Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why would you want Sins: Rebellion? I'll tell you.
Well, simply put, this game is great. But I assume you want to know why, and so I will tell you.

First of all, I have been playing Sins of a Solar Empire for almost five years, ever since its release in 2008, and Rebellion is truly the pinnacle of the game. Everything from the previous expansions is included, so no need to worry about those or the base game...
Published 15 months ago by Ibnpatuta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay game, except the difficulty!
I enjoyed this game for quite a few play throughs. It is challenging and fast paced, and certainly not for those who like sitting back and playing a defensive style in strategy games. It's all about expanding quickly and getting as many planets as possible without over-stretching your forces! The resource collecting works well, and although there could be a little more...
Published 3 months ago by Gscott1991


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why would you want Sins: Rebellion? I'll tell you., 16 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Well, simply put, this game is great. But I assume you want to know why, and so I will tell you.

First of all, I have been playing Sins of a Solar Empire for almost five years, ever since its release in 2008, and Rebellion is truly the pinnacle of the game. Everything from the previous expansions is included, so no need to worry about those or the base game. And as the game has been steadily updated since release to address bugs and balance issues, support has been fantastic too. Oh, and important to point out is that this game is REAL-TIME strategy, unlike many others in the 4X genre.

The Graphics -

the first thing you will notice in this game is its beautiful, colorful, realistic graphics that make every object from a Volcanic planet to a light frigate gorgeous. Every unit and texture is lovingly detailed and they are varied enough that after a few hours of play you will never mistake a Garda Flak Frigate for a Cobalt Light Frigate again. There are three races with distinct styles of structure and ship design, and the weapons effects and lighting have been completely redone for the Rebellion expansion. There are new skyboxes (the space backgrounds) that look great, and with the newest update all of the planets now have new textures. Everything looks better in Rebellion, and it is easily one of the best-looking strategy games I have ever played.

User Interface -

easily readable, and gives you a ton of information about what is going on in your vast interstellar empire. It literally throws the information at you. Your capital ship "Big Kahuna" has been destroyed!" Stuff like that. The game wants you to play and actively keeps you from becoming overwhelmed. You can freely zoom WAY in, WAY out, pan the camera all around, lock onto units or fighters and follow them through your space battles. The learning curve looks very steep at the beginning, yet once you have put a few hours in it becomes fairly intuitive and not nearly so intimidating. And with Rebellion, new tutorials have been added along with race-specific UI, so that while you are playing as the aggressive Vasari aliens your UI looks different than the industiralist human TEC's.

The Battles - In a strategy game, this can be the most important part. And this is how most people tend to win their Sins games, including me. The battles are awesome to watch, and the AI will take care of the fighting for you if you want so that you may sit back and relax, or you can select your units and activate their individual abilities or tell them to attack a specific unit or move somewhere. What's more, in Rebellion, Titan ships have been added that are absolutely massive and powerful, and will tear apart enemy fleets and capital ships. The battles are slower paced, than, say, Starcraft 2 or Command and Conquer, but with Rebellion they can be much faster, especially if there is a Titan involved.

The Soundtrack -

fantastic. Orchestral, fitting, epic. There are different soundtracks for each race (TEC, Vasari, Advent) as well as for each subfaction withing each race (the Loyalists and Rebels). Rebellion adds a TON of new music, and I find it quite enjoyable.

4X Elements -

By this I mean diplomacy, economy, trade, culture, research, exploration and development of planets and spaceships. Yup, it's all there. The economic and culture stuff can be simple on the surface, but everything is surprisingly deep. The research trees should have you playing multiple-hour matches to unlock such things as superweapons and racial powers. Rebellion only enhances every one of these aspects. How? That could go on for another page.

The AI -

It manages. No, actually, it is good. Especially as the devs keep updating to make it smarter. And it will take care of casting most of your ship's abilities for them and attacking an enemy fleet if you happen to be looking somewhere else in the solar system.

I'm sure I could go on more, but I wouldn't want to overwhelm you, the reader and prospective buyer, with the discussion of planet types or all of the differences between the subfactions introduced in Rebellion. Or the Pirates, or corvettes, or the Empire tree, because that might just get tedious. Suffice to say, this game has some magic in it. I've played it for five years now and will probably play it for five years more. Or more than that.

I like this game. YOU will like this game. Unless you want to buy it for the multiplayer and have no friends to buy it and play it with you. Rebellion has a fairly small multiplayer community, and it might take a while to find a game if you want to play with five or ten people. Otherwise, this game will suck up your hours of free time like a black hole. And you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay game, except the difficulty!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I enjoyed this game for quite a few play throughs. It is challenging and fast paced, and certainly not for those who like sitting back and playing a defensive style in strategy games. It's all about expanding quickly and getting as many planets as possible without over-stretching your forces! The resource collecting works well, and although there could be a little more variance in the buildings there is a good base-building aspect to the game. It's a very clever mix of real time and 4x strategy, and as others have said it works well with long play sessions. It also forces you to use your ships wisely with a fair bit of micro-management in battle, as just chucking in a load of your stronger ships won't work.

My crticism, and what ultimately left me at a loose end with this game, was the difficulty settings. Make no mistake, this game is pretty punishing, and I knew that when buying it. I only tried playing on normal and hard (there is an easy and and unfair setting, and possibly another that's even harder). I found that on normal, the AI very rarely attacked me, didn't build super weapons and were fairly easy to conquer even though they did build large fleets. On hard, I found that the game became almost completely about superweapons after the opening stages, and that the AI seemed able to acquire them much quicker than I. I was being attacked so frequently by superweapons that it was impossible to mount a counter offensive, and I eventually became frustrated and quit the play through. If there was a difficulty between these two settings, I think it would be perfect for semi-casual gamers like me! I have no doubt that this is because of my inferior skill level and that this was my first experience of this game. Still, I think it'd be hard to get prolonged enjoyment out of this game, unless you like a punishing challenge or a pretty relaxed gaming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
got absolutely addicted to this game, it's not messing around when it says it'll take all your free time away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this game, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
love this game have spent so much time playing it and got it at a good price so really happy would definitely recommend..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After watching the trailer for the game and in game video's I was very excited for this game. However after playing it is a boring and unexciting game. In my opinion a waste of money, I have tried to play it as much as I can but 40 hours is as much as I can muster the game is just too boring and lacking compared to other games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous 4X game with 6 factions and smooth zoom to all scales., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Very pretty but also in depth strategy game of the 4x variety (Explore/Exploit/Expand/Exterminate).
Three factions with a rebel variant for each. One of the unique selling points is the continuous zoom in from stellar maps and planets down to fleets and right down to fighter craft assaulting a frigate, lighting up it's shields and watching missiles home in.
As my kid said, it's just like watching a starship battle in Star Wars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the game I was looking for!!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game in every way, full of action and intrigue. A must for any RTS players..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Was a good game, i liked the new Titans although as soon as you get one in the game you have pretty much won unless someone else gets one to rival yours. Not as many differences between this and sins of a solar empire as i would have liked but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 25 May 2014
By 
P. J. Collinson "PhilJC" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
For 10 you can't really complain. Challenging game that will keep you going for ages plus there is also tons of mods for you extend its life further - the Star Trek Armada 3 mod in particular is amazing.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time & in good condition, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great fun with the Star Trek Mod. A great game and can take a few days to play anything over the smallest maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD)
Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion (PC DVD) by Kalypso Media (Windows 7)
7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews