Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Found footage it might be but...
This is the business. At last a superior found footage film that really works well.The camera wobble is kept to a minimum and unlike Paranormal Inactivity and Devil's Due it doesn't leave you with a migraine. I found it funny and above all really frightening, please do yourself a favour and watch it with the lights out. If you fancy a traditional British Ghost story then...
Published 12 months ago by Catzilla

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You might have better things to do with your time.
I was so disappointed! This movie started slow and oddly reliable, built to a really effective level of fright and then cannoned downhill at 100 miles an hour in the closing minutes. Forget closure. Did they run out of money? Did they lose interest? Or do the makers of movies like this believe that unless the audience is granted a certain gore factor, they'll lose...
Published 6 months ago by Jaye Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Found footage it might be but..., 9 April 2014
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
This is the business. At last a superior found footage film that really works well.The camera wobble is kept to a minimum and unlike Paranormal Inactivity and Devil's Due it doesn't leave you with a migraine. I found it funny and above all really frightening, please do yourself a favour and watch it with the lights out. If you fancy a traditional British Ghost story then this creeping tale of terror is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very encouraging!, 26 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
To quote another reviewer: 'It will seriously creep you out, if you have an IQ over 100.' Quite agree - I lost patience with people who insisted the Blair Witch Project wasn't scary. How could it not be a scary film? If you don't find this film scary you are either unable to grasp what it is doing, not concentrating, or simply don't like horror films in general. For reviewers to say they switched it off after 30 minutes because it was boring is just crazy.

Anyway. . . I found this to be an effectively creepy and original horror. I thought the dialogue was good, genuinely funny in places and well-delivered. Gordon Kennedy in particular is very good. Considering they obviously didn't have a big budget I think they were especially clever in the way they made this. The ending (no spoilers). . . Wow. Honestly don't know what to say about that (in a good way). Chilling. Like The Blair Witch Project the ending only disappointed because it meant there was no more film. It could have gone on much longer as far as I'm concerned.

Also, what a fascinating new way to cook lamb. . .

I hope the filmmakers stick to this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do not watch the trailer for this movie., 25 Mar. 2015
This review is from: The Borderlands (2013) (Blu-ray)
I think this movie mainly suffers from being categorized as "horror" and the fact that it's a "found footage" movie makes a lot of people instantly judge it and think they know what to expect from it.

The thing is, this movie is full of surprises and doesn't rely on completely moronic jump scares to creep up on you (only exception being once when the camera/sound technician scares his coworker for fun)
It does in fact have a very powerful atmosphere and you are left wondering what they are up against, but the only thing you should know seeing this, is that things are not as they seem.

I also fear that it may have been misintepreted, mainly towards the end (no spoilers don't worry) especially because the mainstream audience today, downright expects an upfront explanation, and being spoonfed every little detail to keep up, the opposite to this movie was recently released and goes by the title "The pyramid" which does exactly that, and the movie is worse because of it.

With the Borderlands however, there is always a sense of dread and eerie atmosphere surrounding you.
The biggest crime for this movie is the trailer. While it doesn't really reveal anything, it definitely leaves you thinking it's a creature feature, which it's not.

This is a GOOD found footage movie, and it's very rich on atmosphere and there is undoubtetly a compelling story to be told.
Later that night after I had watched it, I was walking outside with a sense of fear for the very earth beneath me, and I think it is a testimony to how rich this movie really is on atmosphere.

Good horror/thriller movies are rare, and this is one of them, so I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You might have better things to do with your time., 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
I was so disappointed! This movie started slow and oddly reliable, built to a really effective level of fright and then cannoned downhill at 100 miles an hour in the closing minutes. Forget closure. Did they run out of money? Did they lose interest? Or do the makers of movies like this believe that unless the audience is granted a certain gore factor, they'll lose interest? For 80% of the film I was really interested. Then I was really disappointed. Worth watching for some of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable found-footage thriller, 30 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
As soon as I found out that I had paid good money for yet another so-called 'thriller' using found-footage, my initial reaction was: 'oh no, not again'. However, 'The Borderlands' is in a higher class to the others I've seen.

Long-term Ben Wheatley collaborator Robin Hill is hilarious as Gray, a non believing man, hired only to deal with the recording equipment, who teams up with Deacon, Gordon Kennedy's investigator character, who is a believer, but also has a drink problem, and from there a great double act is formed. The pair are sent by the Vatican to check out a claim by a local priest of a possession taking place in an old village church, via a very fuzzy video where we see crosses and candles moving fleetingly across a table. The priest himself is a rather strange man, whose actions seem to defy logic.

The team originally doubt the so called paranormal activity, until events start to take a darker turn, and it seems that something rather sinister has been awakened. Despite a very witty script, there are some genuinely eerie moments, but nothing in it is what I would personally consider to be particularly heart pounding scary, despite several reviews.

For such a small budget, I think that 'The Borderlands' is something quite good, and has a good balance of comedy and thrills. I liked it, I laughed a lot, and would happily watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned scary movie, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
A good old fashioned scary movie, no special effects no green screen just a good story line and a creepy place for a movie. Not enough of these movies are out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good luck with Edward Woodward..., 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
Another found footage movie gets released, and seeing as this was released on DVD literally a week after its cinema release, with the cover bearing quotes like 'best British horror released in a long time', alarm bells did begin to ring.

But Mark Kermode, one of the most prolific British film critics recommended it, and if you know his work, you will know that this would make the film seem very intriguing.

It starts off like any other found footage film. Cameras are set up, and we have the believer, and the non believer, who work together as there has been a disturbance at a village church.

Gray is there to set up all the audio and cameras (after all, it's the main focus point of the narrative), and Deacon is the man who does this for a living, much like Karras in The Exorcist, but this is played by Gordon Kennedy, who you may remember from the little seen sitcom Absolutely in the early nineties.

The film then follows the rules of the found footage film down to a tee. It's all pretty familiar to begin with, we have the two bonding and drinking etc. and then it fades to the church, where sinister things are afoot at night.

As always, there is a scene where you, the viewer says ''I'd leave by that point', and then the locals start to be funny with them.

All sounds a little samey doesn't it?

But then it just goes down the straight horror route, and believe me, the final ten minutes are almost unbearable to watch, not because its scary, the film isn't necessarily scary at all, it's just very tense, and the word despair comes into mind.

The two leads are wonderful, one annoying, and the other calm, to begin with. And then the tables turn, Deacon begins to doubt, and Gray the opposite.

It's been almost a week since I've seen it, but that very last scene, is still playing on my mind, not because it's anything groundbreaking, it truly isn't, it's just the air of desperation and despair that surrounds it, a film that will definitely stay with you.

It's haunting and eerie, and thank heavens it doesn't go for the loud noises jump scares that infect all horror movies now.

Really worth seeking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children of a Lesser God, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
It's always good to see British films that don't just focus on Notting Hill or Camden, and that don't just involve 'road trips' to see someone's wise old grandfather or whatever. It's good when they take risks as well, and
going for a Blair Witch style found footage approach certainly runs the risk of looking hackneyed and gimmicky. It doesn't feel that way here and I pretty much forgot about it after a while.

The story is pure hokum of course - a cross between the Wicker Man, The Fog, and Rawhead Rex. You might have to look that last one up but I'm old enough to remember Clive Barker's early short stories coming out, and the subsequent film versions. Anyway, some Vatican investigators are sent to a rural church after reports of things going bump in the vestibule. The priest thinks it might be miracles.

I'll give you a clue, it's not, it's something to do with the pagan pre-history of the church site. These elements are nicely handled and the final section is tense, grim and claustrophobic.

The acting won't win any Oscars, but this is a well constructed film with some imaginative themes and a creakily uncomfortable feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beast Below..., 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
A neglected recent British horror classic, with shades of The Wicker Man and Kill List via Royston Vasey. Very well acted too, so you actually care about those involved. Easily one of my favourite films of recent years it deserved a wider release and greater success. The ending will stay with you a while too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good found footage., 14 July 2014
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people dont like found footage movies,but when they are as good as this i dont see why.I think (if done right)found footage is made for horror.
This british entry has a great cast,good story and the setting is perfect.If you like found footage then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Borderlands [DVD]
The Borderlands [DVD] by Elliot Goldner (DVD - 2014)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews