Customer Reviews


874 Reviews
5 star:
 (468)
4 star:
 (272)
3 star:
 (82)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of love, war, orphans and elephants
This is a story which engages the heart at many turns of the tale. A young British schoolmarm escapes from Burma during WWII with her orphan charges, unwanted girls who are the unwanted results of illicit Burmese and British relationships. On the danger-fraught journey to India she encounters courage, betrayal, and love However, the real protagonists of the story are the...
Published 19 months ago by Bibliophile 3

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful
The only thing that kept me reading right to the end of this novel was sheer comic value.
The characters were drawn from the very worst kind of stereotypes and the writing was lazy and descended further into absurdity as the story went on. It's obvious that the author kept one eye on this possibly being turned into a film. Shame because in the hands of a good writer,...
Published 1 month ago by Kerry Rocha


‹ Previous | 116 17 1888 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars would recommed, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
came across this book on kindle store and thought would give it a try - was pleasantly surprised. Would highly recommend, be a bit patient at start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars COULD NOT PUT DOWN A TOTAL LOVER!, 24 Mar. 2014
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
GREAT BOOK COULD NOT ASK FOR ONE SLIGHT CHANGE!
WOWZERS just loved it all!

Well done and hope it turns into a good film also well known!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read based on an intriguing historical backdrop, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book because I thought the concept was so peculiar, but wasn't expecting too much. However, the writing is excellent and the plot superb. Whilst the thought of so many children taking on such a journey is unlikely it is only now, when I am scratching my head for something to balance out the overwhelmingly positive things I have to say about the novel, that it springs to mind. I loved the characters, the adventure and the historical backdrop. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elephant Moon, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
A great and highly original adventure story of an escape from Burma. Some excellent characters and exciting action. Loved the elephants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
This book had it all..The history of the Elephant Men helping the refugees was brilliantly depicted and the description of the jungles etc had one believing that you actually felt the heat and suffering everyone was going through.The way the Elephant s behaved really makes you wonder how intelligent they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars page turner, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
Good read could not put it down definitely recommend it and it is an easy read thoroughly enjoyed it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
I was concerned that my book was delayed in arriving but I then got an email to say that the book had been returned to the supplier damaged so they immediately sent me a new on in perfect condition .Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
Really interesting to read how Burma was involved in ww2 and some interesting history of the time.
Capturing story with some realistic and interesting characters. Read the last half really quickly as wanted to find out what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A humble tale, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
A sweet little story, quite an enjoyable read, fantasy perhaps but all the more readable because of that. Pretty good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING ...A MUST READ, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ELEPHANT MOON (Kindle Edition)
I WAS CAPTURED FROM THE VERY START .LEARNT SO MUCH ABOUT THE WAR THROUGH VIVID DESCRIPTIONS .WHAT A WONDERFUL FILM IT WOULD MAKE .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1888 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ELEPHANT MOON
ELEPHANT MOON by John Sweeney
£1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews