Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Found footage it might be but...
This is the business. At last a superior found footage film that really works well.The camera wobble is kept to a minimum and unlike Paranormal Inactivity and Devil's Due it doesn't leave you with a migraine. I found it funny and above all really frightening, please do yourself a favour and watch it with the lights out. If you fancy a traditional British Ghost story then...
Published 3 months ago by Me

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable found-footage thriller
As soon as I found out that I had paid good money for yet another so-called 'thriller' using found-footage, my initial reaction was: 'oh no, not again'. However, 'The Borderlands' is in a higher class to the others I've seen.

Long-term Ben Wheatley collaborator Robin Hill is hilarious as Gray, a non believing man, hired only to deal with the recording...
Published 2 months ago by ReviewBlog51


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Found footage it might be but..., 9 April 2014
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
This is the business. At last a superior found footage film that really works well.The camera wobble is kept to a minimum and unlike Paranormal Inactivity and Devil's Due it doesn't leave you with a migraine. I found it funny and above all really frightening, please do yourself a favour and watch it with the lights out. If you fancy a traditional British Ghost story then this creeping tale of terror is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable found-footage thriller, 30 April 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
As soon as I found out that I had paid good money for yet another so-called 'thriller' using found-footage, my initial reaction was: 'oh no, not again'. However, 'The Borderlands' is in a higher class to the others I've seen.

Long-term Ben Wheatley collaborator Robin Hill is hilarious as Gray, a non believing man, hired only to deal with the recording equipment, who teams up with Deacon, Gordon Kennedy's investigator character, who is a believer, but also has a drink problem, and from there a great double act is formed. The pair are sent by the Vatican to check out a claim by a local priest of a possession taking place in an old village church, via a very fuzzy video where we see crosses and candles moving fleetingly across a table. The priest himself is a rather strange man, whose actions seem to defy logic.

The team originally doubt the so called paranormal activity, until events start to take a darker turn, and it seems that something rather sinister has been awakened. Despite a very witty script, there are some genuinely eerie moments, but nothing in it is what I would personally consider to be particularly heart pounding scary, despite several reviews.

For such a small budget, I think that 'The Borderlands' is something quite good, and has a good balance of comedy and thrills. I liked it, I laughed a lot, and would happily watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good luck with Edward Woodward..., 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
Another found footage movie gets released, and seeing as this was released on DVD literally a week after its cinema release, with the cover bearing quotes like 'best British horror released in a long time', alarm bells did begin to ring.

But Mark Kermode, one of the most prolific British film critics recommended it, and if you know his work, you will know that this would make the film seem very intriguing.

It starts off like any other found footage film. Cameras are set up, and we have the believer, and the non believer, who work together as there has been a disturbance at a village church.

Gray is there to set up all the audio and cameras (after all, it's the main focus point of the narrative), and Deacon is the man who does this for a living, much like Karras in The Exorcist, but this is played by Gordon Kennedy, who you may remember from the little seen sitcom Absolutely in the early nineties.

The film then follows the rules of the found footage film down to a tee. It's all pretty familiar to begin with, we have the two bonding and drinking etc. and then it fades to the church, where sinister things are afoot at night.

As always, there is a scene where you, the viewer says ''I'd leave by that point', and then the locals start to be funny with them.

All sounds a little samey doesn't it?

But then it just goes down the straight horror route, and believe me, the final ten minutes are almost unbearable to watch, not because its scary, the film isn't necessarily scary at all, it's just very tense, and the word despair comes into mind.

The two leads are wonderful, one annoying, and the other calm, to begin with. And then the tables turn, Deacon begins to doubt, and Gray the opposite.

It's been almost a week since I've seen it, but that very last scene, is still playing on my mind, not because it's anything groundbreaking, it truly isn't, it's just the air of desperation and despair that surrounds it, a film that will definitely stay with you.

It's haunting and eerie, and thank heavens it doesn't go for the loud noises jump scares that infect all horror movies now.

Really worth seeking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tunnel Vision, 20 July 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
The premise has been blanketed endless times in films such as Red Lights, Paranormal Activity and The Awakening, however here the found footage component adds an interesting spin. In this case, they’re using cameras to document every aspect of their findings. Those of you who can’t stand the erratic camera work that so often features in this genre can rest easy; most of the camera work is either dormant shots through security cameras, or mounted to the teams head aka Aliens-style. It has likable characters and comical moments and a feeling of dread but also that some kind of epiphany might befall one of the characters as it floats the idea of religion and curiosity of the unknown around.
While countless are praying forall these found-footage films to end, The Borderlands showcases that you don’t have to be as bland and obvious as some within the genre. By bonding the age-old paranormal investigation plot with new-age technology it creates a sinister and intriguing horror within a genre i personally can feel frequently let down with. It also never makes me want to go through a tunnel again either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very encouraging!, 26 April 2014
By 
D. Carter "gangesred" (Totalitarian London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
To quote another reviewer: 'It will seriously creep you out, if you have an IQ over 100.' Quite agree - I lost patience with people who insisted the Blair Witch Project wasn't scary. How could it not be a scary film? If you don't find this film scary you are either unable to grasp what it is doing, not concentrating, or simply don't like horror films in general. For reviewers to say they switched it off after 30 minutes because it was boring is just crazy.

Anyway. . . I found this to be an effectively creepy and original horror. I thought the dialogue was good, genuinely funny in places and well-delivered. Gordon Kennedy in particular is very good. Considering they obviously didn't have a big budget I think they were especially clever in the way they made this. The ending (no spoilers). . . Wow. Honestly don't know what to say about that (in a good way). Chilling. Like The Blair Witch Project the ending only disappointed because it meant there was no more film. It could have gone on much longer as far as I'm concerned.

Also, what a fascinating new way to cook lamb. . .

I hope the filmmakers stick to this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars XXXCELLENT LOW BUDGET INDIE BRIT FLICK, 9 April 2014
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
Some excellent camera work, editing, and acting, especially the footage filmed in the Mysterious pagan tunnels / secret passages, my only criticism is i think at times some of the scenes dragged at the start (even if they were possibly to make the setting/story seem more realistic) and would be better with editing some out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great British Movie, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
This is my first ever movie review. I felt compelled to write this because The Borderlands is a fantastic low budget british movie that deserves more publicity. Robin Hill and Gordon Kennedy are well cast and make the whole film believable from start to finish. I do like the found footage genre and I think this is one of the best. The tension in the movie built up nicely with quite a few jumpy moments accompanied by an increasing feeling of dread. The finale was very scary. The humour in the movie was pitched just right and the conversations between the two main characters felt ad-libbed rather than scripted, adding to the feeling of authenticity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly very good......, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't expecting very much from this little gem, as it happens l was wrong!

I enjoyed and endeared to both of the main characters & the balance between horror & humor was just right. Effects were subtle but did the job & the story line was really quite scary.

I know found footage can be considered to be 'lazy film making' but in this case there was a slightly new twist on it

If you fancy a good scary, you can't go wrong here :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Borderline bordemness, 15 July 2014
This review is from: The Borderlands (DVD)
For me, this film was just about watchable... I kept watching because I kept on thinking this is when the action is about to take place. But no, I was disappointedly wrong every time. I actually don't know what I expected to see but I didn't ' see ' anything remotly scary in the time I wasted watching this rubbish!! The cover on the case makes this DVD look cool... Don't be fooled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good found footage., 14 July 2014
This review is from: The Borderlands [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people dont like found footage movies,but when they are as good as this i dont see why.I think (if done right)found footage is made for horror.
This british entry has a great cast,good story and the setting is perfect.If you like found footage then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Borderlands [DVD]
The Borderlands [DVD] by Elliot Goldner (DVD - 2014)
3.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews