Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masters Of Their Craft: Americana Punk
GOD-DANG!!! A fantastic debut album. It should make any fan of Pavement
(and especially the "Slanted and Enchanted" album)as happy as a squirrel
in a barrel of nuts.

Maybe some of my enthusiasm for Parquet Courts is fuelled by my love for
all things Pavement, and even though songs like "Careers in combat" and
"N Dakota" could be mistaken for...
Published 19 months ago by Hilton Royale

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun but not worthy of the hype.
Light up gold is a fun and energetic album, and as another reviewer on here so aptly pointed out it does indeed bring to mind the glory days of both Pavement and the Strokes, along with The Fall and The Van Pelt.

However, it really does not justify being hailed as the greatest guitar album of the decade or the band(more ridiculously)being called the new...
Published 15 months ago by Stoker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masters Of Their Craft: Americana Punk, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
GOD-DANG!!! A fantastic debut album. It should make any fan of Pavement
(and especially the "Slanted and Enchanted" album)as happy as a squirrel
in a barrel of nuts.

Maybe some of my enthusiasm for Parquet Courts is fuelled by my love for
all things Pavement, and even though songs like "Careers in combat" and
"N Dakota" could be mistaken for Malkmus compositions, Parquet Courts
are no copycats. They bring their own flavor to the table, and this
excellent collection of short and sharp songs about sex, food, drugs
and loneliness gives me some of the same excitement as hearing "is this
it?" by The Strokes for the first time.

Recommended songs: Master of my craft, Borrowed time, Yr no stoner,
Careers in combat, Stoned and starving, Disney P.T.

Some parts Pavement, some parts Wire, some parts The Spider Bags,
some parts Guided By Voices, some parts The Fall, some parts Strokes.

All parts Parquet Courts - New York City Punk Rock at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light up[ gold, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Up Gold (MP3 Download)
A lovely warm album you can listen to all the way through (remember how albums were when we were kids!) like pavement playing the strokes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe I didn't write a review earlier!!, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
Got this CD from the US in January 2013, and it stayed in my CD player the whole year! This was the sound of 2013 for me. There is not a bad track on here, from beginning to end it is great. Instantly accessible and enjoyable, but rewarding in the long run as well. The first half is full of short, sharp slices of punk, full of hooks and pounding rhythms. The second half is more sedate, but doesn't suffer for it. The outstanding 'Stoned & Starving' is one of the best tracks ever in my opinion, while album closer 'Picture of Health' is beautifully melancholy in atmosphere. The lyrics are smart and funny, the guitars are punchy and full of reverb and feedback. If you like any sort of punk/rock/indie this album is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Album, 26 May 2014
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
It really begins as too energy and good songs, but soeones wouldn't be part of this, I believe could be part of experimental pieces, ok, it has a lot of energy and power. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best new release of 2013 so far, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
Fantastic guitar band, this album is packed with fab tunes. 2013 has been a great year for new music but amongst all the excellent releases so far this is the freshest band i've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the hell out of it., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
I thought the album was great . The lyric writing was very clever and bits were a bit odd and random . The sound sounded like a mix between Punk and New Wave . The guitar playing was just out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun but not worthy of the hype., 14 May 2013
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
Light up gold is a fun and energetic album, and as another reviewer on here so aptly pointed out it does indeed bring to mind the glory days of both Pavement and the Strokes, along with The Fall and The Van Pelt.

However, it really does not justify being hailed as the greatest guitar album of the decade or the band(more ridiculously)being called the new saviours of rock. It just goes to show what a dire state the indie guitar world is in when the slightest sniff of anything exciting is expected to change the face of music as we know it.
These guys are probably laughing themselves silly at such claims.

The main problem I personally have with this album (and I'm sure the hipsters will be out for my blood) is it simply runs out of steam. The second half of the album is fairly dull and low on ideas.
Perhaps it would have made for a good EP but as an album it tends to just drag.

Still, the strong tracks "Master of my Craft", "Stoned and Starving" and "Borrowed Time" are an enjoyable breath of fresh air, and at half an hour running time it's almost certainly worth a LOUD listen. Just don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern lovers for a modern age, 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
From the velvet underground to the Modern Lovers to the strokes, out American cousins sure know how to do garage rock better than anybody else. This album is a pure blast of rocking tunes, the opening track sets the tone for the rest of the album basic drums dirty guitars and sneering vocals. Parquet Courts have gone to the Adam Green and pixies school of music sharp and short tunes, apart from the longer paranoid filled song stoned and starving . The most fun album I've heard in years. Like this band track down a band called Harlem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars album of the year, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Up Gold (Audio CD)
vying with queens Of The Stone Age for album of the year. like a mish-mash of most of my favourite ever bands - the fall, the strokes, and most of all pavement. great lyrics too...believe the hype and get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me feel 20 again, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Suzanne Cornyn "cornynthecob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Up Gold [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This album has an energy and dynamism I haven't felt in a long, long time. As I've said, it takes me back to being 19 or 20, hearing Pavement's Summer Babe for the first time. Many people may say it's derivative but any band that can transport me back to some of the most exciting days of my life must be doing something right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light Up Gold [Explicit]
Light Up Gold [Explicit] by Parquet Courts
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews