Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could Not Put it Down!
This biography has been written with zest about a man embarked on a mission to follow in Jesus's footsteps. Welby's message is clear and simple, and will clearly influence every aspect of his working life in his role of Archbishop.
I have bought five copies for friends and their responses are similar - "I could not put it down!".
Published 11 months ago by Robert W Hutchings

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars shame that the author is narrower than his subject
When Welby’s appointment to Canterbury was announced, I had mixed feelings. It was good that he had worked in a proper job but bad that he was an evangelical, though it was ‘their turn’ after anglo-catholic Rowan. But it gave me pause for thought that he the first choice by both Giles Fraser and Rod Thomas (chairman of the conservative evangelical group...
Published 14 days ago by Mr. D. P. Jay


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could Not Put it Down!, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This biography has been written with zest about a man embarked on a mission to follow in Jesus's footsteps. Welby's message is clear and simple, and will clearly influence every aspect of his working life in his role of Archbishop.
I have bought five copies for friends and their responses are similar - "I could not put it down!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 3 April 2013
An easily accessible portrait of the new Archbishop - really well written and packed full of details. A fascinating family, and an unusual journey! Would be keen to read a follow up when Justin Welby has been in the job for a while, with more analysis of how his ideas have been received and put into action. Would recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars shame that the author is narrower than his subject, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. D. P. Jay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When Welby’s appointment to Canterbury was announced, I had mixed feelings. It was good that he had worked in a proper job but bad that he was an evangelical, though it was ‘their turn’ after anglo-catholic Rowan. But it gave me pause for thought that he the first choice by both Giles Fraser and Rod Thomas (chairman of the conservative evangelical group Reform) Welby claims: `I'm an orthodox Bible-believing evangelical. Scripture is my final authority for all matters of life doctrine.'

But he is not one of those evangelicals who think they are the only ones who are Christians.

I am pleased that he is related to Rab Butler, one of the greatest, one-nation Tories. Like many Germans, including those with Jewish names, his family name was changed from Weiler when the First World War broke out. I was amused that JFK said, of Justin’s father: Welby 'looks like a playboy, but he's conservative underČneath'

He was baptised at Holy Trinity Brompton, which would later loom large in his life.

He left hardly and impression upon his prep. school, apart from a star performance as Nerissa, the waiting-maid in Shakespeare's Merchant of Venice,

He went to Eton, where the headmaster had been removed for sadism in over-caning boys.

He started to attend the Round Church and got involved in ‘Bash camps’. One bishop claims that E. J. Nash did more than anyone else to change the face of the Church of England. I disagree and think that it was Billy Graham.

Anyone who has ever ‘failed’ a BAP selection conference will be pleased to know that he was told: "'You Have No Future in the Church.”

At the Enterprise Oil leaving party, Welby's boss quipped that his transfer to the Church of England was 'the only known case of ‘a rat joining a sinking ship'

Anyone who failed to get a good honours degree will be pleased to know that Welby got a third.

As a layman, he was doctrinally na´ve enough to join a Vineyard church and to support New Wine.

As archbishop, he has made some crass pronouncements such as that if gays can have their relationships blessed, Christians will be killed in Nigeria. However, when he knows what he is talking about, he is on firmer ground.

It isn’t until page 40 that we get an inkling that Welby isn’t just an evangelical and this book should have spent more time on this. He later has a Roman Catholic priest for his spiritual director and enjoys perpetual adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. He became an oblate of the most anglo-catholic Benedictine which was formerly based at Nashdom (where mass was in Latin and the only thing distinguishing it from a Roman Catholic mass was the name of the bishop uttered in the [silent] canon.). He gets to value the daily offices.

His homophobia has a long history and he makes sweeping claims without any evidence.

He visited Iraq with the vicar of Baghdad, Andrew White.

At his consecration, he invited a GAFCON bishop to preach but, at least, it was one who urged his peers to go to Lambeth as well.

My despair when I heard that this man had been appointed has been somewhat lifted by reading this book. Previous evangelicals at Canterbury like Carey and Coggan have been disasters but this one shows a depth of approach and ability to broaden his horizons. The trouble is that the author is narrower and, although he tries to pain a broad picture, he doesn’t fully appreciate or evaluate the implications. Then again, he comes from a very narrow-minded college that has suffered a narrow, claustrophobic leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right book at right time., 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a scholarly and immensely readable account of the background of, and influences on, our new Archbishop of Canterbury. Mr Atherstone should immediately be commissioned to write equally intelligent and concise biographies of other significant people in society today. We do not always have time to read lengthy examinations of those we should like to understand - this small volume is without doubt the right book at the right time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acount, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this extremely interesting and informative. Well researched and this book explains the suitability of his new appointment as he has had such a varied experience in other parts of the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and hope-bringing, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This ia a brief exploration of the life of the new Archbishop of Canterbury until the time of his appointment. Cogently written it gives a good insight into why this appointment may be one of hope for the church and the country. It particularly focusses on his ability to reconcile different views whilst maintaining a firm underlying faith, and shows how different strands of relgious experience have helped him. It suggests what leadership style we should expect, and that we should learn to be patient as he will seek to bring people to a God-given way of working together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Archbishop Revealed, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archbishop Justin Welby (Kindle Edition)
This is a helpful book if you wish to enter into how the Archbishop works and functions as a human being. It is succinct and well researched and written. If you are interested in the subject it provides a splendid introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse of the Archbishop, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was glad to know anything about Archbishop Justin and what I have learnt is very encouraging indeed. But I was disappointed that this book is so tiny and I feel it only gives a tiny, descriptive account of someone who is possibly going to be a remarkable Archbishop. I look forward to the day when someone writes a proper, full-length biography of an interesting person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant life and read, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archbishop Justin Welby (Kindle Edition)
How could anybody rise so rapidly while being such a delightful and humble man?! Well - read and discover a briliant example
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good buy!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting subject to me, and I am enjoying reading it, slowly as I have a problem with my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Archbishop Justin Welby
Archbishop Justin Welby by Andrew Atherstone
ú4.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews