Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foody fun
I received this book as a gift and I very much enjoyed it. It is a light fun read about the authors life and history with food. All the pages are in colour and the print quality is very nice. It made me smile many times.
Published on 20 May 2013 by merrua

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing.
As a chef who loves graphic novels, I was looking forward to this book a lot, but found it lacking. The author comes across as a typical pretentious, American foodie who smugly recounts tales of a life bound in the privileges of class, but at no point acknowledges that her childhood full of sophisticated food, fine dining and expensive holidays were not a result of chance...
Published on 20 July 2013 by Siobhan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it!, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
Autamme_dot_com (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Relish: My Life in the Kitchen (Kindle Edition)
This is not the usual kind of book that we review at YUM yet this caught our eye...

Here is an interesting thing that might appeal more to the younger reader, yet even us older folks might learn a thing or two along the way. The author is a foodie, as one might imagine the daughter of a chef and gourmet to be, and here she has presented her life to date in the form of a series of quite good self-drawn cartoons. There are also a number of recipes, a mixture of both treasured family dishes and a few of the author's own invention.

The book's marketing information says that it is "... a book for our time: it invites the reader to celebrate food as a connection to our bodies and a connection to the earth, rather than an enemy, a compulsion, or a consumer product." That might go over the head of some, whilst for others it might fasten a strong connection. In any case the combination of humorous cartoons that impart a serious message and many great recipes make this book a curious, interesting thing to behold. Certainly this reviewer would not have knowingly picked up "just a food cartoon book" from the shelf, yet the author has managed - in a positive way - to get under this reviewer's skin and awaken some interest.

Teenagers may like this book, even if they disagree with some of the messages, whilst it remains accessible and interesting to those for whom their teenage years are but a distant memory. The author has managed to carefully construct a cartoon series that can be appreciated by all ages. The recipes, if only by virtue of them appearing in a similar cartoon-style, are more likely to appeal to the younger audience even though if they were more conventionally-presented they would not be out-of-place in a more traditional book. Whilst this reviewer enjoyed looking at the cartoons, reading and reacting to the recipes just felt a bit too much like hard work. Different strokes for different folks, though.

What to say about this book? It might be one of those things you either love or hate. Certainly it would be a more unique gift for the cook who has everything and it might even spur your teenage children into being a little more adventurous with the food and maybe give them the cooking bug too. Or it might get you back into the kitchen, but as a YUM reader one can expect you are already spending a lot of time there! Take a look for yourself and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foody fun, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Relish: My Life in the Kitchen (Kindle Edition)
I received this book as a gift and I very much enjoyed it. It is a light fun read about the authors life and history with food. All the pages are in colour and the print quality is very nice. It made me smile many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relish (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this amazing graphic memoir, a genre I really love. The Illustrated recipes were gorgeous and the coloring was some of the best! I've read this multiple times simply for the sumptuous artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 19 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Relish (Paperback)
Yet another wonderful graphic novel from Lucy Knisley. A lovely story of her travels from Venice to Kitchens to Chicago to new York. The artwork as subtle and charming as her previous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 20 July 2013
This review is from: Relish (Paperback)
As a chef who loves graphic novels, I was looking forward to this book a lot, but found it lacking. The author comes across as a typical pretentious, American foodie who smugly recounts tales of a life bound in the privileges of class, but at no point acknowledges that her childhood full of sophisticated food, fine dining and expensive holidays were not a result of chance or luck but of having access to things most people don't. The writing is often painfully flowery, and comes across more as someone trying to impress the reader than of actually trying to be evocative of textures, tastes, etc.

The illustrations however, are lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relish (Paperback)
Lovely book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen
£12.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews