Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Tales
The Handsomes' continue their "happy" journey though the wilderness with this album, more tales of the shimmering mists and dim caves. Oddly this sounds like olde English Folk, rather than Americana in a lot of places. A great selection of songs and Rennies lyrics are again very well observed, humorous and timelessly old fashioned.

Stand out songs for me the...
Published 14 months ago by retroandy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great band
Not as good as the music from 'true Detective' would have you believe...(and that was remixed for the series) a bit samey but if you;re in the mood for doomy stuff...
Published 3 months ago by Simon Crutchley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Tales, 24 May 2013
By 
retroandy (Banbury, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
The Handsomes' continue their "happy" journey though the wilderness with this album, more tales of the shimmering mists and dim caves. Oddly this sounds like olde English Folk, rather than Americana in a lot of places. A great selection of songs and Rennies lyrics are again very well observed, humorous and timelessly old fashioned.

Stand out songs for me the jolly "Woodpecker" alluding to Mary Sweeney who I first heard about in the book/movie Wisconsin Death Trip and the great sea-shanty-documentry, about the strange powers of the Octopus ("...thats why I try and stay away from sea-shore holidays"). Glow-worm sees Brett once again (Bottomless Hole style) descending into the unknown, albeit with a bigger budget this time. A Jules Verne style highlight of another great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to par - merely brilliant, 13 July 2013
By 
J. M. Marshall "Touchwood" (Redcar, NE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
Hugely enjoyable wih many memorable tracks, and with a consistency of quality that was occasionally lacking in some earlier albums, this is a welcome addition to their work. Having said that, again unlike some of their earlier work there aren't any real "stand-out" tracks. If you're a fan you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to their usual standard, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (MP3 Download)
I was disappointed initially with Wilderness as it sounded very much like other HF albums with no stand out tracks and it seemed as though the HF were going through the motions. However, after repeated listenings I have grown to like it very much.The lyrics are excellent, with each song having an animal theme but are often about the weird and quirky behaviour of humans- one song, for example, being about a woman who went round smashing windows. Catch the HF live if you can- their on stage banter is very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The quirky family are back!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
I would recommend this to anyone who likes their music on the strange side! Like many, I came across The Handsome Family after their success with the True Detective music. I have since seen them live and explored other albums. I love it, although it is nothing lke my usual taste in music, as I'm not a huge country fan. Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky but genius too., 8 Aug 2013
By 
Allan Mcfadyen "Allan McFadyen" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (MP3 Download)
Another beauty from the Harlins. More quirky than usual but all the trademarks of this exceptional duo are there, the great craftsmanship allied to sly humour. If you like this band and don't already have it buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
While it is always going to be difficult to top such greats as Through the Trees and In the Air, this is still a great addition to the family's canon. I saw them in concert in Hammersmith and Brett had a great rapport with the audience. If you like slightly off kilter Americana, you'll love this. In my opinion they round off the big three in the same company as Lambchop and Willard Grant Conspiracy - enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
I like these guys. They are very under rated. The female is kinda cute and likes cats. Therefore I approve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animal themed concept album with macabre images & humour, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
Husband and wife duo Brett and Rennie Sparks have been creating their own unique brand of Americana for over 20 years now. She always looks rather goth like with dark hair and ruby lips, a witchy woman, and is responsible for writing the lyrics.He has a bigger more rotund frame with a bushy greying beard, a distinctive baritone voice, and is reponsible for the music. Each track is named with a single word title of an animal,such as opener Flies, and others like Frogs,Woodpecker, Gulls,Octopus etc. There are a few guest musicians playing a supporting role, but it is basically the husband and wife duo continuing to plough their own unique musical furrow. The imagery of Wilderness and wildlife contained within the album is strangely skewed and all rather surreal, as is the norm for the Handsome Family. They have quirky takes on life, unusual black humour stories, and this continues their past track record. I don't think it will be likely to win many new converts, but if like me you are already smitten by their unique take on life, quite unlike anyone else around, then I am sure you will enjoy this latest installment in their fine catalogue of discs. It is not necessarily their best album, but it continues their unusual take on life, and is a fine new addition, and they are currently on a brief tour in the UK , so there maybe a chance to catch them live somewhere nearby. The album cover artwork is by Renee, and is an accompanying visual compendium of the animals named on each track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great band, 9 April 2014
By 
Simon Crutchley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
Not as good as the music from 'true Detective' would have you believe...(and that was remixed for the series) a bit samey but if you;re in the mood for doomy stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Listening, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness (Audio CD)
Hi This was purchased as some of the songs were great for kids!!!! They loved it recommend this cd as an introduction to a different genre of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wilderness
Wilderness by The Handsome Family
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews