Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a major story
As with most of Gerald Seymour's novels you will get a meticulously researched environment, a number of seemingly random threads, all of which graually entwine, leaving he reader saddened that finally they have reached the end of the book.

This novel is no exception.

Ostensibly, it is a story featuring the wife of a Iranian corporal who is lifted by...
Published on 28 Jun. 2013 by Michael Watson

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather Below Par
Gerald Seymour is a well established author and this is not the first of his novels I have read. The plot seems promising enough. A defector from Iran insists that his wife is brought out if he is going to continue to cooperate with the British authorities. A motley collection of mercenaries together with a young student who has studied Iran and who speaks Farsi, set...
Published 22 months ago by Brett H


‹ Previous | 112 13 1423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Corporals Wife, top read,, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
This follows the typical Gerald Seymour style, and the ending for me was inevetable, however he does write well, and remains creative, pity his books are an annual event?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His best book to date, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
We have read quite a few of Gerald Seymour books, we just love his writing ,have told loads of people about them. This book was gripping from beginning to end, and the bonus was getting it on my kindle , a wonderful wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good and enjoyable, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Typical Seymour - lots of action and intrigue in a contemporary and credible environment. If you enjoy his other books, you will enjoy this one,too. No happy endings with this writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as usual, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
I have always enjoyed Seymour novels but found this to be a bit more lightweight than usual.Still worth purchasing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, Gerald Seymour is a really good story teller very informative as well as entertaining. Whatever he's earning isn't enough.Very sorry when the book ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. Jl Neil - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Excellent as always, great story teller great plot each new book is always worth buying cant wait for next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Usual from Seymour, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Robert Strickland (Glasgow Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Keeps your attention, great geographical detail throughout, keeps up with the initial pace. As usual with Gerald Seymour books, a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As usual, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
All of Mr seymour,s books are brilliant.

They are all very well researched, I can say this with a certain amount of personal knowledge as I have been to a lot of the places he describes and attest to his accuracy .

He has no hero's his main characters have no outstanding skills and so because they are human they are entirely believable.

I highly recommend everyone of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Corporals wife, 17 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Outstanding book with a very sobering ending , an interesting glimpse of the murky world of modern espionage and its somewhat shady politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Always great read, 9 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corporal's Wife (Kindle Edition)
Never fails to produce some of the best stories of our time.
Another sleepless night getting to the climax of a great tale.
What's next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Corporal's Wife
The Corporal's Wife by Gerald Seymour
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews