Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Concert BR
Having been disappointed recently that certain Live Rock BRs have not bothered to present proper HD Audio and Video (Whitesnake!) i.e. 1080p and at the very least DTS sound ,if not DTS HD Master Audio or even better DTS 7.1 True HD (well done Joe Satriani for the best sound to date on a concert BR), it comes as a great relief that the excellent performances and...
Published 15 months ago by redrx7

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Epitaph
Good quality dvd sound good. Anyone buying this will no what priest are like so don't buy if you don't typical judas priest enough said.
Published 14 months ago by pete


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Concert BR, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judas Priest: Epitaph [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Having been disappointed recently that certain Live Rock BRs have not bothered to present proper HD Audio and Video (Whitesnake!) i.e. 1080p and at the very least DTS sound ,if not DTS HD Master Audio or even better DTS 7.1 True HD (well done Joe Satriani for the best sound to date on a concert BR), it comes as a great relief that the excellent performances and interesting song choice on Epitaph are well served by proper use of HD audio and video encoding.
In particular Rob Halford is in fine voice through-out and sings with great clarity,range and strength....this show easily stands comparison with previous DVD live releases from 82,86,2006 and 2010 ,though in my opinion the superior audio and video on Epitaph takes the viewing and listening experience to an altogether higher level.
If this is really to be the end of Priest as a touring entity then indeed it really is a classy and powerful way to sign off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ******AWESOME******10 STARS, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judas Priest: Epitaph [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
JUST BUY IT!!!, STICK IT ON 5.1 DTS AND SLAP THE VOLUME UP AS HIGH AS YOU CAN!!! SUPERB STUFF Mesrs HALFORD, TIPTON AND CO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'HD'iamonds and Rust! Awesome., 12 Jun 2013
By 
S. Smith "meesterboom" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judas Priest: Epitaph [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I love this. The setlist is amazing and the quality of the footage is excellent. I missed this tour having seen the one before it. The new guitarist is, dare I say it, quite a good shoe in for KK. The setlist is very broad which is very appealing as I never thought I would see Blood Red Skies live and now I have! Diamonds and Rust is also given a makeover into something more similar to their VH1 acoustic cover then morphing into some heavy riffage. All in all I am most pleased with this purchase. I am sure most fans will love this despite the lack of KK. Dare I say it the new chap on guitar is rather good and fits in quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Priest's Epitaph Just An Outstanding Live Concert, 19 July 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Judas Priest : Epitaph [DVD].
Region 2.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9
Number of discs: 1
Classification: Exempt
Studio: Sony Music CMG
Running Time: 142 minutes

Product Synopsis.
Judas Priest celebrate 40 years of heavy metal dominance with Epitaph. Filmed at London's Hammersmith Apollo on the closing night of their last ever world tour in May 2012.

Epitaph features 23 electrifying live versions of at least one song from each of the band's 14 classic albums. Shot in HD with stunning 5.1 surround sound.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a outstanding Live concert from Metal Monsters of Rock as lead vocalist Rob Halford still has that amazing powerful voice & the showmanship to match delivering a trailblazing spectacle here, while new Guitarist Richie Faulkner phenomenally powerful Guitar riffs excels making riffing look easy plus awesome relentless drumming by Scott Travis.

Minor niggles is theres no special features or interviews onthe DVD as at the time it was rumoured to be the bands farewell tour so some extra features would've been welcomed.

The production quality on this DVD is excellent shot in HD & 5.1 Surround Sound, just press play on your DVD & it's though you're right there in the front row as Epitaph shows Judas Priest dominate the stage with ever increasing power & passion pulling out all the stops to deliver a standout live DVD with top notch production qualities & in my opinion one of the bands best Live Concert DVD's to date.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Heavy Metal DVD Ever!!!!!!!!!! The Priest Rocks!!!!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Judas Priest: Epitaph [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I can only describe this Blue Ray DVD in one word AWESOME!!!!!!!!
Rob Halford has still got the voice and Glenn Tipton,Richie Faulkner,ScottTravis and Ian Hill are without doubt the Greatest Heavy Metal Band of all time with there Live Performance and this DVD does not disappoint one bit with Hit after Hit and played to the maximum with Excellent Riffs and Fantastic Vocals.
I especially like the way the Band warm to the audience and Rob Halford has to be the Greatest Showman In Heavy Rock.
Iron Maiden, Def Leppard, Saxon, are all great Bands but they can't hold a candle to these Guys Judas Priest.
The only other Band that runs them close is Black Sabbath with regards to Heavy Metal.
This Band has been going for 40 years and they are better than ever!!!!! with this Blue Ray Release!!!
A definite MUST BUY FOR ALL HEAVY METAL FANS AND JUDAS PRIEST FANS!!!!!!!!!!
AWESOME!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for the hubby!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After going to the epitaph gig, the next item on my hubbys list was the dvd. Purchased as a gift for his 49th birthday, he was not disappointed. Having been a fan since he was a teen, you would think he would be bored of listening to JP, but his love for them is still as strong as when he was 13!! The dvd is super and I never tire of listening to Diamonds & Rust, which is also included on the dvd. We were slightly worried as KK would not be present, however his replacement is just as good.
All in all a good buy for a Hardcore Judas Priest Fan and is recommended by a 49 year old die hard JP fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just watch it, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judas Priest: Epitaph [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I saw the priest several times in the early eighties including their brilliant set at the first ever monsters of rock in 1980, they always put on a great live show and this dvd is no exception. The band put on a superb performance of many of their old and new songs which should please the old diehard rockers like me and some of the newer fans. New boy Richie Faulkner is more than a match for KK (no disrespect to the legendary KK Downing) and the rest of the band are on top form. My only slight gripe is that Sinner was not in the set, but that always was KK s showpiece, would have loved to have hear R Faulkner have a go at it. Rob Halford has always been one of the best rock frontmen ever, okay he doesn't hit the high notes like he could 30 years ago, but his voice still sends shivers down my spine. If you only had a passing interest in The Priest get this, if you are new to rock there is no better example of British Heavy Metal at its finest, loud, powerful and mindblowing. One of the best rock dvds I have seen for a long time....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD worth watching for sure, 8 Sep 2013
By 
C. Brindle (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always been a big fan of the mighty JP, was so glad when they got back together again doing their thing. This latest DVD shows JP at their best, great music, good set list, well produced sound and vision. Take some getting use to not seeing KK on the second guitar but does not detract from overall viewing. Go get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest DVD Epitaph, 20 Aug 2013
This dvd is for all Rock fans of all genres.
Watch and hear them play and sing like
Rock music should be played. This is the
Masters at work.
I recommend even if you've never heard them
that you buy this did .And hear and see what
I'm talking about. There is no way you can be disappointed. Impossible!
Les
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five for the Music, 20 July 2013
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If ever there was a band that has a stunning cannon of musical genius, then Judas Priest must be it, because lets be honest here, they are not successful for their image and looks. And that's the problem with Priest Live DVD's.

Now, don't get me wrong, I love everything that they have done and no other band comes even close to defining heavy metal as much as Judas Priest. They practically invented it in the modern sense and even adding Sabbath and latterly Maiden, Priest still stands out as the musical definition of metal music.

And this live concert carries that flame high. Thudding guitars, soaring vocals(mostly) and a back catalogue of utter, utter classics that cannot help but get anyone with a hint of heavy metal in their blood giving it large. But, few could really argue that visually there are some dodgey moments and this concert is no exception.

So the good and the bad.

The good news is that musically they still manage to pull it off with aplomb. Their envious collection of metal brilliance is delved into and there isn't a duff song on the setlist. All work together fantastically and to be honest it's the best heavy rock music I've heard for a long time. I've been a Priest fan since the days of Stained Class and even after a million years they sound fresh and relevant. Most new bands playing in this genre would be lucky to come up with 1/10th of what Priest have created. For guys that have been doing this for decades it's quite astonishing that the passion and talent is still there. They have also not forgotten what their paying fans want. They have not dumped their greatest and most well known songs for some esoteric arty thing unlike some bands - you know who they are...However they also keep things fresh by adding songs from throughout their history such as Battle Hymn, Starbreaker and Diamonds and Rust.

There are a couple of wobbles and on the first track, Battle Hymns, the new guitarist, Richie Faulkner seemed to be doing his own thing a bit. Fortunately he tightened up more as the concert went on. Rob Halford still has great range and power, but my imagination may be incorrect, but I think he's not quite hitting the high notes as he used too.

Overall though the musical performance is top class.

Now for the less good. They do look a bit like a parody now. Rob Halford looks like a cross between Big Daddy and a Pearly King or Queen. He stomps around the place like a man in some pain and seems to spend a lot of time bent over screaming into the mike as if he were inflating a paddling pool. Ian Hill looks more and more like the embarrassing uncle - but then he always did, really. Tipton could be out of Dad's Army and it's about time the red leather trousers were pensioned off because they are hanging off his skinny arse. All of this is made more obvious by the rock star youth of Faulkner.

But the biggest thing is the lack of KK. Now don't get me wrong. I suspect that Faulkner is probably technically way superior to both KK and Tipton. He has the benefit of growing up in a time when guitar gods were born and the technicalities are there for all to see. His fingers are a blur and his showmanship impressive. But - it's still not KK Downing. When KK and Tipton are together there is a sort of seamlessness about the whole thing. Sometimes it's really hard to work out who is who. With Faulkner it's dead easy. Close your eyes and he's the guy who sounds like one of Ozzy Osbourne's lead guitar slingers.

However, despite the flaws, the music is still Metal God like and, few if any, can do heavy metal as good as Priest. Given the absolute belter of a setlist I have to give this five stars. I'd give it 6 if KK was there, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judas Priest: Epitaph [Blu-ray] [2013]
Judas Priest: Epitaph [Blu-ray] [2013] by Judas Priest (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews