Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Am Kloot - A beautifully crafted album of twisted sad laments
"I Am Kloot's" last album "The Sky at night" was a gem and John Bramwell's mixture of twisted sad laments and heart warming anthems should have dominated the charts for an eternity. True a Mercury nomination followed and the presence of the Elbow heavyweights Guy Garvey and Craig Potter at the mixing desk generated significant interest. But while it shone a light on the...
Published 18 months ago by Red on Black

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pleasant
Not brilliant, but an enjoyable album. Perhaps I am just not a 'I am Kloot' fan. Some people adore this, I don't
Published 15 months ago by Mr. Charles P. Ross


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Am Kloot - A beautifully crafted album of twisted sad laments, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
"I Am Kloot's" last album "The Sky at night" was a gem and John Bramwell's mixture of twisted sad laments and heart warming anthems should have dominated the charts for an eternity. True a Mercury nomination followed and the presence of the Elbow heavyweights Guy Garvey and Craig Potter at the mixing desk generated significant interest. But while it shone a light on the band the beam was not dazzling. On this new album "Let it all in" the same producers are back although if anything this is a less commercial beast with much of the lushness removed and return to the punchy harder edge of earlier albums with a number of first takes included. It may however be more of a stayer since the quality as ever that shines through. The opener is the burlesque blues of "Bullets" and sees Bramwell bitterly reflecting that "you treat your mind like a cheap hotel/somewhere you can stay but never stop" until it also crashes into a ferocious guitar solo which echoes a Tom Waits style intervention. "Let them all in" is a gentle acoustic number beautifully sung by Bramwell with understated band accompaniment while the excellent "Hold back the Night" could have alternatively figured on Portishead's trip hop gloomy masterpiece "Dummy". It starts with a bass and vocal, an echoing guitar sparingly inserting lonely notes until a the introduction of a pounding piano is eventually swept away by dramatic orchestral strings. As a single it will not trouble the charts but as a great song it ticks all the boxes.

Other songs like the bittersweet "Mouth on Me" harks back to childhood themes and showcases how this band fit together like a well worn glove. Peter Jobson (bass) and Andy Hargreaves (drums) are never needlessly showy but have a great understanding of how to colour in the prefect backdrop, borne of 14 years of reading each others musical mind. It also makes you realize quite how close is young Alex Turner's vocal style to that of Bramwell. Other songs include the lovely little ditty "Masquerade" is pure George Harrison while the jaunty "Some better day" is possibly the one song here that would have obviously fitted on "The Sky at night". There are a couple of songs that don't really engage that much, thus at this at this early point "Shoeless" seems a bit drab, and the last song "These days are mine" possibly overworks the Beatles linkage. That said I Am Kloot songs grow like trees over time and more perseverance will pay of. Much better is the bigger anthem and aching melody of "Even the stars" which sounds to this reviewer to be one of the best things that Bramwell has written.

In the final judgement this is an album which yet again proves that "I Am Kloot" are a hidden treasure and this record will undoubtedly consolidate an already uber loyal fan base and possibly expand it. "Let it all in" shows a band comfortable in their own skin, making the music they want to make and if you like it then fantastic but if you don't move on. This is music that makes sense when you consider the bands 14 year career and their refusal to deviate from a path of steady persistence which will probably never lead to enormous riches. The obvious thing to have done would have been to record "The Sky at Night Part 2". Its to Bramwell and co's credit that they have resisted this and in turn made an album that when all the necessary ingredients come together has a sheer emotional pull which is irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2013 LOOKS LIKE BEING A GREAT YEAR FOR MUSIC !, 21 Jan 2013
By 
pete shields "axepete" (Mansfield Notts England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
I have always enjoyed I Am Kloot.
They have produced some great work to date but "Let It All In" is, in my opinion, streets ahead of anything else they have ever previously recorded.
The production is perfect.
Lyrically it is wonderful.
" Bullets" is pure genius.
The music is beautifully crafted with a tasty choice of instrumentation which provides the perfect canvass for John Bramwell's fabulously delivered vocal lines.
The trumpet on Some Better Day is exquisite and there is almost a Beatles vibe going on upon some of the tracks, yet this is merely a loose comparison as I Am Kloot always stamp their own inimitable identity upon all their work.
On the whole, there is a more reflective flavour to this album yet it still has enough bite.
Each track weaves its own magical spell and the song order keeps a superb sense of movement throughout the whole listen with subtle, clever twists and turns.
Along with Villagers "Awayland", this is one of the great albums, already, of 2013.
It would seem we are in for a treat this year as the bar is raised, so the standard has been set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love this album, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (MP3 Download)
I can't begin to say how much I absolutely love this album! There isn't a bad track on it and it is definately is my top album so far this year. It's one of those rare albums that I can sit and listen to with my headphones on and it makes my soul happy! Well with a few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
I love this band and listen to this while writing. Hold back the night is the best track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am impressed, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
Another brilliant album by one of the most underrated bands ever. Some great tunes and, as ever, beautiful vocals. It's a shame that they don't get greater recognition. This album has all the familiar sound that made Sky At Night such a wonderful and enduring album and this time Guy Garvey's assistance has put the shine on some more great compositions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All in [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Had a few Kloot albums came to them late but am so glad I found them as they can be astounding!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
Bought because of Guy Garvey connection. Good listening and well produced. Sings tell a story and album gets better with each listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Grower That Doesn't Stop Growing..., 16 Jun 2013
By 
D. L. Young "young Danny" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
This is perhaps I am Kloot's true masterpiece. A lyrical tour de-force, its melodies lodge themselves in the brain and simply don't shift. It's an album that reveals its charms gradually and the committed listener will find something different with each outing. I am Kloot have given us a rich and vivid album that lyrically encompasses the whimsical, the poignant and the sardonic within their story telling.

This is a beautiful album that ignores the contemporary need for cliche and immediacy within so many current releases. Here we have an album for those of us who want to invest some time in appreciating true songcraft. Proper music, in other words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!!, 15 Jun 2013
By 
B. G. Cullen (lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
Wot can I say? Every1 listening out 4 this after their last critically acclaimed cd. But, they do not fail 2 deliver great atmospheric manc stuff. Do noy b put off by the word "manc".....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good to see, good to listen to, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (MP3 Download)
Saw this band at Holmfirth Picturedrome recently, ordered this CD a week before to familiarise myself with the music. Already enjoying the CD before the show but seeing them perform was the icing on the cake. Have since ordered another of theirs. Just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It All In
Let It All In by I Am Kloot
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews