Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Diverse and Interesting Selection
How difficult it must be to choose one hundred pieces of short fiction from the huge number and variety of short stories in print, many of them written by very talented authors. Victoria Hislop, however, has done very well to bring together a diverse selection of stories and authors in this beautifully presented doorstep of a book. Naturally Victoria Hislop has included...
Published 10 months ago by Susie B

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very personal choice of the editor
I chose this book because I was heading for a course in London and imagined that the short story format would suit my commute. I did give it a good try - I sat on the tube for three hours and read most of the chapter on Lives of Women - but the stories were invaribly dismal and uninspiring - they really bought my mood down. This was a Kindle purchase, maybe if I'd bought...
Published 4 months ago by Cathy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing collection, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
The variety of writing and subject matter is an education in itself. The hard back copy is too heavy to hold and the print is too small so the kindle version fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A large book of great stories, my sister loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
Interesting and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have only flicked through but I can't wait to get stuck. Not one to read at the beach- its huge! But it will amazing on my bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
Not quite what I expected but I enjoyed reading some of the stories. Many are very deep and not everyone's cup of tea, but excellent authors are included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
I was disappointed after having enjoyed books by Victoria Hislop. Thought this might be just as enjoyable but I just couldn't get into the stories, possibly too literary for me. JG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
Usually like Victoria but couldn't finish this, tried a few story's but all so full of themselves and pages and pages of words but nothing happening. Not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a hard life for us all, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again something I purchased as a gift and haven't read. Consequently I am not in any position to comment - although normally that is no reason not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good English, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
I haven't finished reading it yet. Lessing I find a bit dull. Look forward to next How many? I'll keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 25 Oct 2013
By 
P. Maulik "Book" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a present for someone. I have not read it

It is expected to be good
I have heard the review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews