AKG K550s, their protein leather perhaps not being so breathable. Clamping force is not too tight. I dare say the earcup openings are not quite big enough to avoid touching the entirety of the ear, but the pads and leather surrounding them are so soft, after a bit of wiggling around, you tend to ignore their presence.

Off the ear, don't worry about the lack of a hard carrying-case - extend the arms fully and hang them around your neck, cups faced against your chest, and you have a comfortable, non-intrusive style-statement (not fashion) and temporary storage solution.

OVERALL:

I have thoroughly enjoyed my time with the Beoplay H6, and plan to continue enjoying them for a long time. If you're not a bass-head, and you've been thinking about a conveniently-sized, over-ear, closed-back headphone in this price range that works great for portable use and looks beautiful, then don't hesitate. As of January 2015, some of the World Cup special edition Pepsi-collaborative H6s in blue leather are still available on Amazon, so if you want to save some more money, you might consider those instead of the standard Black or Tan versions. For around £179, those are an absolute steal - and for the higher prices, well, I think they're well worth it.

Thanks for reading; now get listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews