Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars62
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2013
If you think you need to be a bit more assertive in your life this is definitely the book for you! It is clear and easy to understand and helps you to be more confident when dealing with difficult situations and people - not just at work but in your home life as well. I thoroughly recommend this book as one of the best I have read within my management development role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
What's great about this book is the very clear distinction it makes from the outset between real, positive and assertive behaviour, with agressive ways of speaking and behaving. The line is so easy to cross, and so any book of this nature has to tread carefully. This edition does a brilliant and careful job of it. The comparison to make between assertiveness and passive-agression is an easier one to deal with, but likewise, the book does an excellent job of demonstrating and teaching assertiveness through contrasting, real-world examples of both these negative modes of conduct and attitude.

The examples are drawn from all walks of life - not only the usual workplace scenarios you'll get in books like this, but assertiveness when dealing with friends, family and beyond. If you're having trouble standing your ground, feel you're being taken for granted by others and find it hard to say no to unreasonable requests, then they're dealt with thoroughly for all kinds of situations.

The instruction is clear, the examples credible and instantly applicable to everyday life, and you'll get reinforcement in the form of mini-exercises throughout the book. A practical and helpful guide, particularly if you're coming at it from a rather passive natural state (as I was!) - and it's nice and concise, a quick read which gets straight into the nitty-gritty.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Conrad and Suzanne's latest book is yet another solid life lesson. Whilst Assertiveness is the key theme the book is filled to overflowing with wisdom and invaluable advice applicable in every walk of life. This is truly a must read treasure which should be in everyone's collection. Thanks for sharing and educating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I found the book thought provoking and challenging. The 'social' situations written about were easy to identify with and I've experienced each of the 'work' ones, especially the one about coping with conflict at work. The advice given works - I can assure other potential readers it's definitely worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have a problem with assertiveness despite having been the MD of a company. I often don't assert myself right from the start, assuming that people will know, leading to misunderstandings and people taking advantage of the situation leading to me erupting in anger when things go wrong. I was therefore pleased to get some ideas from this book on how to deal with each issue before things progress too far. The writer goes through various scenarios describing how to assert oneself and how not too.

Seems that there are 3 sorts of people. Those who are walkovers, those who are too aggressive and those who assert themselves. We are mostly a combination of all 3 but have to think carefully how to word things before confrontation rears it's ugly head.

Some good ideas and a book to return to every now and again to remind oneself on how to handle people.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a very concise book, for those who struggle to be assertive. I like the practical experiences which put the idea of asserting oneself in an easy to understand manner. Very positive and helpful. An easy to read book. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
An excellent book which must help anyone who reads it. So many today fail to appreciate the necessities of how to conduct not only themselves but business in a profitable manner. Whether you want to write a CV or conduct sales negotiations this book is a must and ideal for helping those taking written or oral exams. What a pity not many politicians will read it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Interesting read. Some good tips and I guess should be referred to from time to time as the assertiveness levels appear to be improving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
My wife and I read this and both agreed that it is weak bordering on puerile. The content could be condensed into 3 pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I like this book because its straightforward, without a lot of fuss. I wish I had read it years ago. I'm reading through a similar book which is aimed at per-teens with my daughters and maybe one day I'll lend them this book too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)