Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a major story
As with most of Gerald Seymour's novels you will get a meticulously researched environment, a number of seemingly random threads, all of which graually entwine, leaving he reader saddened that finally they have reached the end of the book.

This novel is no exception.

Ostensibly, it is a story featuring the wife of a Iranian corporal who is lifted by...
Published 13 months ago by Michael Watson

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather Below Par
Gerald Seymour is a well established author and this is not the first of his novels I have read. The plot seems promising enough. A defector from Iran insists that his wife is brought out if he is going to continue to cooperate with the British authorities. A motley collection of mercenaries together with a young student who has studied Iran and who speaks Farsi, set...
Published 11 months ago by Brett H


‹ Previous | 112 13 1418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Hardcover)
Once again Gerald Seymour hits the mark. I'm only about a third of the way through this book but I'm confident it won't disappoint. I have read all of Gerald Seymour's books, most of them several times. The narrative, the dialogue and the characters are all so as you would expect within the world of national and international security. The backdrop of every book is so well researched it's hard to believe it's fiction. In this genre, this author must be the best there is. I would recommend this book and indeed all Gerald Seymour's books, to anyone who finds the world of espionage intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His best book to date, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
We have read quite a few of Gerald Seymour books, we just love his writing ,have told loads of people about them. This book was gripping from beginning to end, and the bonus was getting it on my kindle , a wonderful wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Michael S, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Hardcover)
I am never quite sure why this author has sold so many books. This story is OK for reading on holiday or on a journey but frankly it is rather montonous after a while. Could have been written in half the amount of pages used. I think he needs to do better than this to compete with a lot of other authors who write this style of story and do it far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good and enjoyable, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Typical Seymour - lots of action and intrigue in a contemporary and credible environment. If you enjoy his other books, you will enjoy this one,too. No happy endings with this writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The UK's most consistantly good novelist., 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Hardcover)
Every year Gerald Seymour writes a 400 page (plus) thriller that is relevent to the dangerous times that we live in.
Although his writing style and plotting do not alter, he always manages to produce new multi-faceted characters that are believable and are put through extremely stressful situations within the gripping story he creates.
Setting most of this novel within Iran, the reader is given a chilling vision of life there, and once again Seymour has researched locations so well that you feel right there in the thick of it with the protaganists.

Seymour rarely does humour,he tells hard hitting stories that could well happen. That is what makes his fiction so credible and why he is the best Geo-political thriller writer in the world..and has been for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as usual, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
I have always enjoyed Seymour novels but found this to be a bit more lightweight than usual.Still worth purchasing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 22 Aug 2013
By 
taylzo "dvd addict / bookworm" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I absolutely loved this, it is indeed 'suspenseful', little bits of stories twisting and turning to become one, always keeping the reader intrigued. I love the setting and am a keen reader of this type of novel, set in Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan etc. The military twist and powerful characters made it impossible to put down! This isn't a particularly long review, I simply would urge anyone who likes the sound of it or this genre /setting to pick up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, Gerald Seymour is a really good story teller very informative as well as entertaining. Whatever he's earning isn't enough.Very sorry when the book ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Ms. Jl Neil - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Excellent as always, great story teller great plot each new book is always worth buying cant wait for next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Usual from Seymour, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Robert Strickland (Glasgow Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Keeps your attention, great geographical detail throughout, keeps up with the initial pace. As usual with Gerald Seymour books, a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Corporal's Wife
The Corporal's Wife by Gerald Seymour
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews