Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Mark in Colne , Lancashire
Good stuff from the greatest voice in rock history!
Inevitably the quality of some of the recordings is better than others. The audience is pretty much inaudible in the mix in some numbers - which matters when Rod and the band are virtually silent to allow the crowd to let rip! Personally , I favour the stuff from the 70's and early 80's when the band was still...
Published 14 months ago by Mark Bateman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest hits again live, is it for you ?
There is so much Rod Stewart out there it's hard to know what to buy if your a new comer, me being a avid fan from the early days of every picture tells story etc and having 95% of his output I reluctantly purchased this, and as live albums go this is not bad, better then The album RS live, stand out tracks are from the Leicester concert 1976, angel is superb, hot legs is...
Published 10 months ago by Faces


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Mark in Colne , Lancashire, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
Good stuff from the greatest voice in rock history!
Inevitably the quality of some of the recordings is better than others. The audience is pretty much inaudible in the mix in some numbers - which matters when Rod and the band are virtually silent to allow the crowd to let rip! Personally , I favour the stuff from the 70's and early 80's when the band was still clearly a rock band playing it proud and loud! As the decades roll on the performances get more polished - and Rod's voice amazingly gets stronger and more consistent - but the manic energy of the 70's gigs is missing. If you are a Rod fan you have to own this set - it will fill the empty days until he tours in a few months time!
One issue : why doesn't the record company release something similar on DVD? any Rod fan knows that hearing the gig is only half the story - the stagecraft of the man has to be seen in order to get the full Rod experience .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest hits again live, is it for you ?, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
There is so much Rod Stewart out there it's hard to know what to buy if your a new comer, me being a avid fan from the early days of every picture tells story etc and having 95% of his output I reluctantly purchased this, and as live albums go this is not bad, better then The album RS live, stand out tracks are from the Leicester concert 1976, angel is superb, hot legs is awful in any shape or form ! If your a collector then buy it if not buy a RS greatest hits there are a million compilations out there or buy The Faces albums,now we're talking .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A live anthology box set to compliment Storytellers and cheap at under £20, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
It not really so easy to review a box set on first listen, but here goes anyway.Any fan will already know most of the songs and Rod is still widely rated as one of the best live acts on the scene, all the hits are here. With 58 songs covering Rod's live rock era before he took a decade break to record the American song book albums and a few slightly iffy covers albums.
Of the Highlight tracks here include "Forever Young" "Sailing" "Every Picture tells a story" "Stay with me" twice(overkill really but recorded 16 years apart). Cover versions of Bruce Springsteen's "Hungry Heart" which is OK if not a patch on the original. There is a great version of "Baby please don't go" possibly made more Famous by Van Morrison in Them. Some songs work better than others but there is a lot of good stuff here for any fan.

Overall is a bargain at under £20 for 58 songs, get it to go with your other boxsets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to his usual standards, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
Why did I choose this rating? Answer because I couldn't give it two and a half!! Why did he allow the release of this very average live set? Money? Doubt it, but can't think of any other reason. If the package was slimmed down to a single CD, it MIGHT have been worth releasing. Even then it would probably be inferior to his earlier "live" sessions i.e. "Absolutely Live" and "Unplugged and almost seated".Has he lost the plot? Apart from "Time" a stunning album, most of what he has recorded in recent years, has been "not to my liking at all" Come on Rodder's regain the plot, or retire gracefully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having been fortunate enough to have seen Rod Stewart in countless live ..., 6 Nov. 2014
By 
Christopher Lawson (Stockport, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
Having been fortunate enough to have seen Rod Stewart in countless live performances since 1978, the one thing I have learnt is that if one goes along expecting a flawless vocal performance you'll be disappointed.
The joy of seeing Rod perform live is all about the whole experience. He is a magnificent showman who always engages with his audience and sells every song as if it's the most important thing you'll ever hear.
This collection really captures the reason why so many of us keep returning, year after year, to see Rod Stewart perform. The great music, the humour, the bonhomie and general feeling of "let's have a great time and if a few mistakes creep in... what the hell" are all here in abundance.
Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix of popular hits and rare covers, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because of the mix of classic, well-known Rod Stewart songs (that I have on other albums, but good to have them in one place) and some real hidden gems. These four discs cover a range of Rod's many different styles form the years, but are peppered with great cover versions that sets this apart from standard greatest hits fare. A few dud notes / voice squeeks as you'd probably expect from a man whose voice is unique but not exactly classically trained, but these are more than made up for by the rest of this great set. Would highly recommend for a Rod fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best from Rod plus more!, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
Great live album from Rod's best performances over the years, definitely worth getting if you are a fan of his. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
jon gjerde (3022 Drammen, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
Interesting journey and documentary from a long career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
This box set covering 4 CDs and a variety of concerts is just fantastic. Yes some tracks are repeated but hey who cares. Sound quality is excellent and a good selection of songs covering a spectrum of styles is wonderful..what a cover of Bruce Springsteen's Hungry Heart is worth the money alone. I am not even going to criticise that we don not get a full show from each venue as it is such good value for money. Keep on rocking Rod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably a must for any Rod fans!, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night (Audio CD)
Not the best live album I've heard but then again it certainly isn't bad. There's plenty of the stuff that people know him for and its done well. What's lacking is that 'stand out' track that makes a live performance note worthy. I don't think any real Rod fans will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night
Live 1976-1998: Tonight's The Night by Rod Stewart (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews