Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Diverse and Interesting Selection
How difficult it must be to choose one hundred pieces of short fiction from the huge number and variety of short stories in print, many of them written by very talented authors. Victoria Hislop, however, has done very well to bring together a diverse selection of stories and authors in this beautifully presented doorstep of a book. Naturally Victoria Hislop has included...
Published 9 months ago by Susie B

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very personal choice of the editor
I chose this book because I was heading for a course in London and imagined that the short story format would suit my commute. I did give it a good try - I sat on the tube for three hours and read most of the chapter on Lives of Women - but the stories were invaribly dismal and uninspiring - they really bought my mood down. This was a Kindle purchase, maybe if I'd bought...
Published 3 months ago by Cathy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great range of stories ..............., 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
I am really enjoying this. I am not reading it relentlessly as I think this many short stories at once is too much. And also, it will last me longer. Good choices Victoria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the idea of this book but im not wowed by the selection so far - not sure " great " is how I would describe the stories . Perhaps I need more than A level English to appreciate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, 29 Dec 2013
By 
J. Seye (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks lovely and would make a lovely gift. Bought for myself and love reading the shorts in here. The one's I have read so far are old school stuff but still very good. Looking forward to reading more recent ones too. Love the variation of writing styles. Definatly worth investing in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful selection, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
This is a great anthology of short stories by a wide range of women in terms of time and style, very well selected and introduced by Victoria Hislop, who talked about the anthology on Woman's Hour recently. I'm just sorry that the lack of space in my bookshelves didn't permit me to get the handsome fat hardback edition, but the Kindle serves well. I've read several of the stories and am looking foward to reading many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read so far, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
I've only read about five stories so far, but they are beautifully written short stories with a powerful theme. I'm reading them on a short weekend break as I don't have time to read full length novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
Shocked and delighted at the price. 59 pence for 100 well chosen stories. This has been put together by Victoria Hislop with love in her heart. Haven't read any of the stories yet. I have just looked at the names of the writers and the stories. Many collection of stories just rehash the same old standards without any thought that the reader has read them all an hundred times before. I am new to most of these stories. The authors are out of the top drawer. They could not write a bad story. The story I am going to read first is called Corruption by Penelope Lively. According to Victoria Hislop in an interview she gave to Open Book the story is about a judge and his wife going away on holiday with their car boot full of pornography magazines which have been impounded by the authorities. It's a comic tale.

I'd advise anyone to snap this 800 page book up before Amazon come to their senses and increase the price ten fold or more. This is no cheap collection. It looks good inside and will certainly read well. The bargain of the century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
In her introduction Victoria Hislop says that the thing a short story must do is to grab your attention. For me quite a few of these stories fail that test. There are some gems but as many more that are not worth the effort. Be prepared to skim and skip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a magnificent book. It was bought as a present but nearly didn't get sent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didnt read it myself. Bought it as a present ..., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didnt read it myself. Bought it as a present, have had no feed back as yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story: Love, Loss & The Lives of Women: 100 Great Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
I have always enjoyed Victoria Hiislops books. Did not enjoy the short stories. . I was very disappointed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews