Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, emotional and tense!
This is as good as Dick Francis for tension in the racing world. Ok there is a bit more sex, but this still is left to your imagination rather than being detailed. The early mornings, rain, mud, highs and lows of working at a racing stables combined with events in the past threatening the stability of those in the present make a thrilling read. I was nearly in tears...
Published 10 months ago by MummyC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... of reading Hannah Hooton and gives Dick Francis a good chase.
First time of reading Hannah Hooton and gives Dick Francis a good chase.
Published 1 month ago by Alan Dunderdale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, emotional and tense!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is as good as Dick Francis for tension in the racing world. Ok there is a bit more sex, but this still is left to your imagination rather than being detailed. The early mornings, rain, mud, highs and lows of working at a racing stables combined with events in the past threatening the stability of those in the present make a thrilling read. I was nearly in tears with the emotion of the Grand National, caught up in the frenzy as if watching it on TV or even being there. The romance is totally believable, not slushy or over sentimental. Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very readable, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written novel - hard to put down! There is humour and sadness and Hannah Hooton has the gift of making you understand and like sometimes complex and difficult characters. The author obviously knows a lot about horses and the world of racing, as well as being an expert in human nature.
This novel is basically a romance (not my usual genre) but it is so well put together and interesting that I absolutely loved reading it.
I preferred this book to the previous Aspen Valley novel. I do hope there are going to be more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book! It's nice to read a romance that's set in England - I was beginning to worry about our love lives!! The characters were all relatable and the story line more than believable - and it has a good bit of drama! Just goes to prove you don't need steamy sex scenes for a book to work worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giving Chase, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful horsy romance, interesting racing info combined by a slow love affair, just had to keep reading it, more please, Thank You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're off, 10 April 2013
By 
Alex Mellanby (ROYSTON, Herts, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
"Wow. I can feel the love story, big-hearted and tugging at all my heart strings. More sequels, please! The horse racing takes me there, running along the rails - am I looking at the horses or Rhys? But then the danger, the fences hit you just as hard as the emotions. Hannah Hooton leaves the reader in no doubt she knows what she is talking about. I learnt so much.
This might be a modern Romeo and Juliet tale but there's nothing ancient about this story. It runs at pace and once you're off then it's more than a struggle to put down."
Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Feels a little strange initially joining the scene through a different characters eyes. But you soon get over it and find yourself liking frankie just as much as pippa...
A short but good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful to read the third book in the Aspen Valley series; I found it to be every bit as enjoyable as it's predecessors. As with all of Hannah Hooton's books, the characters are brilliantly written - in most cases hugely likable and incredibly life-like. Rhys' character is superb - as someone else has said, he's a moody individual without frustrating the reader.

It's wonderful too to see the return of some previous characters (both human and equine)- it's almost like checking up on the 'family' after a period of not seeing them.

I'd happily recommend this book - it will appeal to many people, not just racing enthusiasts. The book is beautifully written; I'm a racefan and love the books, but my mum is less so, and she gets a real kick out of reading the books too. We're already looking forward to the fouth book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... of reading Hannah Hooton and gives Dick Francis a good chase., 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
First time of reading Hannah Hooton and gives Dick Francis a good chase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book; only criticism - elderly cats with thyroid problems (I have personal experience with 23 year old) don't need an operation as the first resort. The condition can be managed successfully with the right medication. Otherwise spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent novel from Hannah Hooton. With romance, passion, horses and, of course, a very sexy man involved, where could you go wrong? The tension in Giving Chase was fantastic and left me reading chapter after chapter to see where the story led. Can't wait to start reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Giving Chase (Aspen Valley Book 2)
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews