Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's The Spirit!
A great easy-to-read 'how to' book on writing ghost stories,specifically for women's magazines such as Take a Break (and as one of my goals for 2013 is to get a story accepted by TAB, perfect for me!).
Kath has a great, chatty style - it feels like a friend is talking to you - and I love the format of the book. The author's interspersed the narrative with examples of...
Published 15 months ago by Hellymart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The help provided by this book
I enjoyed reading this book, with the short ghost stories told by the author. The information on how to write your own ghost stories was very well described by the author who explained it well by the use of the stories. I would have liked more content in the book as I found it quite a short read. Maybe next time..
Published 3 months ago by Helen Dowds


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's The Spirit!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
A great easy-to-read 'how to' book on writing ghost stories,specifically for women's magazines such as Take a Break (and as one of my goals for 2013 is to get a story accepted by TAB, perfect for me!).
Kath has a great, chatty style - it feels like a friend is talking to you - and I love the format of the book. The author's interspersed the narrative with examples of some of her published (or short-listed) ghost stories and it's great to see how she puts her advice into practice.
Very useful and enjoyable. I just wish it had been longer! And now I'm off to think of a ghost story of my own...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to write ghost stories - not at all scary!, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
Kathleen McGurl is best known to many as blogger Womagwriter. As author of the popular blog, she knows her stuff when it comes to writing for women's magazines and has always been generous about sharing that information with others. This book concentrates all her knowledge on writing ghost stories. As well as having several cracking ghost stories, Kathleen also explains the differences between different types of ghost story and explains what inspired her to write each story.

But don't believe her when she dismisses one first draft as not good enough to publish. I thought that particular section showed a great example of how one story could be told in two different ways and still be an excellent tale.

The book takes the fear out of writing ghost stories. Read it for the stories or for the advice, or for both. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Writer that is spookily good, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
Kath has a nice chatty style that is easily accessible to both beginner writers and experienced writers. For those starting out on their writing journey there are some very good tips on structure and lots of examples from her own excellent ghost stories to explain each point she discusses. For writers that haven't tried a ghost story like myself or just want to polish one and need some pointers then it is also a very practical, concise guide. I liked the way she showed the evolution of a story. That is rarely done but is very useful. If you have no desire to write a story then you can just enjoy reading the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
This is a very well put together little book and I should think anyone who wishes to write for magazines would get a great deal from it. And anyone who wanted to read ghost stories would love it too. A great addition to any writer's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ghost-story writer's compendium, 15 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
I have been a short story writer for many years but don't always know how I did it, or if I can do it again... This is a really good explanatory compendium on ghost-story writing for beginners and seasoned magazines writers alike. The approach is logical, well laid out and easy to follow with great examples of already successfully published stories. After a few months off and trying to get back into short story writing again, this is a godsend. I hope the author plans a series of these to include other genres because she has really hit on something here.... and I wish her lots of luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Ghosts can be Represented in Short Stories., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
I've always wanted to write short stories and this book gave me a good idea about those which include ghosts i.e. what they can a can't do. The author has included a lot of her own stories, to see the teaching in action. Though these do seem to take up a lot of the word count of the book, they do enhance the reader's understanding.

It really is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead useful!, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
A great little how-to manual, interspersed with a variety of enjoyable ghost stories, each used to illustrate a point. This is clearly set out and easy to read and is useful for the novice as well as reminding the more prolific writer of those very important pointers necessary to keep the stories well-polished.

By the time I had reached the end, I had a story in mind, so 'inspiring' is another credit we can attribute to 'Ghost Stories and How to Write Them'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
The author's style is engaging - it feels as though she is sitting across the table,warming her hands on a mug of tea. She's a friendly expert who never comes across as patronising or flip. Here we have her published magazine stories AND her advice about how to write something similar AND information about potential markets. A very good buy for readers and writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spookily brilliant, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
A great read for any writer. Friendly, informative, insightful, even mathematical - ghostly advice that's backed up by great examples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective format, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories and How to Write Them (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book for anyone interested in short story writing for the women's magazine market in the UK. The format is excellent - writing advice interwoven with great examples of the author's own ghost stories - which really helps to illustrate the points made in the how-to sections of the book. Great stories too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Stories and How to Write Them
1.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews