Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2013
Henry Blofeld will be familiar to many through his distinctive comentaries for the BBC's much beloved Test Match Special. Squeezing the Orange is a thoroughly entertaining read, in which Blowers describes his life's many adventures. Squeezing the Orange is Blowers' second volume of Memoirs, and is essentially a complete rewrite and update of the earlier 'A Thirst For Life'. Obviously, from someone that has been writing about Cricket since the 1960s and commentating since the Early 1970s, there is much about that game in the book, but there are also many other amusing anecdotes as well, taking place all over the World, although mostly those civilised parts of World where Cricket pitches and fine wine are to be found.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Every Chapter of this memoir could be a book in its own right; the author's recollections are very vivid, and often dazzling.

But, I suspect, the "dear old thing" is getting on a bit; so he was forced, and not just by time, but also his publisher, to get a lifetime's work onto his ipad (an indication, as ever, that he is still a cutting edge sporting journalist. Not a typewriter or telex or telegram here anymore; that's old stuff for Henry).
One is almost reminded of H.S Thompson in his early "Kentucky Derby" days when Henry writes of his career in the 60s and 70s, and there is a lightness of touch that leaves all the politics, money, power plays and outright corruption and all its intrusion into the sport of cricket, most gratifyingly, behind.
Damn!
And I'm only on chapter seven....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Fascinating insight to cricket around the world over many years. Insightful, and often very amusing account by a very well informed writer who, but for a very serious road accident as a teenager, might have played rather than reported on Test cricket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
I was suffering from Ashes 2015 fever when I bought this. but hey, I've always loved listening to Henry Blofeld, dear old thing, so thought it about time to read his fascinating autobiography. Couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
As always Henry Blofeld writes a great and easy to read book full of humour. It is very difficult to put down. I advise anyone mildly interested in cricket and a fan of Henry to buy the book - I am so glad I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Purchased for hubby, who is a great Blowers fan. He found the book enjoyable but, having read all the others, feels that perhaps this lovely man may be running out of ideas so found it slightly disappointing. :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
HB has written amusing book giving interesting insught to TMS and cricket reporting in general,
Perhaps dwelling too long on his earlier vears and skimming over more recent times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 August 2014
A rambling, sprawling mixture of enjoyable reminiscences. Includes the origin of "my dear old thing". Fun, but maybe could have done with a firmer editorial hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
A humerous and fond look at Henry's life. Perhaps a little superficial and uncontroversial for true cricket fanatics, but entertaining, funny and well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
love henry very good easy read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)