Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing wireless speaker with full set of multimedia controls
Once I opened this new portable speaker from Anker and started to read through Instruction Manual (which btw is very detailed), the first thought that went through my head was how much functionality they cramped into one small multimedia speaker. With so many designs out there, you will be lucky to get Call pickup button in addition to volume up/down. Here, I think the...
Published 22 months ago by Twister

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 things you should know
There are a lot of reviews here and I've only read some of them. So, I won't enlarge on the sound quality (good via bluetooth) or the voice prompts (annoying). Here's what I wish I'd known before buying:

1) Bluetooth is great for listening to music but not so good for video. The bluetooth introduces a delay that puts the sound out of sync with the picture. This...
Published 14 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing wireless speaker with full set of multimedia controls, 24 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
Once I opened this new portable speaker from Anker and started to read through Instruction Manual (which btw is very detailed), the first thought that went through my head was how much functionality they cramped into one small multimedia speaker. With so many designs out there, you will be lucky to get Call pickup button in addition to volume up/down. Here, I think the only missing thing was a kitchen sink. Let me go into more details.

First of all let's start with a design, a very attractive glossy cylinder shape with a speaker inside of the main body and 3 stand-off legs connecting to the base with controls. The shape is very comfortable to handle since this is a portable speaker which you might want to move around. And once you place it down - it will stay firmly on the surface thanks to it's non-skid rubber pad at the bottom. Along with a comfortable shape, also comes a comfortable weight of about 166g and dimensions of 60mm in height and 70mm in diameter. The round design and placement of the speaker makes the sound flow in every direction so you don't have to find an optimal position facing you directly. In the middle you have a strobing blue LED light which goes all the way around the speaker. Actually, I think there are two speakers hosted inside of the enclosure with a main treble sound coming from the top and a bass pumping from the bottom.

The controls on this unit cover all multimedia basis with separate buttons for play/pause/stop, volume up/down, and next/prev track skip. These buttons all double as other multimedia controls to adjust eq setting (normal, bass, treble), to mute/unmute the microphone (built in to accept your voice commands or just pickup a call and use this speaker as a speakerphone), and a lot of phone functionality such as voice dialing, answering/ending a call; redialing last number or rejecting incoming call, transferring a call from a speaker to a phone, and some more. This is a rechargeable speaker with an incredible battery life where according to Anker you will get about 8-10 hours of play time or up to 12 hours of talk time. As a mentioned before, it supports new low power bluetooth 4.0 standard and backward compatible with all other standards. Also, it supports HSP, HFP, A2DP, and AVRCP bluetooth profiles. If you want to use it as external wired speaker, you also get an option for Audio-input (Line In) which you can use with an included high quality 3.5mm male-to-male cable.

All this looks good on a paper, but the true test was to get a hands on experience with this speaker. As I expected, everything worked great! As soon as you turn on the speaker, a voice announces about the power being on, and once you pair up with a phone, voice also confirms a successful pair-up/connection. As much as I like the idea of this voice announcement, I wish there would have been a way to quiet it down or disable it (just my personal preference). Hitting Play button started default audio player right away, and I was able to adjust the volume, skip to the next/prev track, and adjust the EQ. I didn't spent too much time with call functions, but did confirm everything working as expected. The sound quality was actually very impressive for a speaker of this size. You can't obviously compare it to some other premium bt speakers that cost 5-6x times more, but still the sound was loud and clear and not tiny at all as you might expect from small speakers. As a matter of fact, it actually had a deep bass kick to it. At high volumes you can start to hear some distortion which was more noticeable with "bass" eq setting. But overall, I had no complains and was actually impressed to hear quality sound out of such small speaker.

I think this speaker would be a great enhancement to any smart phone, which brings multimedia controls to external sound without a need to even touch the phone, to use it as a speaker phone, or to use it in your car placed inside of a cup holder for streaming music without a need for any wired audio connection to your head unit. And did I mention this little guy cost $35.99 with free shipping? And as always, you get 18-month warranty from Anker which you can't beat. I definitely highly recommend this external rechargeable speaker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Time Success!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
Having read some the reviews about connecting Bluetooth speakers, I was a bit concerned ( being a techno numpty), the Anker comes with a little booklet, which has very clear instructions how to pair the speaker with a device, I charged it up and following the instructions we had music in under a minute, really impressed with every thing about this product, this time last week I didn't even know what Blue Tooth Speaker was LOL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 things you should know, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
There are a lot of reviews here and I've only read some of them. So, I won't enlarge on the sound quality (good via bluetooth) or the voice prompts (annoying). Here's what I wish I'd known before buying:

1) Bluetooth is great for listening to music but not so good for video. The bluetooth introduces a delay that puts the sound out of sync with the picture. This applies to iPlayer and to media players. There appear to be NO media players for Android that support adjustable audio delay in the same way as corresponding Windows software.

...so, you connect with the supplied audio cable instead and then you find that...

2) When attached by the cable, the speaker is a dumb, unpowered extension. The advantage of this is that you can use it all day with the power off and the sound is a little better than it would be through the phone or tablet: the disadvantage is that volume is limited to what your tablet or phone will output. Which rather misses the point.

All that's really needed is an Android media player app with audio delay adjustment - the sync problem is inherent with any bluetooth device. That's not down to Anker. The lack of amplification via the cable is, though. I queried their support line and they agreed that the buttons don't work when the cable is used. They didn't say it, but it is clearly the case that there is NO AMPLIFICATION when the cable attachment is used. If you want an extension speaker mainly for watching movies, this is not the best choice. Go for a wired speaker - they're cheaper, anyway.

Sadly, mine is going back today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound, 10 April 2014
By 
Mandy Payne "Is it just me?" (Hollywood, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
These little speakers amaze me -- so much sound, so little space. This is a cute little egg shaped speaker with nice clear sound. It offers pretty good bass for such a little nugget. I like the sleek design and colors...would be groovy in a child's Easter Basket. It works well as a wireless speaker phone with my Galaxy Note and it is very easy to hook up to all of my other Bluetooth devices. I like the simplicity of it, slide the button to turn it on or off or to auxiliary and you're set. My devices locate it and pair automatically.

The battery life seems to be pretty good as well. I get a couple of hours out of it nonstop. It comes with a USB cable that also has an auxiliary cord attached. So that's nice. It does not play music from a memory card like some of them do, but that's ok. For this price, you get more than I would expect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
Very good product, perfect sound.
That product meet perfectly my expectations.
Easy to use, connect with any type of phone or MP3 players
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
The sound of this practical little item is surprisingly good, especially for its size, and it's great that it can be taken anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little thing, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
If your expecting to use this for a party then it's not for you.. But if you want a great little speaker to use with iPod iPad or any other device then go for it sounds good and it's loud enough bad cheap to buy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
Sadly not for me.
Buzzed a lot at high volumne.
Very irritating flashing blue light at night making it impossible to use in the car at night sadly. Returned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely product, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
Great neat-looking little gadget and the sound quality is very good. I use it mostly with the auxilliary cable, rather than bluetooth. It boosts the TV broadcast volume on iPlayer on the iPad around the house. I've also used it for my pre-bluetooth MP3 player for music and audiobooks/podcasts, and also my ancient Nintendo DSi for the audiobooks I have stored on its memory card.

I charge it up using a USB socket adapter rather than the PC.

A couple of irritating things; the blue light that flashes round whilst it's in use is quite unnecessary and so bright at night - not helpful for dropping off to sleep whilst listening to an audiobook e.g.
And although you're able to tell how much charge is left in its battery when it's connected via a Bluetooth device, this isn't so if connected via the auxiliary cable. There's no warning the battery needs charging and you can find that your listening suddenly comes to an abrupt end.
Although the controls are very neat, I do find it's hard to see which is which and have to peer at them closely.

That said, I'm very pleased I bought this little speaker as it works well and does just what I bought it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviews can be misleading, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anker® Ultra Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built-In Mic, Enhanced Bass Boost, 10 Hour Rechargeable Battery and a 3.5mm Aux Port - A7901 (Personal Computers)
Whilst I accept for its size the sound output is pretty good. I have to admit to being a little disappointed with this speaker. From reading the reviews I was expecting so much more.

I already have a set of 'pop up' portable speakers and found these to be pretty good but wanted something with a bit more 'oomph' and hoped that the Anker speaker would be it - sadly its not.

Not bad, but maybe my expectations are too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews