Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish light design and detachable head for versatility, 8 July 2013
By 
Silverfrog (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
This lamp was provided to me by the manufacturer for review and is (as far as I am aware) identical to the retail version.
The lamp comes in 4 parts; the base, a flexible goose-neck stand, the detachable light and a mains plug. These are assembled very easily by screwing in the base to the stand, plugging in the light to the stand and plugging the mains into the base. As with another of Taotronic's versatile natural desk lamps TaoTronics® Elune TT-DL01 (Black) Versatile Natural Light LED Desk Lamp (4 Lighting Modes & 5-level dimmer for each mode, Touch Sensitive Control Panel, 1-Hour Auto Timer, 5V/1A USB Charging Port), there is USB port on the base allowing you to charge your phone or other device directly from the lamp which is extremely handy. Other companies should take note of this great idea. The lamp head is made up of a series of LED lights and has a loop at the end that allows you to attach it to a tent or backpack using the supplied carabiner. This is great and gives you a lot of flexibility in it's use.
I think it would be even better if there was a way of charging the LED lightplate on the move via a USB cable as I often have a portable power supply to charge my phone and would find it useful to be able to charge this lamp on the move (especially when on an extended camping holiday). The only way to charge the lightplate however is via the supplied stand which has a `jack' about the size of a guitar plug. The only other thing I would mention is the on/off dimmer button which is touch sensitive. You can turn it on/off by holding the button for more than 2 seconds which is fine and you can also brighten the light by quickly touching the same button (again very useful). However the once the light is turned off, it won't remember the brightness setting that you last used which Taotronic's other desk lamp has. It also might be nice if this button was maybe indented in some way (or has a little bump) so that you can find the button in the dark.
Other than this I think it's a great light that is handy for all sorts of jobs in the garage, loft or around the house and the gooseneck stand allows you to direct the light in exactly the right position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than a desk lamp, 17 July 2013
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
Before I go on and on :)

Seriously, Only a few weeks ago I paid a good few quid more than this is going for, for a similar but lesser versatile lamp than this one.

It was for my dad who is partially blind.

If you suffer from poor vision (I do) and struggle to read due to the lack of available 'quality' bright white light. . .I would definitely recommend this lamp on that basis alone! My dad tried it out and was impressed.

Anyway. . .Upon delivery I was impressed with the packaging. Good enough to repackage up and use as a carry case to take anywhere.

In the box you get the instructions, the base plate, a flexible goose neck stand, the light head and the charging cable with an adapter from 2 pin to 3 pin plug. This adapter will also come in handy for trips abroad. You also get a 'free' carabiner for which I'll come to in a bit.

Dead easy to put together. Just screw the goose neck flexi stand into the base plate and push the light head onto the large jack and you're done! Plug your charger in and it's now working. The touch sensitive control button on the light head will gently pulse to show it's charging. Once it's charged fully which takes about 8ish hours, it will stop.

To activate the light you just have to touch the button. It has three levels of light. . .

1st long press- low setting
2nd touch- medium setting
3rd touch- high setting

A fourth long press will turn it off. Simple.

The goose neck can be bent into any angle and pointed in any direction. The light head itself can also rotate 360° so this light can basically point anywhere you want it to.
The light has 32 good quality LED bulbs that replicate natural light which is 'less' of a strain on the eyes when reading or doing close-up work such as soldering or jewellery repair (which I do) or intricate model making, than more artificial light such as that from a fluorescent tube/common bulb. The head has five small holes at the top end of the bulbs. These are to aid heat dissipation and therefore keep it cool.

Not only is this a table lamp but the head pops off easily and it is a stand alone versatile multi-purpose light! Brilliant idea!

There's a built in hanger on the light so you could in conjunction with the carabiner hang this in a tent, under a parasol in the garden to give a gentle ambience. It could be attached to or carried in a rucksack/bag if hiking or use it as a shed/cupboard light. An emergency light in the car or even an inspection light in work. Very useful indeed.

There's also a USB charging point in the back of the base! You can charge your gadgets from this too. Nice touch.

According to the manufacturers this light has a 1000mAH battery that can be re-charged upto 500 times which means that on each setting you could get-

Low- 4000 hrs
Med- 2000 hrs
High- 500 hrs

Which is not bad at all considering the low setting is plenty to read at night by.

This is a great looking modern design, good build quality, very versatile desk lamp cum handheld-outdoor-inspection-camping-emergency light.

Highly Recommended.

This light was kindly provided by Taotronics for me to review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable lighting excellence, or a perfect, cable-free desk-lamp, 4 Jun 2013
By 
A Common Reader "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
I was very pleased on receiving this lamp to find what a well-constructed and quality product it is. Even the box it comes in is beautifully made and when I opened it, I could see immediately that this lamp was going to be something special. This is not a "cheap" product but has the feel of something made by Apple or another quality manufacture. It is solidly built with a matt white finish and would be difficult to knock over.

The lamp has a simple and elegant design. The detachable lamp itself is like a blade of light with a panel of small but powerful LED lights underneath. To turn the lights on you just tap the top of the lamp at the point indicated and it goes through three levels of brightness. The light glows rather than glares but is bright enough to make an excellent desk lamp.

The lamp attaches to the stand with a standard jack-plug fitting and can be snapped on and off with ease. This makes it a very portable unit and with the aid of the provided carabiner clip could be attached to a ring on a rucksack or a belt-loop.

The stand is heavy enough to provide stability to the lamp and has a flexible tubular arm allowing you to point the lamp wherever you want. A charging cable is provided and when I opened the box I gave the lamp a full 8 hour charge and although I have used it quite a lot in the meantime, it has still not run out of power. I anticipate that the charge will last about 8 hours on full power but more if the lamp is on one of the lower settings.

You can even plug another device into the USB socket on the base of the lamp to use the power of the lamp's battery for some other purpose. While this is not something I would use often I could imagine my digital camera battery running out while on holiday and plugging it into the lamp so I could look at photographs I'd taken that day.

What do I use it for? Well I already have enough cables around my work area and it's nice that this lamp is cable free. I can move it around anywhere I want on the desk with ease. I can also take it outside of course and I am sure that this summer it will be very useful to take out to the garden table in the evening. It is this versatility which attracted me to it in the first place.

This is a very high quality product in my view and is a delight to own. Very definitely a five star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loves it., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
I bought this for my boyfriend for christmas and he loves it. He used it as a bicycle safety light. He also used it to charge his phone as his charger's cable is not long enough to reach the table top. Good quality product, does what it says on the description. Overall, very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever design and elegant, solid build, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
The TaoTronics TT-DL04 is a multi-purpose LED desk lamp which not only twists and swivels in any direction and includes a USB charger, but also converts seamlessly into a portable light with excellent brightness and long run-time. It's supplied in a rather nice box, and even comes with a carabiner marked 'not for climbing', with which you can attach the lamp to a rucksack if you so desire.

It's hard to play with this for more than a few minutes without getting the feeling that it was made by someone who _really_ loves lamps. It's nicely made, heavy enough in the base to be stable however you point it, and coated in a good, thick layer of lacquered white paint. The colour temperature has been matched to ordinary daylight, so this is an ideal lamp for the office or study where you want more light on your work but are relying on daylight for the main illumination. It comes with three levels, from very bright to dimmish, and it has a USB charger. So far so good, but I get the sense that, after they ticked all the boxes for what a lamp _ought_ to do, they had another think and said 'what _could_ it do?'

The answer is the instant conversion into a battery lamp. As well as giving you enough juice to study through a long power-cut, it pulls off easily and, equipped with a neat hanger, means you can use it as an emergency replacement for the ordinary lights. The carabiner adds a further touch of style. It's pretty solid and metal (unlike the plasticky ones you get with headphone cases), and it's probably a good thing they put 'not for climbing' on it.

The lamp was kindly provided to me by TaoTronic. I don't have any other connection with the company, but I was so impressed by their other lamp that I offered to look at this one as well.

There's just one irritation with this lamp, and that is that you have to read the instructions. When you first use it, it comes on and then goes off immediately. That's -- apparently -- part of the initialisation, but I thought it must be a fault. The instructions explain it, but, seriously, who expects to read the instructions for a _lamp_? I suppose it's a good thing I did. Otherwise it wouldn't have occurred to me to try it as a battery powered light.

Anyway, great lamp, and I shall be watching what else these guys produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SPOT ON CHEERS, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
This is a great lamp and very versatile it's setup is a few seconds and provides 3 different brightness settings, the led lamp gives off a great high level setting should you want to use it for model making or something like that or a lower setting for reading in bed. The Base is steady and the flexible goose neck allows a full range of movement to your desired angle, also the lamp itself is able to spin a full 360 degrees on its jack, the lamp head is fully removable should you want to use its as a mobile torch which is very useful, the Base has a USB port to use for charging any kit you want which again is very useful. The on off switch is touch sensitive so no clunky switches to bother with. All in all a great lamp, so versatile and useful in today's world, clearly well thought out and excellent build quality no cheap rubbishy plastics, I would highly recommend getting one if you are looking for a lamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing lamp, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
I chose the five star rating because this lamp is so easy to use, all with just the touch of a finger. The design is plain and simple but oh so nice to look. When you open the box it is all so easy to put together, just click, click and screw and that's that. I would buy this lamp again tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Desk Lamp, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
Very pleased with my purchase! A neat, lightweight lamp, with a bright LED light. Three settings of brightness and easy touch control on/off switch. Perfect for my needs as a desk lamp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this lamp!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
I spent a long while looking at the various LED desk lamps and the various reviews as I was worried about the amount of light they produce. In the end I went for this one and I wasn't disappointed. It came presented in a nice box and was assembled in seconds. It looks great being very sleek and minimalist and it's good quality construction too. And as for the light output, well I needn't have worried - it churns out plenty of light and the fact that you can detach the lamp head has already proved to be very useful on a number of occasions! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Apple (TM) made lamps....., 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: *Free Carabiner* TaoTronics® TT-DL04 Cool White Ultra-thin Eye-Protection Gooseneck LED Work Desk Lamp / Detachable Emergency Outdoor Light (3-level Touchable Dimmable, 360 Degree Rotation, 5V/0.5A USB Charging Port, Energy Saving)
This is a perfect study/work desk lamp. Modern, stylish, quality build. The light source is numerous small LED bulbs which makes for a very even light distribution - which makes things easy to read, whilst not distracting the eyes with glare. The 'head' contains a rechargeable battery, meaning you can continue working even during a power outage, and even detach the head and use as a torch - although the latter function I feel may expose the lamp-head to possible damage through dropping, as it is not exactly shaped to fit the hand. Very happy with purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews