Customer Reviews


658 Reviews
5 star:
 (489)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a thundering good yarn
This is instalment seven of the Warrior Chronicles set in the time of King Alfred and his successors, with Uthred, the pagan warlord brought up by the Danes, still fighting on the side of the Saxons, although getting a bit long on the tooth. Unsurprisingly, a number of reviewers who (just like myself) have read through the whole series over the years may have a sense a...
Published 11 months ago by JPS

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uhtred Returns. Again
This is well written and well researched, as are all the other books in this series, but for me personally the story is beginning to wear a little thin and some of Lord Uhtred’s exploits seem just a bit too unlikely. Uhtred is now in his 50s, which is positively ancient by Saxon standards and he appears to have survived more attempts on his life than 007 James...
Published 3 months ago by E. A. Banks


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a thundering good yarn, 6 Oct 2013
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is instalment seven of the Warrior Chronicles set in the time of King Alfred and his successors, with Uthred, the pagan warlord brought up by the Danes, still fighting on the side of the Saxons, although getting a bit long on the tooth. Unsurprisingly, a number of reviewers who (just like myself) have read through the whole series over the years may have a sense a "déjà vu", to the extent that some mayt be getting a bit tired with having similar scenes played over and over again. These include the hero getting himself into trouble by murdering and terrorising overbearing churchmen, throwing his weight around, rushing around the country waving his sword and saving the Saxons almost on his own. If the book was limited to this, then indeed I would share their feelings. But there is, at least for me, far more to it than that...

As mentioned in the title of this review, the book is a thundering good yarn, regardless of whether you have read the previous ones in the series. It was, at least for me, hugely entertaining. It is one of these books that you can't drop until you have reached the last page and I admit to spending most of Saturday reading it from cover to cover non-stop. Hence you get comments from some other reviewers about the book being shorter than others, perhaps, and shorter than they would have wished, quite certainly. This, in itself, makes the book well worth reading. It is a first class swashbuckler adventure story, fast-paced and with lots of "blood and thunder". In this respect, Bernard Cornwell is true to form.

Then there is the historical context, and the painting of what was shortly to become "England". Here also, the author has been true to form, meaning excellent. One of the strongpoints of this book is to show that while King Alfred is commonly credited for having "saved" England from the Danes, more accurately, he saved Wessex, and there was still a chance that the largest part of the island would one day be called "Daneland", rather than England.

Among other features, the author shows to what extent the Scandinavians (they were not all Danes, even if these were probably a majority) had taken control of Northumbria, East Anglia and the northern part of Mercia, where they had settled in whet seems to be large numbers. The book contains several glimpses of these Danish settlers and the author contends through his characters (and directly in his historical note) that the survival of "Anglo-Saxon England" was not at all a given after the death of King Alfred.

Having mentioned this, the author does seem to have taken a few liberties with the history records. For instance, Chester (Ceaster), the old Roman legionary fortress of Deva, seems to have been reconquered by the Saxons a few years before the battle of Tettenhall, and, as Cornwell mentions, the Danish warlords that he includes in his story are mostly fictional. This, however, does not detract from the story in any way and, because of the paucity of the sources, the novelist has quite a lot of room to weave his story in between the few known facts that they mention.

The characterisation is perhaps where some readers may have this sense of "déjà vu" that I was mentioning earlier. Uthred, in particular, seems to be his usual swashbuckling but cunning self, and most of the other characters also seem to be true to form. None of this should come as a surprise, to the extent that the characters are still the same as ever, even if a little bit older, and not necessarily any wiser or milder than in previous episodes. Even there, however, there are a couple of interesting and somewhat original features.

One is the indulgent and somewhat amused attitude that Uthred's companions start to have when he is at his most threatening and blustering, although they are careful not to show their amusement until the warlord's gambles have either paid off or failed. This points to a key feature of the society at the time or at least of the war-like nobility in the British Isles, and in Northern Europe more generally. A warrior's reputation was everything, however terrified he might actually be, for instance when in the shield wall. Indeed, Bernard Cornwell yet again shows rather vividly how horrible and traumatising such an experience might have been.

Another feature, related to the first, is the rather dare-do, mischievous and sympathetic character of the very young Athelstan (the future king) who was indeed brought up at the court of Mercia alongside his aunt (the sister of Edward the Elder, and daughter of King Alfred). He could accordingly very well be part of this book. He shares at least some of Uthredd's adventures alongside "the Lady of Mercia."

I could go on, and on, but there is no need. Given all this, I simply cannot find any reason for rating the book less than five stars. For me at least, it was a superb read. I just hope it will work at least as well for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph!, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Once again Bernard Cornwell turns out a splendid page turner, he really is a consummate writer /story teller. In this sequel The Pagan Lord we find Uhtred on the wrong side of the new King and up against the heaviest opposition so far. The narrative is fast paced so much so that I found I was up until 2 in the morning as I had to find out what happened next. A thoroughly excellent read. For those who would like further information on this epoch, I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uhtred Returns. Again, 13 Jun 2014
By 
E. A. Banks (Ipswich, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pagan Lord (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This is well written and well researched, as are all the other books in this series, but for me personally the story is beginning to wear a little thin and some of Lord Uhtred’s exploits seem just a bit too unlikely. Uhtred is now in his 50s, which is positively ancient by Saxon standards and he appears to have survived more attempts on his life than 007 James Bond. As with all the other books, this instalment starts off with Uhtred being out of favour and ends with him once again restored to hero status. He still hasn't managed to recapture Bebbanberg though. I found the early chapters of this particular book a bit tedious and almost gave up reading it. However, I felt that the pace of the story improved from about half-way through.

In conclusion, well written, if a little slow to get going. If you liked the earlier books in this series, then you will like this one. Personally, I am bored with this character now. Hurry up and finish this tale Bernard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome new Novell by the someone you know will always deliver!!! Really anticipated addition to the series good beginning enjoyable middle brilliant end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Mar 2014
Read in one day while I was ill, couldn't put it down. Love this series but this is the best yet, can't wait till next one comes out in October!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more! Mr Cornwell please continue with this series!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pagan Lord (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This series has gone from strength to strength, I have never felt so close to understanding what the Saxon warrior world must have been like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pagan Lord, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernard Cornwell never disappoints as far as I'm concerned. I've read all the Uhtred series and have waited eagerly for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another amazing book in the Warrior Chronicles series, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another amazing book in the Warrior Chronicles series. Throughout this series, I get a growing sense of history, the history of kings and of commoners of what is now England. Women are not very clear in the picture but then, these are The Warrior Chronicles. The image I get of war is gruesome, and, right now, there is a clear link between what is going on in the Middle East: the senseless slaughter, the rape of women and selling women and children into slavery and prostitution. But The Warrior chronicles also give an idea of the old religions of the region before Christianity emerged. Bernard Cornwell is perhaps not enamored by Christianity, the representatives and adherents of this religion don't come out very well in this series. I am inclined to go along with Cornwell on this; religion is, and has been, largely, about power and quite hostile to women, even though many of its adherents are women.
Great atmosphere in these books, great description of landscapes and places, including the old Roman ruins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pagan Lord (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Mr C continues his story in a fascinating period of history - great characters continue to develop, good action love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tried & tested, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pagan Lord (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
enjoyable addition to the uthred saga if you liked the previous books you will enjoy this one as well 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews